iZettle Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

iZettle Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
iZettle CEO Jacob De Geer
Jacob De Geer
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great culture, fun atmosphere, contact with people from another countries, good benefits and salary(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pension contribution below expectations for a company this size(in 5 reviews)

  • "Bad management, low salary and poor HR(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing culture and a company that cares about you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working here and I can't imagine leaving. I came from a 9-5 developer job in the public sector, and the difference is huge. iZettle get so much more out of me - not by working me to the bone, but by trusting me and creating a fantastic work environment. Some points: - There's a flat structure and it really is flat. They don't just say that. From day one you can reach out to anyone in the company and... you'll get a response. - You are given a huge amount of freedom which creates loads of space for innovation. Hack weeks, lab days, and a huge amount of trust meaning that you can explore ideas and new ways of working. - iZettle recognise that sometimes life gets in the way. You have core working hours of 10 - 4 when you should be available on Slack, but other than that, you fit your life around the work. Sometimes I need to do shorter days midweek, and will catch up at the weekend. This makes a huge difference. - They put so much work into events, clubs and activities. Fundraising efforts, office drinks every Friday with a different theme each time (celebrating birthdays..etc), amazing winter/summer parties, culture clubs where groups of employees are supported in creating clubs around common interests...etc. - The office atmosphere is incredible. Edinburgh is open plan, and everyone knows each other. There is a great vibe. This is helped by initiatives such as the Office Yoda, where new starts are assigned a mentor from a different team to go for coffee, arrange a lunch..etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    People have mentioned that benefits could be improved compared to other employers. e.g. there isn't really long-term sick leave for Edinburgh employees. However, for me this isn't really an issue. The overall benefits package is excellent. e.g. employer contribution to private health insurance.

    iZettle2019-09-13
  2. "Great place - love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Isn't Important in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, salary, office environment, managers that care

    Cons

    More learning and development, better benefits

    Advice to Management

    Stay close to your teams

    iZettle2019-09-06
  3. "Wouldn't be bad, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, nice offices, outstanding tools, education budget, good tech stack.

    Cons

    Poor salaries for older employees as pay raises are basically peanuts. Poor salaries for freshly arrived foreigners as they don't know how much they can ask for so they are usually offered a below-average salary. No clear career paths. Unfair job grading scheme (e.g. how come that a person who does tech interviews, mentors new hires and steps in for the tech lead occasionally is placed on a job level according to... which (s)he is not even capable of working autonomously and is paid accordingly?). I know a bunch of excellent engineers who highly enjoyed working at iZettle but their compensation was so poor they had no choice but to leave. I am becoming one of them soon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make this job level thing correct and transparent. Let us know who is on which level (so no tricks with putting people with same experience and responsibilities on different levels) and what shall we do to reach next level. Assign base salary ranges to each job level and make sure that everyone is paid in that range, regardless of gender, skin color, nationality, sexual orientation or years of working at iZettle (e....g. raise older employees' salaries accordingly). Schedule salary reviews evenly (people starting in October are eligible for getting a raise after 3 months in next January while people starting in November have to wait 14 months until the second January...).

    Show More
    iZettle2019-09-04
  4. "Discriminative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at iZettle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast and great location

    Cons

    Poor management at times no clear path. Led by low skill ‘managers’. Inexperienced for the most part given too much responsibility without training, coaching or mentoring. These are fast promoted managers with no clue in managing “People”. Also, you are at a disadvantage if you an ethnic minority, the managers make this very apparent, it’s damn right disgraceful, unpleasant and frankly uncomfortable. Just see past... reviews

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pull your fingers out your **** and create an acceptable working environment. Create better processes. Senior leadership- coach and offer training to your low skilled managers and be transparent! Finally get a competent HR/HR dept to help you achieve your strategy and potentially help you avoid heavy legal claims. Tribunal is free and Izettle is not above the LAW!!

    iZettle2019-09-06

    iZettle Response

    September 11, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. We take this matter very seriously and we would appreciate it if you could please report your concerns to our Chief Compliance Officer Lisa Edström (lisa.edstrom@izettle.com, +46-76 0019620). We actively encourage employees to raise concerns using our internal ...

