phs Group "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

phs Group Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 153 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
phs Group CEO David Taylor-Smith
David Taylor-Smith
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch in the Caerphilly canteen(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "slightly complicated head office process(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lots of changes in personnel including CEO and don't really focus on what matters most(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Overall a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They say its the people that make a good or bad workplace, and this is definitely true of PHS. Worked there for 8 years and have made some lifelong friends. Other perks are that the salaries are fair for the job you do, in my opinion. And of course, the famous free lunch at head office! The IT department has a great bunch of people, who for the most part, work together for the good of the company overall.

    Cons

    The benefits package is lacking when compared with other similar companies / job roles.

    Advice to Management

    Would strongly recommend a review of the benefits package, to bring the company in line with what's on offer elsewhere

    phs Group2019-05-11

    phs Group Response

    May 12, 2019People Team

    Hi, thanks for the review. Yes the IT team are a good bunch of people that support the whole group to sort and enhance our technology offering. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the senior management team regarding the benefits package. We do look at our benefits annually ...

    Show More
  2. "Awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Caerphilly, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The staff are nice Free Lunch

    Cons

    No Career Progression Low Pay Outdated management tactics

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the talent within the company & encourage employee career progression. Don't always rely on outside talent.

    phs Group2019-05-01

    phs Group Response

    May 5, 2019People Team

    Hello, thanks for leaving a review. I have forwarded your review directly to the senior management team. Over the past few months we have put together a full talent plan at phs. Everyone is starting to see the benefit. We will always look internally for talent before we look externally.

  3. "An insider's view of Finance at PHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Accountant in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive manager Really friendly staff - especially at PHS Teacrate Great on the job training Work hours are fairly low, which helps with work life balance Free lunch in the Caerphilly canteen Car allowance / company car

    Cons

    Compensation and benefits are on the low side but improving Role involved travelling (4 days in every 4 week period) Occasional Sunday work in my specific role (2 hours)

    Advice to Management

    The role I did was a really great training role and my manager was really supportive and should be commended. Pensions and other benefits such as maternity/paternity/sick are at the bare minimum by law. I know it would be expensive, but It might help display that you care about your employees by increasing some of these above the statutory minimum. Encourage flexible working / working from home to help with... employee satisfaction

    Show More
    phs Group2018-10-23

    phs Group Response

    October 23, 2018Mark - phs team

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback. It's great to hear that you had a supportive manager, we'll make sure to pass your review over to our senior management team to see. Also love to hear you thought our staff are friendly, we get that ...

    Show More
  4. "caerphilly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment Good team interaction and support free parking free lunch working hours good development if looking well established company dealing with business to business customers

    Cons

    very busy but most places are now!

    phs Group2018-04-30

    phs Group Response

    July 30, 2018Mark - phs team

    Hi, thanks for leaving us a review, sorry it's taken a while to respond, we like to respond to all of our reviews but this one looks like it slipped through the 'Glassdoor net' and we've only just seen it. Sorry! It's so great to hear the points you raise and we'll make sure your ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Caerphilly, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Lunch Convenient 9-5 Mon-Fri Overtime offered regularly

    Cons

    Far to Much Expected for such a low salary. Unable to do job properly as walls are put up. Management Make it up as they go along and pluck random "new processes" out of thin air and then complain when un trialled processes rolled out across 60+ people go wrong. Management don't listen to staff who ultimately know what they are doing Treated like naughty school children

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people doing the job, We know what we are talking about. Pay a fair wage for the volume and variation of work dealt with.

    phs Group2018-05-23

    phs Group Response

    May 24, 2018Mark - phs team

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's disappointing to hear about your experience, we'll make sure to pass all of your comments on as we value and consider feedback we are given. Thank you again.

  6. "Inbound sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Advisor in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    well established company, great people, great products, free lunch, dress down Fridays!

    Cons

    Pay could be more. The bonus structure is improving, however standard salary could rise.

    Advice to Management

    Look after you're staff to avoid large staff turnovers.

    phs Group2018-04-16

    phs Group Response

    April 18, 2018Mark - phs team

    Thanks for taking the time to review what it’s like at phs. It’s great to read your comments and to hear that the people are great. We’ll make sure we'll pass on the ‘Cons’ you have raised and the ‘Advice to Management’. Thanks again for the review.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Working for PHS is rapidly going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Administaton in Caerphilly, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Lunch in head office

    Cons

    Poor management, unpredictable changes poorly planned, no method of escalation

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff more

    phs Group2017-03-23
  8. "Needed a shakeup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time

    Pros

    PHS offered free lunch for all employees with a great selection, also cheap breakfasts on a Friday. Big offices with everything all under one roof. Nice people and a community atmosphere.

    Cons

    Very outdated building on an industrial estate. Management and executives very set in their ways, reluctant to try new things out of their comfort zone.

    Advice to Management

    Shake up the business, be more open to new approaches and ideas, and updated some of the technology. Building could do with a refurbishment!

    phs Group2015-10-22
  9. "Great place to work if you are OK with the lower pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Web Developer in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family-managed feel, lots of variety, opportunity for moment within the company and if course the free lunch if based at head office. The teams genuinely get along and there was no drama, at least in marketing.

    Cons

    Lower salaries than elsewhere and the speed of growth through acquisitions left the IT department with an impossible task. Internal systems are old and outdated but people seem to work with what they have.

    Advice to Management

    Realize the value of employees and compensate them better and you'll retain way more - lots of colleagues, including myself, were forced to move on because of wages.

    phs Group2015-07-08
Found 153 reviews