LoyaltyOne Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

LoyaltyOne Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
LoyaltyOne President and CEO Bryan A. Pearson
Bryan A. Pearson
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance and most teams are flexible with remote work(in 44 reviews)

  • "Good culture, leadership and employee focused(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Awaiting on a buyer for AIR MILES(in 16 reviews)

  • "Uncertainty in future of the business as it is widely suspected that the US parent company is looking to sell LoyaltyOne(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great company with awesome culture - opportunity for growth for people with same 'work hard, play hard' mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LoyaltyOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEO (accessible and sets tone for positive culture) Culture / events New headquarters (modern building, flexible seating, patios, berkeley kitchen etc.) Interesting work with opportunity to stretch Global teams ( NA/Europe)

    Cons

    Some extended hours during peak times Onus is on you to lead your career development (with support/tools)

    LoyaltyOne2019-06-19
  2. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LoyaltyOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, environment, work life balance, benefits, subsidized lunch, snacks, vacation allowance and location!! It really is a great place to work.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    LoyaltyOne2019-12-18
  3. Helpful (3)

    "A position for short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LoyaltyOne full-time

    Pros

    Large company, known name, good location

    Cons

    Extremely conservative company that wants individuals to keep to their own. Going above and beyond is distrusted and most mistakes are met with extreme scrutiny. Their own choices are lacking true vision and cause many fractures among departments. I still see this position pop up every three months.

    LoyaltyOne2020-01-28
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Change in Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LoyaltyOne full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    your contribution meant something, was recognized

    Cons

    Bryan Pearson and his Executive Leadership team were exited from the organization and thus leaving a big void within the organization. Resulting in a demoralization of the remaining close knit staff. The new CEO lacks the skills, confidence and ability required to lead the organization.

    LoyaltyOne2020-01-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Culture problem at a slow moving company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LoyaltyOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Learning org - so many amazing courses (both internal and external facilitators) that you can self register for and really own your own development, they encourage learning and development. I think this is a huge perk that often gets forgotten or overseen at this company. - Office space is beautiful - lots of different types of spaces built for collaborating, working independently, casual work spaces and meeting rooms, lots of cool chairs - on site kitchen with a fresh salad bar, sandwich options, and hot food options - it's subsidized so it's cheaper than other food you'd get in Toronto and it tastes pretty good!

    Cons

    Unfortunately my experience here started off on a bad note when I was lied to during the recruitment process by the recruiter. It wasn't a huge deal but certain details were exaggerated or purposely left out. It's unfortunate because a few months into my job that same recruiter told me she'd tell a candidate anything to get an offer signed. This is when I decided I did not want to work here anymore and as soon as my 1 year hit, I started my search. The company has a very dog eat dog vibe. People throw colleagues under the bus, you constantly feel that you cannot trust anyone and everyone seems to be afraid of losing their job. Many of my colleagues were actually afraid to even have a 1:1 with the head of my department because he uses intimidation and fear as a means of running his team. Each year the engagement scores tell a story that he would ignore or perhaps he is just ignorant to the fact that he is contributing to the problem. The company is headed downward fast and they refuse to talk about it, instead they celebrate minuscule improvements that keep them just above drowning The technology that you are forced to work with is actually embarrassing. It's extremely infuriating to use systems that are so outdated and spending most of your time doing redundant tasks that a simple update or new system would fix the problem. The laptops they give you are also artifacts.. extremely old and it's pretty much impossible to get IT to give you a new one. Unfortunately there was no meaningful work here. The company moves at a glacial pace and you would find yourself falling asleep doing redundant tasks because of lack of motivation and challenging work. If you enjoy working slow and being lazy then this could be the place for you. I became completely disengaged through my 1.5 years at L1 which is the opposite of who I am so I knew this place was not for me. L1 is great if you want to come in, work, go home. If you're looking to make an impact, having challenging work, and work at a successful and growing company - stay away, this is not the place for that!

    Continue reading
    LoyaltyOne2020-01-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "False. Beware."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LoyaltyOne

    Pros

    Great people. Great building. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Up for sale. LoyaltyOne has been dissolved and they are selling up. Precima has been sold. Awaiting on a buyer for AIR MILES. Recent posts on social media about an avid “collector” who submitted a cartoon about a recent promotion. That “collector” is actually a marketing exec who’s followers have tripled since the post and is now monetizing from the repost. Embarrassing lack of leadership. Embarrassing lack of truth towards the public. Just let it go

    Continue reading
    LoyaltyOne2020-02-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "HR job from Hell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LoyaltyOne full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large new beautiful environmentally friendly building. Youthful employee base.

    Cons

    Do not work in the HR department... whatever you do. You will be clocked watched, work scrutinized, and expected to work more than the average role. Worst company ever...

    LoyaltyOne2020-02-12
  8. "A company with Heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Leadership Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LoyaltyOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    dedicated team mates, passion for giving back to the community, challenges that will keep you engaged and motivated

    Cons

    lots of change in the last year, which can also be a pro if you are seeking an opportunity to be a part of a new world

    LoyaltyOne2020-01-05
  9. "Good work culture, needs to invest in technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at LoyaltyOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    coworkers are friendly, work life balance is great

    Cons

    tech stack needs a lot of improvement, there's too much manual work for things that can be automated

    LoyaltyOne2019-12-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LoyaltyOne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work-life balance, good perks and benefits

    Cons

    It has potential but the culture needs work

    Continue reading
    LoyaltyOne2019-12-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 261 reviews