Zenoss, Inc. Employee Reviews about "zenoss"

Updated Feb 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 121 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Zenoss, Inc. CEO Greg Stock
Greg Stock
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture drives personal productivity but not at the sake of work/life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "This company lives and breathes its core values(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No 401k profit sharing for employees(in 10 reviews)

  • "Despite analyst coverage, sales still educating the market about Zenoss(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    507

    180 Comments

    Tech

    33.2K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Zenoss, Inc.~106407
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "zenoss"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Come to relax - leave to build a career

      Feb 29, 2020 -  in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very relaxed Great snacks and food Good benefits

      Cons

      Almost all executives and senior management left for good reason. Huge amount of sales turnover. This company lags behind others in capabilities, and in identity. There’s no clear vision and no path to win set in place. Revenue and sales have dropped substantially each year since Zenoss lost its OEM with Cisco. The push is for SaaS yet barely any of the customers use the cloud based solution.

      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Emerging leader in a hot but competitive tech sector

      Jan 13, 2020 - Sales in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees live the core values; Product evolution is positioning the company for market leadership; Analysts recognize and acknowledge Zenoss as a leader; Good team who has each other's backs

      Cons

      Competitive space means sales has to be on top of our game; Constant learning required as the tech evolves; Despite analyst coverage, sales still educating the market about Zenoss

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Unrealized potential

      Apr 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting technology - cloud, containers, etc. Good people Strong customer focus

      Cons

      Not growing, missing targets Exec team is a mixed bag Zenoss is competing in a crowded market with companies that are well funded, more aggressive, and executing better on both product and sales

      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A Day In The Life & Everything Zen!

      Jan 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Run like a real business and not on "fantasy land funding" which is a huge plus. - Great benefits! Employee success does a fabulous job here...better than most. - Lean company...little bloat. - Solid executive team. Addition of the new SVP of Sales was a huge plus. CCO and Head of Product is amazing. All of them are real people, approachable and transparent. - Culture and values are real and embraced companywide. Zenoss is not another Austin company modeled after Ayn Rand writings, MBA 101 or just a gong in the corner of a room. Real people...real culture. - One of the best teams I have worked with in my career and I would share a meal with 99.999999% of the people at Zenoss and have no problem referring others to Zenoss or Zenoss colleagues anywhere life takes them. - Solid solution offerings and latest release, Zenoss Cloud, is going to gain more and more traction. - Engineering team is fantastic to work with and very talented. - Work life balance strong! - The love and support of animals as part of the culture is worth noting and something important to me. MVP employee is Olive the Product Management bulldog. - Interview process is fair, very comprehensive and tough. Come as you are! - No...they do not make employees do reviews.

      Cons

      - I am sure everyone can move on to their next opportunity, look back, and nit pick things to death but that is not my MO. I cannot think of anything I would change that has not already been communicated via all the opportunities Zenoss gives employees to communicate. - Glassdoor Trolls - I think the most recent slew of negative reviews are just a troll or two who cannot move on in life from one thing to the next. People can see that. So a Con would be trolls doing inaccurate reviews.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It’s all smoke and mirrors.

      Apr 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredibly friendly people, a laid-back atmosphere, and it’s not hard to be one of the smartest people in the room.

      Cons

      Here is what potential prospects should know: - This is a software company that wishes it was a marketing company and is only hanging on by the thread of its customer service organization and the herculean efforts they go through to keep this 11-year old open source platform from falling down. - Sales is hamstrung at every turn, Marketing literally doesn’t understand the product, space, or market drivers, and Engineering is the wild, wild west. - This company will never achieve escape velocity toward a public offering. NET: Zenoss is an easy place to work, so long as you don’t expect success and are not frustrated by petty politics, a lack of strategy, and poor leadership from the topmost level. Bonus advice for anyone interviewing: - Ask someone how many quarters Zenoss has actually hit its bookings target in in the last 3 years (hint: Approximately the same number of basketball games the Washington Generals have won). - Ask multiple people to explain what “SDITO” is. Watch them fumble around aimless for words and marvel at how none of the answers are remotely the same.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Zenoss, Inc. Response

