Cover image for Zenefits
Logo

Zenefits

Is this your company?

Zenefits

Add a Review

Zenefits Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Jul. 7, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 673 of over 673 reviews
4.2
69% Recommend to a Friend
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
89% Approve of CEO

Found 35 of over 673 reviews

4.2
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
166 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food and a very relaxed dress code(in 35 reviews)

  • "The culture is very work/life balance driven and everyone gets involved in making the success happen(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There isn’t a great work life balance(in 62 reviews)

  • "Long hours can sometimes be a downer(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Got a burning question about Zenefits? Just ask!

    Ask a Question

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    581

    80 Comments

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Zenefits and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "free food"

    Return to all Reviews
    35
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture and great people

      Nov. 6, 2019 - Product Manager in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - free food! - working with smart people - dog-friendly - flexible work hours

      Cons

      - early morning/late night meetings if working with Bangalore team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not worth it

      Feb. 28, 2017 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food. Standard compensation.

      Cons

      Subpar quality of engineering leadership. 90% of remaining engineers are from exactly same background. Basically everyone who is capable of getting a job somewhere else, has already left or looking to leave.

      7 people found this review helpful
    3. Join the Zenefits team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a good place to work.

      Jul. 7, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Free food and snacks 2. No dress code policy 3. Too much work pressure.

      Cons

      1. Management is bad 2. Layoff can happen anytime 3. Needs better office space 4. Micromanagement 5. Nothing new to learn

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      READ THE REVIEWS

      Nov. 30, 2015 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Free Food -Good salary -great product (aesthetically) -Wear what you want -Fun atmosphere (For the most part) -Lots of opportunities to learn -Great first sales job or out of college

      Cons

      EVERYTHING ELSE -Expected long hours -have to cheat the system or stay in grey area to hit quota/goals -shady ethically in upper management -upper management is a joke. Lack respect, honor, integrity, caring & most importantly aren't real men or women. Just un-honorable pompous hipsters -Terrible sales cycle/implementation -promised certain things, not even close. A true bait & switch recruiting style -Product is always glitching, down, or broken. -ZERO customer support & the little they do get are from reps that don't know what they're talking about -150% call center mentality & cold calling -DO NOT come here from another respectful sales career with a Fortune 500 company. This place is a joke & will take you backwards in your sales career. They claim to hire "experience sales professionals with proven track records" only to tell you to stop using those strategies that worked for you in the past & to "read the script" Its all script here. No rapport, relationship building or "salesman-ship" You are a human robot.

      Continue reading
      42 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      it's what you make of it

      Sep. 19, 2020 - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you work hard and prove yourself, you can grow into another role or another department. Lots of flexibility. Great benefits and perks. Free food and a very relaxed dress code. You can climb the ladder quickly here.

      Cons

      A lot of micro management- this may be a pro or con for people. But the three big things for me were: - A tendency to favor friends or "bros". - Top heavy, they kept a lot of management but cut a lot of individual contributors. - Way too much emphasis on marketing and not enough on supporting customers, sales, and operations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Brilliant cheap sit

      Oct. 12, 2020 - Binman in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best job ever. Easy money free food

      Cons

      bins stink and will make u vomit

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nightmarish

      Oct. 15, 2015 - SDR in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, drinks, and company events/ happy hours. I got along well with my manager and my team. My coworkers were some of the smartest, most hard-working people I've worked with. Unfortunately, you'd never know that based on the rate at which they quit/ were fired.

      Cons

      Where to begin? The SDR/ Sales org. is in shambles. Not only is middle management totally inept, but so are their directors. Quota is essentially unreachable, and morale is awful. The specifics have been laid out in nearly every other review, but in short, managers are not qualified, and will not help you in any real way. The most absurd part is the pay. Not only did the entire SDR org take a $5,000 pay cut, but they continually underpay people on their paychecks! I like to believe this isn't purposeful, but when it happens three months in a row, with no intention to pay that money back, one has to wonder. When I finally quit, they owed me several hundred dollars, which I only received after I quit. This company has no respect for it's employees. It doesn't respect them enough to pay them, nor does it respect them enough to correct a mistake in a timely fashion.

