Zendesk Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Zendesk Founder and  CEO Mikkel Svane
Mikkel Svane
548 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility and great work life balance(in 108 reviews)

  • "great culture, really take care of you(in 54 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The company is growing rapidly, which leads to natural growing pains from the employee perspective(in 38 reviews)

  • "Could have more competitive benefits (currently no 401k matching of any kind, health plans could be more subsidized and provide better coverage)(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      In it for the long haul

      Jul 20, 2020 - Product in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is generous with its employees (time off, pay, benefits, team building events) Great work-life balance, take the time you need to take care of your life outside of work The employees are big on collaboration Management is supportive of their team The organization is very transparent with it's employees

      Cons

      Not enough people speak up when they disagree

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, very nice people

      Dec 4, 2019 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good company to work for, growing fast, and people are really nice to help you develop.

      Cons

      Sometimes feels lacking strategy, but that's part of growing pains.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Enterprise Account Manager | Solution Consultant

      Jul 28, 2020 - Enterprise Account Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Happy work environment and a great culture

      Cons

      Growth is quite limited here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      choose a good office (regional HQ)

      Sep 9, 2019 - Velocity Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good product, good general company direction many people to learn from across the company (global) lots of incentives for sales people known in the tech industry

      Cons

      employees in non-regional HQ offices are pretty much an after-thought unless you have a really strong manager who cares. salary is also not aligned globally

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Work hard, zen hard

      Jan 9, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you like a challenge and good software, you'll like zendesk. Sharp, sympathetic people at the top.

      Cons

      Growing pains and internal team collab is variable at best.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best company I have worked for (don't tell the rest)

      May 3, 2021 - Team Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'll add a disclaimer that minor differences for sure happen from team to team, although I do feel that the company as a whole does a lot to promote the values I love. The culture, it's the best pro here to me, the collaboration, empathy, learning, the work towards a common goal but never at the expense of the customers or employees are really something that impact my satisfaction every single day. Honestly, team work and collaboration are a 10/10 (fine, 9.5, you can always improve). Plus the efforts of the company towards diversity, their employees wellbeing or general "let's be nice humans and do the right thing" goes far beyond what I have seen anywhere else and they feel honest not a PR stunt, shared across the whole org. Benefits are great, the product is good, so is managment at all levels (again, from my knowledge, I am sure as in any medium size company you might be unlucky). Flexibility to work from home is here to stay. Plenty of challenges and interesting work in an environment (mostly) not driven by politics but collaboration and rational and constructive conflict.

      Cons

      Nothing dramatic, like almost any company we will need to figure out how the return to work will be, the hybrid mode could be challenging. I feel we should be investing more in devepment so we could be as ahead of the competition as we once were.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I would not recommend Zendesk to a friend.

      Apr 5, 2021 - Sales in Madison, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Dedicated, intelligent co-workers. People went out of their way to share best practices and help one another find success. * RSUs and ESPP. * Great office space with free food and drinks. * Exceptional PTO policy.

      Cons

      * I could not recommend Zendesk as a good place to work because of the immature and inconsistent management. There's a reason why turnover on my team was high. Poor communication, lack of direction, micromanaging and an overall lack of empathy plagued my department. * Existing team members trained new hires on everything, without additional compensation. Enablement as a whole was pretty much non-existent. * Pay was significantly lower than industry standard. * Lack of diversity. I could count BIPOC in my office on one hand.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic company, great culture and down to earth humans

      May 4, 2021 - Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have gone above and beyond over the last year to support their employees.

      Cons

      Like with any tech company that is experiencing a surge in growth we are learning as we go.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love working here

      May 12, 2021 - Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Award-winning team, great leadership, positive culture

      Cons

      Sometimes it's hard to make things happen as expected in a larger company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The best thing that happened to me in my professional career

      May 3, 2021 - Senior Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Culture - Diversity & Inclusion - Benefits (Comms & Remuneration)

      Cons

      - Product growth plans - Lack of focus on certain regions (esp in APAC)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 738 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zendesk Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Zendesk? Share Your Experiences

    Zendesk logo
    or