Zalando Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Zalando Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
284 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to work out of hours or weekends in my time here(in 42 reviews)

  • "Good team atmosphere, relaxed working environment- flexible hrs(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Gehalt eher am unteren Ende dessen, was(in 28 reviews)

  • "No benefits, very german management/values(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Awesome company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice pay Lots of opportunities to learn new stuff Zalando vouchers for employees

    Cons

    People-services team needs improvement. Be ready for ambiguity in salary due to incorrect tax class for first 3 months. Although the money deducted will get reimbursed in full after 3 months.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-02-04
  2. "Great team spirit and collaboration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are looking to learn and develop your career, Zalando is the right place. I found that every team member is super friendly and helpful as well as dedicated to their job, you would always get the information you need on how to handle you task, which makes it efficient to collaborate. Lead are very interested in your development and needs. I am a single mother and my leads are very flexible and understanding to my needs, they are also willing to offer adjustments so that I could enjoy a work-life balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes the processes are quite complicated, but the company is already looking into implementing tools which will improve the effectiveness.

    Zalando2020-02-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good enough for the short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay you on time, will sponsor your visa if you needed, have a nice 40% off perk off on clothing however due to the partnership program this applys to less and less items wouldn't be surprised if they limit it futher or get rid of it all together.

    Cons

    Everything here is a complete mess seems like none of the processes have scaled, and the almost constant resrtucutres of departments means you should be okay with change on a monthly basis. In just under 3 years working here I have had around 10 different leads so I would say staff turn around is really high even for a big company. Managament have either loss complete touch or just do what recent new CTO Jim Freeman tells them to do without little for regard for what they themselves built.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-02-17
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer 

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance was good

    Cons

    Very corporate enviroment, felt more tech than fashion

    Zalando2020-02-18
  5. "Work Atmosphere for Interns especially"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Zalando part-time

    Pros

    Strong communication among the internal stakeholders, helpful and friendly work culture

    Cons

    Due to larger diversity ratio, differences in understanding can occur.

    Zalando2020-02-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A springboard to better opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great experience & the opportunity to move around within the company - diverse and international colleagues (excluding senior management) - 40% discount on the website

    Cons

    - salaries are below market value so employee turnover is extremely high - performance management tool is intentionally ambiguous & political; read the newspaper articles about "zonar" - there is a visible glass ceiling for women & minorities

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-02-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overall great company to work for with room for improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - international teams - great team culture - 360-degree feedback - open for feedback and improvements (zBeat) - implementing sustainability strategy - two off-days for volunteering per year - trainings for personal growth - benefits (voucher, sports, fruits, etc.)

    Cons

    - high workload and stress level - top-down management and many hierarchy levels - promotion readiness still depending a lot on direct lead - radical strategic changes - high fluctuation (used as stepping stone / stopover) - management board is not very diverse unfortunately

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-01-23
  8. "Technical Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent De Maitrise in Berlin

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You receive support on self development

    Cons

    Cross-collaboration within the company is difficult.

    Zalando2020-02-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "The Berlin carrousel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Controller in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, great to find friends and build a small network of friends when you move to Berlin, 40% employee discount, a lot of smart people work here, a lot of work life balance (depends on your boss and how cool s/he is with you doing home office on a regular basis)

    Cons

    Salaries are a joke on the more junior levels. Many people want to work in Berlin and apply at Zalando. They know it and take advantage of you. Negotiate hard because your salary will be locked in for a while. The rumours you might have read about zonar are true.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-01-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much work load. Diversity in Tech Zalando employee discount

    Cons

    No Bonus Very slow progress in carrier You have to kill yourself, to get good feedback from peers. Even if you are good at your core tech job quite good.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-01-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 734 reviews