Appco Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Appco Group Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Appco Group CEO Chris Niarchos
Chris Niarchos
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Young work environment, very high energy(in 39 reviews)

  • "No pros to mention as good about this organization(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Stressful sometimes along with long hours(in 64 reviews)

  • "They advertise it as an "internship" but in reality it is a door-to-door sales job(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing experience, would highly recommend to anyone wishing to learn sales and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Team Leader in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing sales training Life changing positivity training and people skills The things I learned are worth more than the money I made Fun cooperative work environment Ability to earn and advance at your sole discretion

    Cons

    Definitely not for entitled millennials expecting cushy jobs because they have a university education Experience negativity in the field but are trained on how to get through it If you don't sell you don't earn much

    Advice to Management

    I love the way you guys run things, the only thing I might say is vett the people you hire more thoroughly, as a team leader I lost lots of people because they weren't capable to do the job and it disheartened me

    Appco Group2019-07-04
  2. "Salary Info"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good wake up call as your first job

    Cons

    Competitive environment; pure commission based salary

    Appco Group2019-09-18
  3. "Fun office, bad managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - B2B Sales Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun office, a lot of energy and great location.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about you or your development. Just another number and feel very disposable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the fun atmosphere but implement a more professional training program for new hires.

    Appco Group2017-03-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Contractor in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you have work ethic, drive and are self-motivated, there is a lot of money to be made at Appco, as well as, a lot of room for growth and fast advancement within the company.

    Cons

    The hours can be long at times but you get back what you put in. If you are results-driven, put in hard work and effort and the results will be great.

    Appco Group2016-08-30

    Appco Group Response

    September 26, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for the delighted feedback - we are happy to hear that your experience with Appco has been fun and rewarding. It is true that this business rewards hard work , dedication and determination. We strongly believe in supporting the careers of our representatives and internal ...

    Show More
  5. "Life changing opportunities, great management positions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing atmosphere - Well respected clients - Great support from management - In office and field training experience

    Cons

    - In order to achieve results you need to work hard and put in the effort - Long hours and hard to balance work life and personal sometimes but i know long term it will benefit me

    Advice to Management

    Stay motivated and keep driving results!

    Appco Group2016-08-26
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Don't!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All I can think of is the people. They make the environment so great and positive, and that's only because they have to, cause you are about to knock on doors for 7-9 hours straight.

    Cons

    Bad pay, horrible schedule, no work-life balance, lots of lies.

    Advice to Management

    Just pay people minimum wage. The amount of money you're paying them for the amount of work they're putting is ridiculous. Straight up slavery.

    Appco Group2016-09-13

    Appco Group Response

    September 26, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - we're happy to here your enjoyed the positive environment. Representatives at Appco are given the flexibility to work 8hrs/day from Monday to Friday and Saturday if they choose to. This has helped many establish a balance lifestyle ...

    Show More
  7. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Leader in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group

    Pros

    - If you have no experience in sales or in marketing then this is a great start. The system you are taught (SEE, 5 steps, 8 steps, LOA, etc) can teach anyone how to sell. These systems are directly applicable to any other sales position. - The skills you will develop here are directly transferable to any other position - If you looking for career advancement then there is an amazing management program. -... Leadership development. -The position it self is focused on candidates developing and building their own business. Great news to people, but be prepared its not a place for a go-mo ( someone who goes through the motions).

    Show More

    Cons

    If your not prepared or not willing to develop a business and put in the work that is required then their are many cons. I wont bother to list them as you can probably read other reviews to get the gist. Other cons - Company culture may not be a fit for all types of people. Its extremely high energy (which great for setting the pace) their are some issues with it. If you dont come from a sports background then... the "chants", lexicon (juice, juicy, bell, gong, etc), and pressure to perform and recruit can be off putting to some. - Some team leaders, some not all, run their teams like a dictatorship. - Often leaders will hand off observations to other leaders beneath him/her to teach and train. However often times these "new people" were only given vague understandings of the company and the position itself. Created awkward and sometimes tense situations on the field when a "new person" felt like they had been lied to or manipulated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Quality over quantity. Not everyone "is the right candidate". - Be more transparent with observations.

    Appco Group2016-08-08

    Appco Group Response

    September 26, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Hi there, thank you for your feedback - we are glad to hear that you had a great experience with Appco and you were able to develop skills sets that will help you continue your career. As you mentioned, our business development program allows representatives to hone skills sets ranging ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "The bad rumors are true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing and Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing really, unless if you really like awkward door to door selling, training is provided for new people.

    Cons

    Everything, lack of transparency in work ads and during interviews

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie to people, especially fresh grads who are out of options and may be fooled by your ad.

    Appco Group2016-07-20

    Appco Group Response

    July 22, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the lack of transparency during the interview process, as this is not something we condone. At Appco, we provide candidates, including new graduates and students, with entry level experiences to learn the business world and gain ...

    Show More
  9. "Great Learning Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time

    Pros

    Huge learning opportunities and great responsibilities from partaking in different campaigns Opportunity to meet great minds to develop goals and visions Attain great work ethic from fellow employees

    Cons

    Can use more opportunities to build relations between the sales representatives and the administrative office

    Advice to Management

    Have more team gatherings between sales representatives and administrative office

    Appco Group2016-05-26

    Appco Group Response

    September 26, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for you feedback - we are glad to hear your experience with Appco Canada has been a great learning opportunity!

  10. "Life Changing Oppurtunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales and Marketing Field Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group

    Pros

    Working at Appco has without a doubt been one of the most rewarding and fulfilling experiences of my life. Every day is both a new experience and challenge that I am encouraged to tackle to my full ability. The fact that they offer you a way to preform a fun and exciting task (notice how I didn't say job) that allows you new experiences every single day keeps work life interesting and engaging. Everyone from the... managers, team leaders, and all employees add up to an amazing work environment that I look forward to every single day. the compensation for the job that you preform is absolutely amazing. If you are willing to go in and preform to the best of your ability every single day, you will without a doubt be rewarded for your effort. Though you start slightly later than a traditional job, you may at times depending on the day work later than usual, but that is of course depending on what you have set out to make on that day. You make your hours so you are able to work until you are satisfied with the result. The more you work and the harder you work, the more you will get paid; and if you put in the hours and the effort, you get paid very, very well! Whether you are looking for short term work in order to gain valuable skills and practices that can be projected into all aspects of day to day life, or a rewarding career that will allow you countless opportunities for growth and expansion within the company, this is absolutely the job or career for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    None for motivated people here

    Advice to Management

    One of the best aspects of the company would be the fact that all promotions are internal and strictly performance based. The amazing thing about Appco is that fact that for the business to grow, there must be growth within meaning more employees, more team leaders and of course more managers. This is a big advantage as opposed to other companies where growth within is minimal and nepotism is a key factor in... moving forward. If you put in the hours and work hard, the sky is the limit.

    Show More
    Appco Group2016-05-10

    Appco Group Response

    May 12, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for the delighted feedback - we are happy to hear that your experience with Appco has been fun and rewarding. It is true that this business rewards hard work , dedication and determination. We strongly believe in supporting the careers of our representatives and internal ...

    Show More
Found 27 reviews