ZF TRW Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ZF TRW Engineer Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
ZF TRW CEO Dr. Franz Kleiner (no image)
Dr. Franz Kleiner
21 Ratings
  1. "GREAT AUTOMOTIVE COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with incentives and support for professional and technical growth

    Cons

    Hardly any cons were noticed whilst working there.

    ZF TRW2019-06-22
  2. "Good place to work depending on job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Engineering Co-Op 

    I worked at ZF TRW

    Pros

    I learned a lot there and the work was usually interesting. Most of the people I worked with were great and happy to teach what they knew.

    Cons

    Some systems used were not user friendly and a lot of bandaid fixes.

    ZF TRW2019-09-19
  3. "TRW Internship Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Product Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast working cadence, friendly working environment.

    Cons

    Organization is kind of loose.

    ZF TRW2019-08-13
  4. "Great People but Hectic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Livonia, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, flexibility and co-workers understanding.

    Cons

    High stress due to many launches and production hell.

    ZF TRW2019-07-31
  5. "6/10 I would say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Roman
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You have a "job".You have a salary. That's all to it.

    Cons

    1.Manipulativeand agressive. top management . 2.Slow salary increase 5-10% /year 3.You will be trained to do 1 thing.You will have a colegue who will also do the same thing-as a backup if one of you will leave. You have to do everything the boss asks you to do.Some are really emotional imature. 4.A lot of envy and stress for nothing. A constant fear that somebody will "steal" you job. No "good will" whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    None. The smart ones are there to send the stupid ones to keep hysteria and stress to hard work to the ones with tasks. Every departament tries to skip workand overload the other. Plain stupid and mean.

    ZF TRW2019-07-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good employer, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Calibration Engineer in Livonia, MI

    I worked at ZF TRW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job responsibilities will challenge you and advance your technical abilities. Pays pretty well. Prepares you to find your next job.

    Cons

    Management is lacking. Training is minimal / non-existent. Management has very little idea of what goes on at lower level and makes decisions based on very little actual knowledge. Opportunity for advancement is poor. Lots of gossip and negative talk about co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to add checks and balances to management structure.

    ZF TRW2019-05-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience in ZF TRW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Hardware Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an experience in the UK. Good technical environment. Challenging environment. Good benefits compared to other companies in the same industry. Good work life balance. Good location.

    Cons

    The working environment was very dated. Old building, poor temperature regulation for an office environment.

    ZF TRW2019-01-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Design Engineer in Shirley, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, lot to learn. Good stepping stone for post graduates.

    Cons

    Constantly fire fighting; no resource for innovation. Not very competitive pay.

    ZF TRW2018-11-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mechanical design and Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Solihull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working on different projects with Tier 1 and Niche Automotive customers

    Cons

    Low pay, lack of proper project management

    ZF TRW2018-10-30
  10. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Materials Engineer in Livonia, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at ZF TRW, great environment and helpful organization.

    Cons

    I did not experience any downsides at ZF.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the same management and give students more opportunities for intern

    ZF TRW2018-07-31
Found 113 reviews