autoTRADER.ca Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

autoTRADER.ca Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
autoTRADER.ca President Sebastian Baldwin (no image)
Sebastian Baldwin
122 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Proud to Work at TRADER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at autoTRADER.ca

    Pros

    So proud of TRADER to recognize the need for social distancing and arranging everyone to work from home early in the game. Amazing job executing the quickly by the Chief People & Culture Officer, our C-suite and our helpdesk team!

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    autoTRADER.ca2020-03-24
  2. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at autoTRADER.ca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work for an amazing boss and my teammates are dedicated and wonderful to work with! Salary & Benefits are fair, and they are always looking for ways to improve this. Extensive employee perks: summer hours, free parking, free onsite gym, free snack vending machines & fresh fruit daily, active Social Squad & Wellness Committee, lots of employee events (charity runs, yoga in the park, Jays Night, Employee Appreciation events, $1000/yr tuition reimbursement, etc.)

    Cons

    can be quite busy, at times

    autoTRADER.ca2020-03-09
  3. "No stress job...not with Autotrader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at autoTRADER.ca full-time

    Pros

    They at least pay very well

    Cons

    No clear path from management

    autoTRADER.ca2020-04-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Time for a change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paid Media Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at autoTRADER.ca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got to learn a lot of new platforms and team environment was okay

    Cons

    A lot of turnover when it’s came to people leaving for better opportunities so the sense of on this being a long term job which quickly was turned on its head when managers and co workers would leave out of no where By their own choice. ALOT lot of micro management by management which was driven by egos “my way of the highway approach”. No accountability when it came to working as a unit and when feedback was given in a effort to help the parties it would taken as some offensive. Put in a pressure team when it came to obtaining goals which would help when gaining traction but quickly loosing said goals (clients). Was told that we were a team, but clearly there was a separation of teams and a sense of hierarchy and preference.

    Continue reading
    autoTRADER.ca2020-03-08
  5. "Enjoying my experience with Autotrader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at autoTRADER.ca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool and healthy environment. Work from home option. Always open to add new technology to their tech stack. Lots of additional perks like phone bills , internet bills , monthly events . One thing which I like the most about Autotrader is managers explicitly making sure if I am in good space or not.

    Cons

    Not sure. No firm is perfect. There is always some room to improve.

    autoTRADER.ca2020-02-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unethical, Money Hungry Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at autoTRADER.ca full-time

    Pros

    Free snacks and periodic lunches, but that is only designed to keep you chained to your desk.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. This company sucks the life out of their employees and everyone walks around a shell of themselves and hates their job. Constant pressure on managers to put added stress on employees. Micro management with 2 check ins on who you are going to hit up for money every single day. Fake smiles, constant layoffs and a mass layoff that you can count on every year right before year end. Executives are out of touch. They are 3 times more expensive and less effective than their competition. Constant selling to the same customers multiple times per year and automatic price increases. Company does not care about their employees or customers. It only cares about their investors.

    Continue reading
    autoTRADER.ca2020-03-26
  7. "WOW!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at autoTRADER.ca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thanks to management for the new service program that allows us to be rewarded for work that is above and beyond for our customers. Co workers become friends - many close relationships now inside and outside of work. Company events include everyone - nice to have Montreal able to support us so we can attend.

    Cons

    Overtime during the migration but it was expected and we're through it now.

    Continue reading
    autoTRADER.ca2020-02-18
  8. "Descent Job - Complete lack of organization and structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at autoTRADER.ca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company culture - fun events - motivated staff

    Cons

    unrealistic targets that change every month, lack of support, no care towards the customer just the revenue you generate

    Continue reading
    autoTRADER.ca2020-02-20
  9. "Enjoyed my time, hope to be back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at autoTRADER.ca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Spent a year on contract for a specific project. Sadly its wrapped up now and my time has ended. I enjoyed the team, the culture was fun and positive, always doing things for the employees. Long hours but rewarding to see how my manager cared about us and gave us time off in lieu and gift cards for a movie and a dinner out with family. Good managers make the difference.

    Cons

    Gym is cramped downstairs, parking garage construction was a pain but at least free.

    Continue reading
    autoTRADER.ca2020-02-02
  10. "Having fun and making money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at autoTRADER.ca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    TRADER brand Great training on new products Many products to sell Customer service support Dealers who understand our value Fun and informative sales kickoff and investment in us Team building and supportive management

    Cons

    Twice a day check ins. Get it, but can be too much Enough time to visit dealers without having to sell each time

    Continue reading
    autoTRADER.ca2020-01-19
Found 186 reviews