next "uniform allowance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

next Employee Reviews about "uniform allowance"

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
608 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas period is long hours and disruptive(in 92 reviews)

  • "Only national minimum wage paid for high intensity customer service(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "uniform allowance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at next full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Staff Discount - Uniform Allowance - Friendly People - Good Progression - Good Management - Lots of Perks - Free Parking - Flexible Working Hours - Great Food

    Cons

    - Not enough hours in the day as very fast paced!

    Continue reading
    next2020-02-19
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Stock Coordinator in Bracknell, England

    I worked at next full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, uniform allowance, Shift swap Flexibility

    Cons

    Progression, management, Long hours, boring/ repetitive work

    next2020-03-03
  3. "Working at Next"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 

    I worked at next part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    75 % off Next clothes for uniform allowance. 25% off for family.

    Cons

    Downsides of working at Next was the staff and managers. Staff do nothing and pretend to work while they wonder around the shopfloor or walk around the stockrooms until they find another staff member to chat to. Another downside is the fact that they don't care for mental health, they didn't support me for the two years I was there. They want young teenage girls and boys who look the part, but don't do their jobs and that is exactly what they have working for them. They may put signs up about supporting mental health, but they don't know a thing about it. For the two years I was there I felt worthless, useless, helpless and ugly. I hope in the future that they educate themselves about mental health and make sure they recruit people who are hard working and not just a pretty face. When leaving the job I was avoided by managers and then on my last day I didn't receive any cards, goodbyes or even a good luck after working for them for two years.

    Continue reading
    next2020-02-27

    next Response

    March 2, 2020Internal Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! I am sorry that you feel that our managers are not supportive of mental health issues. As a business we take mental health as seriously as physical health and this commitment is demonstrated in our Mental Well-being Charter which aims to improve the way we identify and help those suffering from mental ill health. All of our Store Managers and Assistant Store Managers have attended a half day workshop on mental health awareness with the aim of providing them with the tools and confidence to support mental ill-health and promote good mental wellbeing in the workplace. We also provide an Employee Assistance Programme which gives all employees free 24/7 access to qualified counsellors. In terms of your comments on Next's employment of young people, Next is an equal opportunities employer and ensures that it offers job opportunities without discrimination. Many young people have forged successful careers with Next and we are proud to be able to support their transition from education into the workplace. It is great to hear you enjoy the discount too!

    Continue reading
  4. "Don't work for them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at next full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the uniform allowance, although it never increased in the 12years I worked there

    Cons

    constantly changing job profiles, when management/staff leave not replacing at times and suddenly it becomes the responsibility of an ever decreasing work force. Often yearly reviews of positions so you would often not know whether they would deem a position at a certain level was going to be there after yearly review. Not to mention the long ridiculous hours over the xmas/ new year period, as a manager and even staff you can forget about having any life outside of work at this period.

    Continue reading
    next2020-02-18
  5. "Friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant 

    I worked at next part-time

    Pros

    Great training throughout the role. Uniform allowance and staff discount Friendly employees

    Cons

    Working over summer/ Christmas sale periods

    next2020-02-17
  6. "Stressful and profit driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends

    I worked at next part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can pick up shifts easily or give them up too on the system . Uniform allowance is good and managers are friendly

    Cons

    Have to work sale days Almost impossible to book off holiday stressful around christmas Always making you approach customers to the point of annoying them

    Continue reading
    next2020-02-01

    next Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thanks for the feedback. Seem like enjoyed some of our employee benefits. We're sorry to hear you struggled with booking holiday as we've got the shift marketplace scheme that offers our retail teams to swap and organise shifts and holiday around them.

    Continue reading
  7. "Invalauble and they were eager to progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Coach and Customer Assistant in Newport, South East England, England

    I worked at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    different areas of work to do kept you busy and supplied a learning platform to advance in. Great perks, uniform allowance and bonuses for great work if mystery shopper identifies you or if the store has a good performance percentage.

    Cons

    I didn't mind, but if you take on more responsibility like introducing new lines on the shop floor or stock takes then be prepared for early mornings. However, this is up to you, although boxing day sales is a must.

    next2020-01-15

    next Response

    January 22, 2020Internal Recruiter

    Hi and thank you so much for your review. It seems that there were a lot of pros in your time working at Next which is great to hear. We always reward hard work and are always keen for our employees to learn new skills! We are glad you enjoyed utilising your uniform allowance too! We have lots of different shift patterns and try to be as flexible as possible dependent on what the workload for that particular time period is.

    Continue reading
  8. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good discount and uniform allowance flexible shifts

    Cons

    pay grade management are too under pressure

    next2020-01-15
  9. "Next PLC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    staff uniform allowance flexible hours

    Cons

    can be long hours at times

    next2019-12-18
  10. "Rubbish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Cheshunt, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at next part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Uniform allowance although not enough

    Cons

    Rubbish pay , rubbish hours and awful manager

    Continue reading
    next2020-01-21

    next Response

    January 22, 2020Senior Social Media Editor

    Thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback. Sorry to hear you've not enjoyed working for us. But because of your comments and what you have shared we can take it on board and make sure or current and future employees get the best experience possible. On the plus side it seems as though the uniform was a nice benefit, 75% discount from one the best fashion retailers in the UK.

    Continue reading
Found 135 reviews
</>Embed