id Software Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 27 reviews

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
id Software CEO Robert A. Altman  (no image)
Robert A. Altman
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company that has reformed since gaining a bad reputation for culture

    Aug 4, 2021 - Software Engineer in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Competitive pay and benefits * Some of the best engineers in the industry * Constant stream of work at any tier of the technical stack where generalists can thrive * Leads are very dedicated, smart, and treat employees well

    Cons

    * While it has been better in recent years, extended periods of crunch do still exist * Lack of sick days

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Graphic designing

    Dec 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kindness good nice healthy wonderful

    Cons

    Nothing action media managment health

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    One of the best in the industry, great publisher too

    May 28, 2017 - Senior Designer in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing talent in this studio, which pulled off an amazing feat with DOOM 2016 that no one expected. Everyone there loves the id IPs and most got their start with them back in the '90s. Doom 2016 felt more like experienced devs putting together their love-letter to the brand that started it all. Future is VERY bright now that this team has made DOOM together.

    Cons

    Bonuses and salary aren't nearly what they used to be in the id old days, but understandable considering the team sizes required now. A bit of corporate culture creep after the Zenimax buyout (annoying security protocols, etc.), but they trust id and get out of the way when needed (and support when needed). All in all, they are a great fit.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Future looks bright

    Jan 30, 2017 - Artist in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome projects to work on. Good Salary for the location. Very talented team. idtech is back!

    Cons

    Just two things... 1 Texas/Dallas... 2 Zenimax speed a bit up please!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Used To Be Legendary

    Mar 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Used to have top-notch talent, before Zenimax acquisition and before Doom team. Back when the whole studio was under 50 people.

    Cons

    Hiring of mediocracy. Not rewarding true talent and long hours. Unkept promises for old timers related to after acquisition.

    15 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Quality Assurance

    Jan 11, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Take good care of employees

    Cons

    Delusional about the product they are creating

    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Temporary Play Tester

    Jun 10, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From my very brief time, it seemed like everything I hoped for in a game company. The people I worked under were super friendly and were willing to help those who wanted a career there, and everyone seemed very passionate about what they did. It was a fun working experience and I would definitely recommend this job for anyone looking to break into the industry.

    Cons

    Nothing that I could really think of.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Associate Concept Artist

    Jan 22, 2015 - Associate Concept Artist in Plano, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Keeping this short for now, but Its been a blast to work here. We have a new team that is incredibly talented and motivated. Openness to ideas is surprisingly good too. I think we are well on our way to becoming something absolutely awesome.

    Cons

    With the new team, there are some growing pains. Finding the processes and becoming an efficient team took some time and determination. Now, I would say we are solidifying those bonds and its really working out great!

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    id is back!!

    Sep 11, 2014 - 3D Artist in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I know id had difficult time recently, however I can say that all the negativity is gone now. All we care about now is making Doom with positive energy and moving forward. Managers and directors are really trying hard to make the company better than ever, and treat and educate the employees, so it's really a good place for artists to be grow. They don't just tell what to do, instead they ask individual opinion. Artist team is very open minded with great leadership by art director and leads. They care about making a great game with their passions and dedications everyday. New HR is just awesome. She cares and treat other coworker as family or friends. I know that most of talents didn't want to come to id before because of bad reviews or rumors recently, but it's in changing state now, and we are eager to find passionate and talented developers to make Doom.

    Cons

    It takes freaking long time to request and get anything like software or equipment.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, great project, amazingly talented team.

    Jul 4, 2014 - Senior QA Tester in Richardson, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great technology, awesome projects, and talented team.

    Cons

    No real cons to working there.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Work at id Software? Share Your Experiences

id Software logo
or