athenahealth Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

athenahealth Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with lot of challenges! You will do well if you are up for the challenges. Great culture!

    Cons

    Ambiguity and changing leadership teams

    athenahealth2018-03-23
  2. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Nice campus and dog friendly

    Cons

    Outside the city and far away

    athenahealth2019-11-19
  3. "Lots of learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager/Strategy - Product Development in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people, passionate about helping clients help their patients, willingness from many senior leaders to listen to new ideas

    Cons

    Lots of changes - many thanks to an activist investor, lack of diversity in sr leadership

    athenahealth2019-11-17
  4. "Senior Engineering Manager- Site Reliability Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager- SRE in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Corporate Culture, Flexibility to Fail Fast Culture

    Cons

    Lack of global culture, Dated tech stack

    Advice to Management

    None

    athenahealth2019-11-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun coworkers, free food, cool decor.

    Cons

    Micromanagement, petty rules, bitter managers.

    athenahealth2019-11-12
  6. "Belfast location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay for the area

    Cons

    So much change, but that seems to be improving going into 2020! Belfast location doesn't feel as respected as the Watertown, Massachusetts location.

    athenahealth2019-11-08
  7. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    athenahealth is a mission driven company that has great people and great career growth opportunities.

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any cons working at athenahealth!

    athenahealth2019-11-06
  8. "Great company, great product, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Account Management in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the smartest, most engaged people I've ever worked with. The company invested in ensuring employees were happy and engaged. In return, they asked a lot in terms of time commitment but it was fun doing it.

    Cons

    Too much travel and too many weekends working caused me to leave, but I truly miss the culture and the people. I just needed to get more time with my family.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the people.

    athenahealth2019-10-31
  9. "Could be a great place to work.... if leaders are accountable for employee satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The ability to have a flexible schedule is positive. If you are lucky enough to be assigned to a manager that cares about you as a person and takes the time to mentor it can be a great experience, but there are far less of these managers in these roles today. Hoping to see the ELT begin to work on this.

    Cons

    Workload is heavy and not balanced properly based on cohort level. Leaders do not promote based on job performance, but rather a subjective basis that is not reflective of the contribution to the role. There is an obvious favoritism from leaders to individuals that have been around for a long time and that have exclusive athena experience. Other people have recognized this trend and I will repeat here that outside... experience in healthcare is not valued by athena leaders, and actually can be used to hold back your promotion opportunities. Leadership at director and VP levels consist of life long athenistas with very little experience outside of Athenahealth. This culture has been the way of athena for many years, leading to a very weak leadership team.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the leaders that are driving people out of the company. A fresh set of outside experience is required to truly bring a new perspective and drive up employee satisfaction. Don’t fall into the trap of “This is how we’ve always done it”

    athenahealth2019-11-13
  10. "awesome culture, great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    athenahealth has never been more focused or better positioned for success. New leadership team is extremely qualified and cares about the greater mission that we're all here to achieve. i love coming to work everyday because there is a great energy and spirit among the employees that is contagious. i am driven to do my very best work, because my coworkers are smart and push me to think outside the box. i love... working for a company that has a bigger vision in mind and is doing work that really matters. the watertown campus is awesome, very cool meeting spaces, dining options, and working stations. commuting options (shuttles, etc) are also very handy when i need to use them.

    Show More

    Cons

    I really can't think of any. I love what I do and where I work and I feel really lucky to be an athenista.

    Advice to Management

    continue to keep the company focused and engaging the employees!

    athenahealth2019-10-27
Found 1083 reviews