Zenoss, Inc. Employee Reviews about "no 401k"

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 121 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Zenoss, Inc. CEO Greg Stock
Greg Stock
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture drives personal productivity but not at the sake of work/life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "This company lives and breathes its core values(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No 401k profit sharing for employees(in 10 reviews)

  • "Despite analyst coverage, sales still educating the market about Zenoss(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    507

    180 Comments

    Tech

    33.2K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Zenoss, Inc.~106407
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "no 401k"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good culture, great people...

      Jul 9, 2019 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, lots of opportunity to grow within.

      Cons

      No 401k matching. Sales leadership was average and could improve.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fun, exciting company to work for

      Jun 5, 2018 - Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with Zenoss for a good while now, and I've stayed because of the super smart people, good growth potential, and all of the different opportunities to work with cool technologies. Monitoring isn't really a hip or trendy area in tech right now, but the company itself is pretty hip and has a lot of the amenities that come along with that "coolness": free snacks and drinks, regularly-catered food (for meetings etc), the ability to work from home depending on your role, good use of internal collaboration tools like gsuite/slack/jira/confluence/etc. It's a fun atmosphere with great work/life balance. The customers are some of the best customers I've ever worked with, too.

      Cons

      No 401k matching. It'd cost the company around $9,000/employee/year IF everyone participates and everyone maxes their contribution, which won't be the case.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Zenoss, Inc. Response

      VP Employee Success

      Thanks for the review! Zenoss IS pretty hip...and don’t forget the onsite massages, Friday mixers and community volunteering! We have a fairly generous PTO policy with 20 PTO days in the first four years, 25 days beginning year five and 30 days beginning year eight. Plus employees enjoy 9 company holidays and 2 floating holidays each year. I would love to visit with you about unlimited PTO so please stop by anytime or Slack me!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Overall excellent place to work

      May 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Really smart people -Solid technology that is about to make some killer advances -Opportunities to grow professionally -Generous with the free food -Pets allowed at work

      Cons

      -No 401k match -Things move fast so you have to be ok with that

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Zenoss, Inc. Response

      VP Employee Success

      Thanks for the review. I love our pets who roam around sharing their happiness with everyone! We recognize the desire of our employees to have a 401(k) match and we have plans to add to our benefits when the time is right for the business.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Company with bright future

      May 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Culture drives personal productivity but not at the sake of work/life balance. - Exciting new product is on the near-term horizon; partnership with Google is a game changer. - YOY revenue growth has been positive for last 5+ years.

      Cons

      - Maturing as a small company creates certain amount of organizational growing pains. - Focus on growth means budgeting requires intense spending diligence at times. (ex. no 401k match) - Ultra competitive marketplace means Sales and Marketing have to do more than simply take orders.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Smart people, great product

      May 16, 2018 - Senior Sales Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros - great company that is producing cutting edge software to solve real world problems. The product works, the services and support are solid. The move to the cloud is the right choice. Zenoss has a really great culture with a solid core of integrity.

      Cons

      No 401k profit sharing for employees.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Zenoss, Inc. Response

      Thanks for the review! We appreciate you taking time to acknowledge the Zenoss team. While our products are at the heart of keeping IT operations and associated business services healthy, we believe our mission is much greater as these services fuel the banks, entertainment providers, high tech, etc. that consumers use every day. With regard to our 401k options, we wanted to clarify that Zenoss does provide a robust traditional 401k program including a Roth 401k option, target date funds and a self-directed brokerage account. With our focus on reinvesting for future growth, the company has chosen to not provide a match as this time; however, we are constantly reviewing our holistic benefits program with a match at the top of the list. Thanks again, - Mike Lunt, VP Engineering

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company to work for

      May 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Solid Leadership. New VP of Sales is a great addition to the leadership team. *Engineering team is excited about the direction of the product. *This company lives and breathes its core values *Great community outreach

      Cons

      Would like to see the office space freshened up a bit. No 401k matching

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture, values, and potential

      Mar 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Deep versatile product with experienced/knowledgable developers and architects * Relaxed culture with strong work/life balance at all levels of the company * Experienced, well paid, and committed employees * Decent benefits with standard software company staples (free drinks, healthy snacks, pong, pool, occasional happy hours) * HR and IT willing to embrace innovative solutions, ideas, and tools * Consistently improving leadership team * Values are great and not just corporate nonsense * Employees have an ability to make a substantive difference here * Great to simply work for a company where problems get solved and things get incrementally better

      Cons

      * Some definite missteps with previous leadership that continues to get solved as the executive team narrows and evolves * The products "bleeding edge" embrace of Docker for scalability and ease of upgrade made for a very bumpy ride that took a while to smooth out * No 401K match, but there is a desire to eventually deliver on it and not an attitude about it * Location limits candidate pool if people are too remote and the job calls for someone local * Employee focused culture keeps low performers on staff for longer than some other companies would

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      technical company but cooperation is challenged

      May 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -flexible work hours. -mostly nice people. -customer centric

      Cons

      - no 401K matching - collaboration can be challenging because everyone is so busy - lots of the "I'm more important than you and your work" types -because so busy, many emails and chats go unanswered - *REALLY*(wink) want everyone to provide good reviews to various polls

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Innovative and smart company!!

      Sep 3, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management understands and honors flexible work schedules. Employees are smart, dynamic and friendly. Cool company break room with pool and ping pong table. The company mission is growing and they are definitely heading places!! Lucky to be onboard.

      Cons

      No benefits for part time employees (<30hrs/week). No 401K employer match.

      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      High-caliber developers, good outlook

      Apr 30, 2014 - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The software developers are absolutely top-notch. No prima donnas, but plenty of humble geniuses. There are ample opportunities to learn here and improve your craft. Work/life balance is wonderful - most employees have happy families, and the single folks have a social life outside of Zenoss. Free drinks and snacks in the cafeteria. All-hands meetings are transparent enough to keep everyone up-to-date on all the important company news, and are always followed by happy hour.

      Cons

      No 401k matching! All the other benefits are nice though. Marketing and sales tactics were kind of well... they're starting to show some improvements!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Work at Zenoss, Inc.? Share Your Experiences

    or