      Continue reading
      28 people found this review helpful

      Zenefits Response

      VP, Sales

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. I hate that your experience was so negative, but I realize that we had some growing pains late summer/early fall because of our growth. We doubled our SDR team, our managers, and rolled out some new tools...and it was a lot. For that reason, we’ve slowed down on hiring while we focus on developing our current team members and our managers, improving our communication and transparency, and simplifying the career path to an AE and what it takes to get there. Since it’s the most accelerated career path to an AE role in a SaaS organization, it is hard work and we are much clearer about expectations. It sounds like we didn’t do a great job of explaining that the compensation change was to raise the overall compensation you can earn while still giving you the ability to earn a base increase when you promote to SDR 2. The confusion in your pay probably came from running compensation for our team on spreadsheets, which is not the most effective process! We recently implemented a compensation tool that gives our team more visibility into what they are making throughout the month and removes a lot of the human error, and it’s been well received, so that should clear up most of the confusion going forward. I’d love to connect live on your feedback. If you feel comfortable, please reach out to me at mcole@zenefits.com. If I don’t hear from you, I appreciate your honesty and wish you all the best in your next opportunity! -Mandy Cole VP, Sales

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great idea. Poor execution.

      Jul. 9, 2020 - Account Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, snacks, drinks, and alcohol

      Cons

      Burn and churn mentality with clients. Company has an amazing benefit to provide, but completely lacks in service.

      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Honest review without bias

      Feb. 23, 2016 - SDR and Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food Amazing people Fun outings, once in awhile.... Attractive staff You get a Macbook Air for use at work/home

      Cons

      -Impossible Quotas -terrible pay, our compensation has been cut so many times - micro management - literally the SDR managers do nothing all day, our managers on the AE side, work a bit harder - business does not close, and you are held responsible for that - you will fear for your job constantly - Hours are terrible, there is no work/life balance - you will have mandatory meetings and trainings at least 3-4 times a week, always at your lunch hour - if you take time off, you are guilted - there is no room for growth, I have seen less than 7 people get promoted in the last 6 months -there is so much negative press, nobody wants to work with us - the market for what companies we can work with is so small no one hits quota ever -there is no culture In all, this was a terrible place to live. There is so much pressure on you, and management is absolutely terrible. Its the mindset "what have you done for me lately" You could have one month that goes decent and the next be at risk for losing your job Upper management will not be honest with you Abandon the sinking ship

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    11. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Customer Service

      Mar. 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So I noticed the only people who are giving this company five stars are those still employed, which btw congratulations on making it through the third cut and third CEO in one year. Also the company actually comments to those posts too (lol). - free food - the friends you meet - same as the first but I figured I'd be nice by listing another pro; cupcakes - I can't think of anything else

      Cons

      - management - poor execution. consistently releasing new features that don't work - average of fourteen hour workdays, some people in support work 150 hours per pay period - did I mention management? - three mass layoffs and three CEOs in one year - several other cons I can't bother listing

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      Zenefits Response

      CPO

      A couple points of clarification. David Sacks took over as CEO in February 2016, after Parker Conrad left the company. (David was the COO at the time.) David led the company through 2016 under challenging circumstances, as anyone can read in the media. He also established Zenefits as the all-in-one HR platform for small business. David held the role for a year. In February 2016, David handed the CEO role over to Jay Fulcher. Jay is an experienced CEO with a background in HCM and is here to build on the foundation that David and every employee created. Yes, we did recently give employees massages and smoothies. (Paid for by the wellness allowance we receive from our benefits carrier.) The exec team also served lunch to employees. The engineering team is having a ping pong tournament. These are some of the ways in which we are demonstrating our gratitude for our employees' hard work and commitment. We will continue to appreciate and invest in our employees, including leadership and professional development.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Zenefits Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zenefits? Share Your Experiences

    Zenefits logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Zenefits Photos

    + Add Photo
    Zenefits photo of: Celebrating Pride!
    Zenefits photo of: First day in our new SF office in the heart of the Financial District
    Zenefits photo of: The new meeting room...
    Zenefits photo of: Starting 'em young on the swag!
    Zenefits photo of: Love our Zoom backgrounds!
    Zenefits photo of: Hey Bhavani!
    Zenefits photo of: Someone was bored on a conference call just sayin'
    See All Photos

    Zenefits Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Yelp Logo
    Yelp

    3.5

    4,609 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 673 Zenefits reviews submitted anonymously by Zenefits employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Zenefits is right for you.