ZF TRW Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ZF TRW Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 548 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Franz Kleiner
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment that still celebrated - 'take your child days' with zest while I was working there(in 29 reviews)

  • "Good people, good product development process(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management are nice but some people are put in the wrong position(in 16 reviews)

  • "I did not experience any downsides at ZF(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "GREAT AUTOMOTIVE COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with incentives and support for professional and technical growth

    Cons

    Hardly any cons were noticed whilst working there.

    ZF TRW2019-06-22
  2. "Good and bad points"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodstock, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time

    Pros

    People are nice to each other

    Cons

    People are not treated equally there. In the office in one department people are paid for overtime hours, in other department they stay long hours for free. Everything depends on your manager, if you work for the person who respects and want to keep employees you are fine, but if you work for manager who thinks that everyone can be replaced, you can expect bad treatment and long unpaid hours. The same problem is with...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop complaining about having labour problems, start treating people equally and with respect and your problems will gone.

    ZF TRW2019-06-20
  3. "Electrician ZF/TRW Automotive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time

    Pros

    Not bad money Benefits Co-workers lots of control wiring

    Cons

    Disorganized Very hot/dirty No room for employee prosperity

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond whats in front of you, trust the staff you hired to give solid advice within their designated field.

    ZF TRW2017-08-15
  4. "Overall a very good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW part-time

    Pros

    * Good Pay * Optimistic environment

    Cons

    * More freedom to employees.

    ZF TRW2017-07-03
  5. "Benchmark (Kelsey Hayes)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ZF TRW

    Pros

    Good place to work for and get promoted.Friendly staff to work with on both sides of the fence! Salary amazing! Miss everyone...

    Cons

    I would simply say that no organisation is perfect, but ZF TRW can do more to promote internal talent more often than the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Change is good and good people in your organization will only make you stronger!

    ZF TRW2016-12-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "TRW is a poor company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Midland, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW

    Pros

    Pay was at or slightly above industry standards.

    Cons

    Poor communication. Excessive work hour demands, working 80 hours per week at times. Seemed like the more you did, the more they expected. Poor morale within the company. Not a good place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Improve on communication with employees. Work on improving employee morale. A happy employee is a productive employee.

    ZF TRW2015-01-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fairly positive. I like my current Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ZF TRW

    Pros

    Flexible work environment. We can set our own course mostly.

    Cons

    Not many perks anymore. No pention

    Advice to Management

    Restore pention

    ZF TRW2014-08-21
  8. "Distant Management, Race to the bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Windsor, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unionized location, good people to work beside

    Cons

    Management is out of touch, focus on quantity over quality

    Advice to Management

    Start focusing on quality so that long term relationships can be maintained with suppliers. Start treating your employees like they matter and your attendance issue might dissapear.

    ZF TRW2014-04-29
  9. "Machining & Assembly....above & beyond the call of duty!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Associate in Tillsonburg, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Clean. A lot of hands on minor maintenance & adjustments. Can learn a lot about quality. Promotes from within. Good team enviroments. Voluntary overtime.

    Cons

    Some benefit & pay roll backs over the last few years. 3 shift rotation on a weekly basis. Supervisors don't always follow up issues discussed at team meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees, they make the products.

    ZF TRW2012-07-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "John Plant needs to wake up before it's too late!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine/Assembly Technician in Saint Catharines, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW

    Pros

    It's close to home for me.

    Cons

    Management has it's collective head up it's ass.

    Advice to Management

    If TRW expects floor empoyee's and salaried to make concessions then John Plant should seriously consider relinquishing about 95% of his grotesque $19 Million dollar "compensation package".

    ZF TRW2009-01-04
Found 548 reviews