    Show More
  5. "Great atmosphere and work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, young and vibrant work culture. Great products, autonomous teams, freedom to innovate, lots of hack weeks and bright future since we are now part of the PayPal family! Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Not much. More engagement from senior leadership could be helpful in certain areas / projects.

    iZettle2019-07-26
  6. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to say, I've been reading some of the recent negative reviews on iZettle and they absolutely do not gel with my experience working here in the Edinburgh office. So I decided to jump on and post my thoughts, as a someone who is not a disgruntled former employee, but rather a very happy current employee. You know that "Sunday" feeling you get, when you know that you have to go to work the next day, and you... get the mounting feeling of dread that Monday brings? I don't get that here. I'm happy to go to work, I'm happy with my workload, I'm happy with my colleagues, my benefits, my managers, the office location, everything. I've been here for almost a year now, and honestly it's the best place I've ever worked. Here's what we get: * Flexible working (working from home, flexible hours) * Good salary for the most part (matched to industry standard, certainly in my case) * Death in Service life insurance * Quality equipment - laptops, phones, big monitors * €3000 annual training budget for every tech team member, to spend on courses, conferences, or whatever you can justify to your manager * Perkbox membership * Cycle to Work scheme * Amazing office social environment - I'm just sitting down at my desk after having a sociable lunch in the kitchen with members of other teams, all mingling and friendly. * Team nights out, office nights out, Summer and Christmas parties (always epic). There are so many paid-for opportunities to socialise that I need to limit myself or I'd never see my family * Free breakfast, fruit, soft drinks and a decent spread of beer on Fridays at Beer O'Clock. * Aiming for a truly agile culture (everyone needs coaching in this, that's why we have inspiring agile coaches) * Enhanced maternity after you've been here for 1.75 years (6weeks full pay, a further 6 months half pay, then statutory after that) Another huge advantage I see working here as a female developer is that there's none of the "brogrammer" culture that I've sometimes experienced in other IT environments. Every developer here is knowledgeable, humble and keen to help. IZettle works hard to ensure that the people they hire are a good cultural fit. Don't let the negative reviews put you off working here. It's a brilliant place to work. ALSO - don't let the buy-out by PayPal put you off working here. The feeling about what it'll be like when we're fully integrated is overwhelmingly positive.

    Show More

    Cons

    No workplace is perfect. In terms of working conditions, I wouldn't change a thing. There are some benefits that they could do better, like a more generous holiday allowance, equal parental leave for men/same sex couples as for mothers, enhanced pension contribution matching, and a more comprehensive private health care plan.

    Advice to Management

    Consider a less flat management structure - as we grow, think about whether a person can be an effective manager with 15-20+ people directly reporting to them. And the managers that you DO appoint? Give them the opportunity to take management training courses, which doesn't come out of their training budget.

    iZettle2019-07-23

    iZettle Response

    September 6, 2019

    Thank you so much for this review. We have so many good things to shout about and so many people work hard every day to make this a great place to work, to learn and to find friends. We are not perfect, every day is a school day as they say, but you are right, we have far more pros ...

    Show More
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 

    I have been working at iZettle full-time

    Pros

    Startup Vibes, which is always good

    Cons

    The energy in the office is low

    iZettle2019-07-23
  8. "Gradually eliminating all the black people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    iZettle is a fun place to work with amazing colleagues and environment

    Cons

    I'm Caucasian myself but can't stop from pointing out the fact that iZettle in the London office has been eliminating all the black people lately. This has been very obvious and I can't help but pointing it out.

    Advice to Management

    This is an advanced generation and I don't want to work in an environment where people of colour are discriminated.

    iZettle2019-08-27

    iZettle Response

    September 6, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. Whilst we can assure you this is not the case (people leave for a variety of reasons), we take this matter very seriously and we would appreciate if you could please report this via our official channel. Please go to the iZettle Wiki and use the whistleblowing ...

    Show More
  9. "Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Backend Developer in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iZettle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working environment, work life balance, perks and benefits, technology stack, colleagues, culture.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    iZettle2019-06-10
  10. "Good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at iZettle

    Pros

    Autonomy and flexible hours are a plus!

    Cons

    Managers lack people management skills.

    iZettle2019-04-17
Found 72 reviews