YuJa Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 20 reviews

3.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Sales Engineer

Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

508

180 Comments

Tech

33.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=YuJa~1156840
Join the conversation on
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Honest Feedback/ Save yourself from joining this company

    Oct 1, 2021 - Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a decent product.

    Cons

    I usually would not leave a review, but after the experience, I have had with this company. I wanted to share with future/prospective employees. To echo what has been said in previous reviews, be careful reading some of the older reviews. These are done by the upper-level management to elevate their rating in GlassDoor. The biggest issue at this company is the CBO (Chief Business Officer). He is a notorious micro-manager that wants to be in every part of the company. His constant need to know and have his hands in every aspect of the business makes the work environment very tense/difficult. The work environment is very toxic, with no courtesy towards others. You have to drop whatever you are doing to attend to the CBO's needs. If he feels you are not listening to him or ignoring him he will use shady tactics towards you as a form of revenge. Whether it's not responding to your inquiries, or going out his way to make you feel as you are not important to the company. Even at times making you feel you are not adequate at doing your job. Please keep in mind the main product promotes remote learning for colleges and universities. The fact you have to be in the office 8-5 every day, with no flexibility to work from home. Even during the pandemic, he forced all employees back into the office since the sales number took a dip. The lack of empathy and safety of his employees during COVID demonstrates how he cares more about the company's bottom line. The pay is extremely low compared to the rest of the market they purposely choose individuals who are desperate and have a lack of prior experience. This leads to high attrition rates at this company. 85-90% of the employees hired have left the company during the 6 months to 1-year mark. If you need to leave early for a doctor's appointment by an hour, you will need to use PTO for that one hour even if you are a salaried employee. There is no 401k, equity (stocks), the medical benefit is subpar majority of the cost is send to the employee, and PTO gathers very slowly (less than a day every month). If you ask too many questions, upper management gets frustrated and like others have said this will lead to very aggressive conversations where the entire office can hear. Upper management does not foster an environment of learning but more of why can't you do what we hired you for.  In my opinion, you get what you pay for. This leads to a very toxic work environment and extremely shady business practices towards employees. This is true for all their departments within the company.  When I left this company I was not paid out on my remaining PTO, and have not even bothered to ask since I know it will lead to an issue. Many previous employees have also mentioned that commissions are not paid out even after you leave the company.  My honest feedback, save yourself from joining this company there are so many better companies out there. They do not invest in their employees, they look at you as a means to get what they want to accomplish. If you do not fit their mold, you will quickly feel their wrath and will force you to quit. They will not fire you since this had led the company to be sued plenty of times but will make your life a living hell.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Devious management personnel and non-nutritious work

    Jul 2, 2021 - Software Developer in North York, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Competitive salary. 2. Snacks in the office 3. Work from home during COVID. 4. Relocation Allowance 5. Inpatriate health insurance if needed.