      CCO

      Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Zenoss is not the right place for everyone, nor is it perfect. But it is great for the vast majority of our employees and has tremendous support from our very engaged Board. By soliciting direct feedback through an anonymous survey every 6 months, quarterly company meetings with open Q&A, and a clear open door/ask anything culture, we hope that all our employees find a venue that is right for them to share how we can improve. We are sorry that Zenoss was not right for you and wish you luck in the future.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Zenoss is a Company to Watch

      Jan 24, 2016 - Director, Customer Communications in Phila, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've played sports through college and being a part of a winning team is a must. The executive team at Zenoss is not only an incredible mix of seasoned, talented and professional people, but truly there to coach all of us to a win. Now reporting to Megan Lueders, VP of Marketing, I am learning every day as the new world of marketing and PR changes at an incredible pace. Last year we were recognized by Forbes and Austin Statesman as a top company work for - but ask any of the employees and our customers + partners, the changes and new playbook that we are operating from is creating this unique place to work and work with from the customer and partner perspective.

      Cons

      Working remotely has so many benefits and Zenoss does embrace this - however, I would like to spend more time with my team.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Brilliant people, lots of work to do - but a bright future ahead.

      Dec 30, 2013 - Staff Software Developer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Zenoss has some of the smartest and most interesting people I've ever worked with. Everyone at the company is always willing to lend a hand, answer a question, and give direction without making you feel bad for taking their time. Difficult problems and working with new technologies really pushes you as a developer and keeps the job interesting, challenging, and just the right amount of frightening. So far, I've found it difficult to stay bored. Benefits are really good and the culture in the development department is the best I've experienced. Work-life balance is important here and that doesn't necissarily mean that everyone is ready to hit the door at 5pm.

      Cons

      Zenoss is a complex product that has accumulated a lot of technical debt but the company has committed to cleaning that debt up; which means that you sometimes get stuck working on outdated and poorly written features. Working on a hard problem in an area of poorly written software is frustrating, but honestly, work isn't always sunshine and smiles.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Zenoss, Inc. Response

      SVP, Customer Success

      Thanks for the comments on the development team culture. Alan and Mike have been working hard to foster that, great to hear that it is working! I can say that the rest of the exec team is just as focused on building growth paths, clear and open communication paths, and a real sense of ownership for everyone at Zenoss.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 17, 2013 - Senior Support Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They allow you to work remotely which is very convenient. You get to work with excellent co-workers, very bright people (they hire properly). Always something fun to work on.

      Cons

      I can't personally fault much when it comes to Zenoss. They were lacking in certain processes in the past such as QA, but they have made significant improvements recently and things are looking good.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      positive work environment and good business outlook for the company

      Apr 15, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Going in I had heard some of the less than positive comments from previous employees at Zenoss. After talking to a number of employees who had been with the company for more than a few years it was clear that circumstances were a bit rocky for the company in the 2010 and 2011 time frame. The majority of employees work in the Austin office but for a long time there were no company execs based in Austin - CEO was based in Maryland office. The CEO has since relocated to Austin and the new CMO is also in Austin, making for a more engaged and transparent management team. The company was also trying to land some big partnership deals that drained resources and distracted the company. Those distractions are now history. The vibe at the company now is positive and upbeat. Seems like the right product at the right time in the market, business is growing steadily and the outlook is bright. I'm glad I made the decision to come here...

      Cons

      Zenoss is still a relatively small company and resources are limited (fewer than 100 employees). As in most small companies it's easy to fall into the trap of trying to pursue too many good opportunities and end up getting spread too thin and not able to execute effectively in any one area. This is a common growing pain for companies the size of Zenoss, management team will need to keep an eye on this and correct course as we grow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Work at Zenoss, Inc.? Share Your Experiences

    or