ZF TRW Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ZF TRW Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Franz Kleiner
18 Ratings
  1. "GREAT AUTOMOTIVE COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with incentives and support for professional and technical growth

    Cons

    Hardly any cons were noticed whilst working there.

    ZF TRW2019-06-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good employer, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Calibration Engineer in Livonia, MI

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job responsibilities will challenge you and advance your technical abilities. Pays pretty well. Prepares you to find your next job.

    Cons

    Management is lacking. Training is minimal / non-existent. Management has very little idea of what goes on at lower level and makes decisions based on very little actual knowledge. Opportunity for advancement is poor. Lots of gossip and negative talk about co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to add checks and balances to management structure.

    ZF TRW2019-05-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience in ZF TRW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Hardware Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an experience in the UK. Good technical environment. Challenging environment. Good benefits compared to other companies in the same industry. Good work life balance. Good location.

    Cons

    The working environment was very dated. Old building, poor temperature regulation for an office environment.

    ZF TRW2019-01-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Shirley, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, lot to learn. Good stepping stone for post graduates.

    Cons

    Constantly fire fighting; no resource for innovation. Not very competitive pay.

    ZF TRW2018-11-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Mechanical design and Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Solihull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working on different projects with Tier 1 and Niche Automotive customers

    Cons

    Low pay, lack of proper project management

    ZF TRW2018-10-30
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Materials Engineer in Livonia, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at ZF TRW, great environment and helpful organization.

    Cons

    I did not experience any downsides at ZF.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the same management and give students more opportunities for intern

    ZF TRW2018-07-31
  7. "Review of ZF / TRW as an employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cirencester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good cooperation / team spirit

    Cons

    Continual timescale pressure, requirement creep / change

    ZF TRW2018-05-07
  8. "Secure, comfortable job without opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Engineer in Washington Township, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Consistent. Comfortable. Provided a good start to my career and gave me plenty of opportunities to learn the automotive industry. Overall positive work atmosphere and pleasant people to work with.

    Cons

    Often tedious work lacking in challenge. No clear career path, regardless of ability.

    Advice to Management

    Identify employees with good potential, and treat them like you want them to stay.

    ZF TRW2018-03-12
  9. "Experience in ZF TRW Reynosa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Reynosa, Tamaulipas
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, highly equipped with latest technology. Extensive department over reach.

    Cons

    Not enough communication between departments. High rate production and tight dead lines. Not enough technical support.

    Advice to Management

    Allow Engineers to become further involved in projects. Provide specific technical support to engineers.

    ZF TRW2017-12-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Software Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Farmington Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, good environment, signing bonus

    Cons

    was not paid attention to, had to beg for work, work often not very relevent to my studies

    Advice to Management

    involve interns in real projects, not just dummy work.

    ZF TRW2017-11-02
Found 113 reviews