Zendesk Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Zendesk Account Executive Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Zendesk Founder and  CEO Mikkel Svane
Mikkel Svane
38 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "choose a good office (regional HQ)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Velocity Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good product, good general company direction many people to learn from across the company (global) lots of incentives for sales people known in the tech industry

    Cons

    employees in non-regional HQ offices are pretty much an after-thought unless you have a really strong manager who cares. salary is also not aligned globally

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-09-10
  2. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and big growth

    Cons

    Lower salary compared to some other companies

    Zendesk2020-03-27
  3. "Zendesk is a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    Great management, benefits and fair compensation

    Cons

    Happy with Zendesk and the team there

    Zendesk2020-03-25
  4. "Great Company to work for (really); becoming more typically corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Product Solid Leadership Fantastic People Fantastic Office

    Cons

    The company is growing rapidly, which leads to natural growing pains from the employee perspective. AE Territories are sub-segmented and cut. Still a very solid place to work.

    Zendesk2020-02-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership cares more about the needle than you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Account Executive in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A couple of years ago, I would have recommended Zendesk to anyone who wanted to work here. The culture was great, the morale was high, and leadership appeared to be invested in your professional development and growth.

    Cons

    After working as an SDR/BDR and then trying to change career paths, I was stonewalled by the director of the organization, who made it impossible for me to transition internally. After talking to co-workers, I realized that my experience was not unique. As I've reluctantly continued my career in sales at Zendesk, they have pushed back against negotiating salary, continuously increased quotas to nearly unobtainable and certainly unrealistic levels, and stripped away opportunities for bonus incentives. As more and more leadership comes on from larger organizations (Oracle, Salesforce, Amazon), the culture at Zendesk is being squandered at an attempt to drive revenue at an unrealistic pace. You can see the sales team and their managers experiencing a crisis, the blood beginning to boil as leadership strips pay away, and tenured reps leaving for the competition. The actions taken by this organization as of late do not bode well for employee retention.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2020-01-31
  6. Helpful (10)

    "There's a lot of work to do to change to an Enterprise focused organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    The people are the reason I loved Zendesk so much. Everyone was willing to help one another and looking to grow and be better. They had an incredibly flexible PTO policy which made work-life balance better than any other company I've worked for. I find my friends saying "you'll never find another place like Zendesk" and I believe that to be true. I felt it was a relatively easy life there. I felt challenged but at the same time it was an easy product to understand and to sell.

    Cons

    Their goal as an organization is to move into the Enterprise. Unfortunately their focus is still incredibly transactional which is how Zendesk grew so quickly. This transactional foundation is a huge detriment to the goal of moving into the Enterprise because much of the leadership team is influenced by the people who've grown up within the organization and therefore drive the process from the ground up. Almost all reps still speak regularly at the practitioner level and the conversations are not value driven. I believe Zendesk has been so successful thus far because the product is great and easy to use. My goal in being there was to progress my sales career to work more complex and Enterprise/Strategic deals. While they certainly have some great Enterprise Logos, the footprint of those organizations is still relatively small. Zendesk does not focus on the outcomes that companies are trying to achieve in choosing their solution and because of this, sales reps are consistently delegated down to low level contacts. I left Zendesk because the culture had changed significantly. The leadership team has gotten incredibly political and there is clear favoritism throughout the organization. In addition, there are a few people who because of their political ties, basically run the organization and if you have a misstep with them, it can cost you your job and reputation which is unfortunate. This means you have to be very careful about who you trust there and the information you share.

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-12-05
  7. "Great experience with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best in class tools to do your job Great people Excellent commission Career progression

    Cons

    Company wide changes & communications could be clearer

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2020-01-06
  8. "Amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Account Executive in Montpellier
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk for less than a year

    Pros

    - assistance for relocation - free meals - great learning experience

    Cons

    - be careful of the culture especially when growing with double digit figure

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-11-08
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Not all it's cracked up to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues Social Events can be fun

    Cons

    Company and execs are only focussed on money, not the employee experience anymore Our Melbourne office used to be awesome, now it's a disaster zone HR Globally is a mess and we all feel it

    Continue reading
    Zendesk2019-10-20
  10. "Consistent company for employees and customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got the basics pretty right: good and always improving products, happy customers and well-treated employees that provide support to each other and are satisfied at the company.

    Cons

    Usual constraints associated with rapid growth.

    Zendesk2019-10-01
Found 46 reviews