ZF TRW Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ZF TRW Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 539 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Franz Kleiner
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment that still celebrated - 'take your child days' with zest while I was working there(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, lot to learn(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management are nice but some people are put in the wrong position(in 16 reviews)

  • "I did not experience any downsides at ZF(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Benchmark (Kelsey Hayes)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ZF TRW

    Pros

    Good place to work for and get promoted.Friendly staff to work with on both sides of the fence! Salary amazing! Miss everyone...

    Cons

    I would simply say that no organisation is perfect, but ZF TRW can do more to promote internal talent more often than the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Change is good and good people in your organization will only make you stronger!

    ZF TRW2016-12-23
  2. "Electrician ZF/TRW Automotive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time

    Pros

    Not bad money Benefits Co-workers lots of control wiring

    Cons

    Disorganized Very hot/dirty No room for employee prosperity

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond whats in front of you, trust the staff you hired to give solid advice within their designated field.

    ZF TRW2017-08-15
  3. "Overall a very good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW part-time

    Pros

    * Good Pay * Optimistic environment

    Cons

    * More freedom to employees.

    ZF TRW2017-07-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "TRW is a poor company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Midland, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW

    Pros

    Pay was at or slightly above industry standards.

    Cons

    Poor communication. Excessive work hour demands, working 80 hours per week at times. Seemed like the more you did, the more they expected. Poor morale within the company. Not a good place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Improve on communication with employees. Work on improving employee morale. A happy employee is a productive employee.

    ZF TRW2015-01-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fairly positive. I like my current Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at ZF TRW

      Pros

      Flexible work environment. We can set our own course mostly.

      Cons

      Not many perks anymore. No pention

      Advice to Management

      Restore pention

      ZF TRW2014-08-21
    • "Distant Management, Race to the bottom"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assembler in Windsor, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Unionized location, good people to work beside

      Cons

      Management is out of touch, focus on quantity over quality

      Advice to Management

      Start focusing on quality so that long term relationships can be maintained with suppliers. Start treating your employees like they matter and your attendance issue might dissapear.

      ZF TRW2014-04-29
    • "Machining & Assembly....above & beyond the call of duty!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production Associate in Tillsonburg, ON
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Clean. A lot of hands on minor maintenance & adjustments. Can learn a lot about quality. Promotes from within. Good team enviroments. Voluntary overtime.

      Cons

      Some benefit & pay roll backs over the last few years. 3 shift rotation on a weekly basis. Supervisors don't always follow up issues discussed at team meetings.

      Advice to Management

      Take care of your employees, they make the products.

      ZF TRW2012-07-16
    • Helpful (3)

      "John Plant needs to wake up before it's too late!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Machine/Assembly Technician in Saint Catharines, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at ZF TRW

      Pros

      It's close to home for me.

      Cons

      Management has it's collective head up it's ass.

      Advice to Management

      If TRW expects floor empoyee's and salaried to make concessions then John Plant should seriously consider relinquishing about 95% of his grotesque $19 Million dollar "compensation package".

      ZF TRW2009-01-04
    • "Bad organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Planner in Timişoara
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at ZF TRW full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good data systems and procedures.

      Cons

      Chaotic management, bad communication, lack of motivation

      Advice to Management

      Improve communication and motivation.

      ZF TRW2019-06-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Paralegal in Livonia, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The staff and people in Livonia are great to work with

      Cons

      The pressure from Friedrichshafen can be unbearable

      Advice to Management

      Communication is key

      ZF TRW2019-05-20
    Found 539 reviews