airG Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

airG Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Frederick Ghahramani & Vincent Yen
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun environment, free breakfast, downtown office(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great people - some smart and really friendly people(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at airG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly & non-stuffy work environment. Very flat structure - lots of idea and info sharing. Some interesting problems to solve and never a boring moment. A good place to learn behind the scenes on telecom networks, both business and technical.

    Cons

    Management (CEO) is a workaholic, always at the office. It's a bit scary... also means there's not much 'down' time...

    Advice to Management

    Cubicles for 'private space' instead of open concept

    airG2019-02-13
  2. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at airG full-time

    Pros

    Work is fun and challenging. People are very positive and outgoing. Offices are very modern. I see a bright future for airG.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any cons.

    airG2019-01-11
  3. "Awesome new offices!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at airG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Interesting international projects * AWESOME new office, really clean and beautiful view and facility (Amazing bathrooms) * Lots of challenging projects

    Cons

    * Many times projects run late, resulting in last minute dash to get things done * Sometimes the office culture feels like an engineering lab / university student lounge and not a professional company

    Advice to Management

    Hire a few more 'suits' to be more professional/mature

    airG2018-12-19
  4. "Amazing culture, amazing team! I see why so many people stay with airG for so many years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at airG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best part about airG is the the culture and the team. HR & hiring managers do a superb job at finding the right people that fit well within the friendly and fun-to-be-around environment to join airG. Other pros: - flex start time - free breakfast daily - beer Fridays weekly - team lunch outings monthly - weekday company social events (yes, get paid to play) - standing desks - herman miller chairs - catered...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Office can get almost too quiet at times - Hard to get to know people from other teams as some teams really keep to themselves

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for fostering an amazing culture, I'm loving my time here for all the reasons stated above (and many other reasons not mentioned). Keep up the great work! One thing that would be great to add is more regular updates on big picture and company direction/future.

    airG2018-01-02
  5. "A great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at airG full-time

    Pros

    - friendly and small community of people - down to earth atmosphere - fun monthly company events and fundraiser activities - beer and chips on Fridays - free cold breakfast, coffee, and fresh fruit - access to discounted gym membership

    Cons

    - opportunity to upgrade to another position may not be available - may not always see eye to eye with management - product development may be slow

    airG2018-01-02
  6. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at airG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -friendly environment -lots of social events -fresh fruit everyday, plus different types of cereal, oatmeal, coffee maker, milk and dairy free milk. -benefits -no dress code -wellness program -corporate rate for cellphone plans

    Cons

    -some teams tend to isolate from the rest

    Advice to Management

    Keep that boss-employee tight bond. I’ve noticed that majority of the managers get together with the staff every other week just to check how things are going. That’s key to establish a trustworthy relationship. I’m very pleased with my manager!

    airG2017-12-15
  7. "Not as good as it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at airG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * The people are great * The benefits are good * Downtown location is easy to get to (Unless you're driving ... $200/mo parking)

    Cons

    * Lack of trust in employees * Open plan = endless interruptions * The pay isn't great, but given the products, I suspect not much money is being made * Obsolete/ignored/inconsequential products * Poor project planning * Micromanagement

    Advice to Management

    Have a vision and plan ahead. Work around barriers and adjust your vision accordingly. Your employees know their stuff ... let them shine instead of micro-managing projects.

    airG2017-11-20
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Developer beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at airG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some teams are friendly. Lots of company events

    Cons

    Depending on which team you are in. If you happen to be in the Integrations team, good luck to you. This is a team where everything is thrown onto you but you are never appreciated. The lead has no idea what is happening and only loves to chat with management. If you are one who loves to talk and butter up to your seniors and superiors, then you will do well in this organization. All the talk of work life balance only...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The reason why people leave is the lack of appreciation and people do not like to hear advise from others.

    airG2017-07-24
  9. "Junior Product Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at airG

      Pros

      Great company to work for with a great culture - work hard play hard mentality. Worked with a great team and learned a lot with the company.

      Cons

      To be honest, can't really think of a con working with AirG as I had a positive experience all around. Was a great place to work as one of my first jobs out of schoo.

      airG2017-04-11
    • "Great place to work!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at airG full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Monthly team lunches. Monthly birthday celebrations. Medical and dental coverage. Fully stocked kitchen. Coffee machine. Foozball table. Weekly Friday afternoon snacks. Open floor concept. Seasonal team events/family days/family picnic. Wellness program. Easy going atmosphere. Great people to work with!

      Cons

      After working out in the world...I find no cons with this company. This is the best place that I have worked with.

      Advice to Management

      I can not speak to what other people have for managers but I believe mine is one of the better ones. Keep doing the great things you do.

      airG2016-03-24
    Found 52 reviews