Zendesk Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Zendesk Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Zendesk Founder and  CEO Mikkel Svane
Mikkel Svane
397 Ratings
Pros
  • "They had an incredibly flexible PTO policy which made work-life balance better than any other company I've worked for(in 97 reviews)

  • "Worked on a small team of great people(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains when going Enterprise(in 36 reviews)

  • "Could have more competitive benefits (currently no 401k matching of any kind, health plans could be more subsidized and provide better coverage)(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Constant Change with one goal: more success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Zendesk continues to be in a 'high growth phase' and has been for years. This gives the company a chance to create new processes, roles, teams, targets, and expectations. The company promotes from within and gives employees the opportunity to jump into jobs they may not have been qualified for outside of Zendesk. The company has incredibly high expectations for each person and the sales quotas are a clear reflection of this. The team dynamics and friendly competition is one of the top reasons people can be happy here. Upper Management/Directors encourage you to work together with an incredible amount of autonomy - find out what works and what doesn't. If it doesn't, change it and start over.

    Cons

    Zendesk isn't the same company the founders claimed to have started. It's not an easy-going, laid back, play ping-pong during the day and nap on your break type of organization. It's an organization that is changing so often the team rarely has time to settle into the new changes. The amount of change is unlike anything I could have imagined. I am not sure we ever truly let a plan play out and calculate results before implementing something else. Exciting? Yes. Stressful? Yes. We run a lean team and rely on everyone to step up. It's hard to hide when sales, support, ops, all need everyone on board and working 100%.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2020-02-09
  2. "Great company, very nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good company to work for, growing fast, and people are really nice to help you develop.

    Cons

    Sometimes feels lacking strategy, but that's part of growing pains.

    Zendesk2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "choose a good office (regional HQ)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Velocity Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good product, good general company direction many people to learn from across the company (global) lots of incentives for sales people known in the tech industry

    Cons

    employees in non-regional HQ offices are pretty much an after-thought unless you have a really strong manager who cares. salary is also not aligned globally

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-09-10
  4. "Work hard, zen hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    If you like a challenge and good software, you'll like zendesk. Sharp, sympathetic people at the top.

    Cons

    Growing pains and internal team collab is variable at best.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-01-10
  5. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk

    Pros

    WLB Well stocked pantry Growth and learning Mentorship

    Cons

    May be slow at times

    Zendesk2020-02-12
  6. "Basic tech company as a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    Nice offices, good pto and benefits

    Cons

    Somewhere between a startup and a mature company

    Zendesk2020-02-15
  7. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Good culture.

    Cons

    Too many changes in the organisation

    Zendesk2020-02-14
  8. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work which is constantly evolving and changing

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Zendesk2020-01-29
  9. "Great Company to work for (really); becoming more typically corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Product Solid Leadership Fantastic People Fantastic Office

    Cons

    The company is growing rapidly, which leads to natural growing pains from the employee perspective. AE Territories are sub-segmented and cut. Still a very solid place to work.

    Zendesk2020-02-10
  10. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing company, great team, great product, market leader.

    Cons

    Growth can be stressful with new people joining all the time.

    Zendesk2020-01-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 502 reviews