Northbridge Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Northbridge Insurance Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Northbridge Insurance President & CEO Silvy Wright  (no image)
Silvy Wright
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Big egos - progress is based on who you know or "suck up to"(in 3 reviews)

  • "For most people working there it is a dead end job with little to no room for advancement(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northbridge Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Environment, opportunities to move up

    Cons

    High turnover, work load management needs to be better

    Northbridge Insurance2019-10-04
  2. "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northbridge Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent trainee program. Flexible hours. Relaxed workload Friendly people. If you want to coast, work from home, get lied to by under-qualified managers who are selected based on either being a former trainee or having a family connection, then this is your place

    Cons

    Awful pay Unmotivated Coworkers Lack of financial recognition for accomplishments Managers are scared to be honest with employees

    Advice to Management

    Pay people that work hard

    Northbridge Insurance2019-12-04
  3. "Excellent Support from Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northbridge Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, recently introduced work-from-home. Vacation purchase plan allows you an extra week of vacation each year (3 weeks for a new hire plus 1 additional week) Good benefits and great employee share purchase plan of FFH stocks. Management is very supportive and will always have your back if you're honest and rational with them.

    Cons

    Workload can be very heavy at times during summer vacations or when people are away sick. Salary is lower than the industry average for comparable positions.

    Northbridge Insurance2019-09-04
  4. "it support it support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northbridge Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    co-workers are fun to work with

    Cons

    they don't treat employees good

    Advice to Management

    treat employees better

    Northbridge Insurance2019-09-13
  5. "The claims department team is awsome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northbridge Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management is present and supports employees throughout our processes, they provide good coaching. This commercial environment is the perfect place to develop new habilities in claims for many branches of insurance. Our team is always interacting, exchanging experiences so we become better everyday.

    Cons

    Although the work flow is at times heavy, a lot of improvement on assigning claims as been noticed since I work here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on supporting the troops by @coaching@ them and not managing them!

    Northbridge Insurance2019-07-25
  6. "Great company, great people, great location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northbridge Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Camaraderie, company encourages employee professional development, work from home in some departments, central location

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, this is a good company.

    Northbridge Insurance2019-04-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Northbridge Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Your colleagues are very supportive. You will be exposed to many things.

    Cons

    Company is not serious about change., overly concerned with perception and not adhering to its claimed values.

    Northbridge Insurance2019-04-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Project Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northbridge Insurance

    Pros

    Wonderful team to work with (as part of the strategic project management team). Location is perfect is terms of connection to the path and you learn a lot about project management in the role.

    Cons

    A lot of the processes are very manual which makes them very tedious and prone to error.

    Northbridge Insurance2018-11-19
  9. "Underwriting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northbridge Insurance full-time

    Pros

    great place to work for

    Cons

    i can't think of any

    Northbridge Insurance2018-10-18
  10. "Northbridge Financial Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Northbridge Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Employee Purchase Program very competitive

    Cons

    Lack of career opportunities available

    Northbridge Insurance2018-09-21
Found 41 reviews