    Cons

    1. Nasty CBO who doesn’t mind embarrassing employees in front of everyone. Hypocritical CEO who plays nice in normal times, but you will know what he is really like when you are not in his best interests. 2. All managerial personnel as a whole are sly and devious. They plot and retaliate against employees, like those who dare to not like the company and give them resignation notice. They would give you a "surprise attack" by asking you to leave immediately, like in 10 minutes, some day after you gave the notice, and you won't even have time to say goodbye to your coworkers before your account is deleted. The conspiracy can be quite sophisticated, something they may have done several times. Everyone in the management level knows about it but no one would tell you until the very last 10 minutes. They would act like, “OK we will discuss your last day and let you know”, and then give you the surprise. The previous day, they would fool you to come to the office the next day (if you are WFH during COVID) using some lies, so you will be able to return the front door key on site before leaving. Otherwise, the off-boarding process would take another day and the surprise attack wouldn’t work. 3. There is an “exit interview” in the off-boarding process, where they ask for reasons for your resignation. Don’t expect them to take your answers sincerely. Instead, they see them as valid reasons to retaliate against you as mentioned above. Be cautious, they also put obstacles in your just requests, like asking for employment documents, after you quit by ignoring your calls and emails. 4. Outdated tech stack: JSP, Servlet, jQuery and Ajax. 5. They don’t even use Slack, Jira or IntelliJ. Instead, they use Google Chat, Pivotal Tracker and Eclipse. I guess that is because they are cheaper, but at the expense of lame UX, which makes developers’ lives harder. 6. Bottom-end second-hand working computers. Most monitors are not 1080P. I even saw some developers use 18-inch screens. 7. Probation period as long as 6 months. No extended health insurance until the 5th month working there. And the coverage is just bottom-end. 8. Developers are treated like tools and aren’t appreciated. Work is repetitive and boring, most of which is fixing tech debts and you cannot learn much. They don’t care at all. You won’t get any feedback about your performance, neither positive or negative, even after you completed a big ticket or came up with a better solution that is not your responsibility at all. 9. Developers are under constant pressure, which is this company’s way to keep these “tools” productive, instead of by lifting their morale. There wouldn’t be anyone saying “you must code faster” to you directly, but they can definitely make you feel it. For example, by assigning you multiple tickets at once, by setting an unrealistic deadline, and by making you report what you accomplished in the past few days in front of everyone twice per week. 10. They don’t invest money or time in employees, who again are just tools in their POV. There are no training programs. When hiring, they don’t consider if your skill set fits the job, but when working if you tell them that you need to spend a few days learning before starting a ticket, you would be in trouble. Tech leads don’t mentor sincerely. They answer no more than you ask and get impatient easily. 11. Don’t expect any family-like or friend-like relationship in this company. The culture in this company is rude and cold. When going through the recruitment process, they act as nice as possible, but that isn’t the reality after you join the company. Most people’s communication styles are blunt, and people rarely use “please” or “could you” or any softeners. This is partly because of the managerial personnel’s characters, partly because, as said above, everyone is under constant pressure, so they don’t have time or patience to type more words. This culture affects people. Those co-op QAs, I believe they are polite students in university, but in this company, they communicate just like anyone else. There are zero team activities for coworkers to know each other, which is imaginable due to that workload. Barely any communication between developers. No discussion about code structure or implementation. In the team’s Google Chat channel, on average there are only 1 – 2 messages about work posted per day (on one dare to post non-work related messages). Even after a few months’ working, there could still be team members who you haven’t ever talked to at all. 12. Due to the lack of discussion, you can imagine how bad the code quality is. Tech leaders are incompetent with making structural decisions. Maybe they don’t have time due to tight deadlines, or simply don’t care. The consequence is plenty of bad designs and tech debts in the codebase. The lack of thorough code review just makes it worse. Only team captains review code, and they have tickets to work on, so the review process is rough. Pull requests are just poured into the staging environment, which, as a result, always contains bugs. Just take a look at their mobile app, you would know which level this company is at. If you work there long enough to get used to it, you would become a worse developer, not a better one.

    8 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't care about employees

    Mar 15, 2021 - Software Developer and Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -small team lets you do a lot of different tasks

    Cons

    -force employees to go to work for no reason and don't require masks to be worn -lack of management -salary range varies wildly since they don't have standard salaries

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Startup Culture

    Jun 12, 2018 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only thing that I can think of is that it has a quiet office -

    Cons

    - no team structure - highly rely on co-ops - no software development process - no product manager - no flexibility

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    The Real YuJa

    Aug 26, 2021 - BDR Representative in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The technology of Yuja has potential and room for growth.

    Cons

    If you love to be micromanaged this is the right place for you. The director is constantly on your back and breathing down your neck. No real support is given to the staff and it's more of a cold call floor than a sales floor. When I joined there were about 6 other interns, who have all left the company. There were various reasons why people left, better jobs, low pay, no growth, but the one constant that I always heard was in regards to a toxic work environment. Upper management would spread rumors or gossip about other people in the office. It is not a good sign when they are talking bad about a fellow co-worker. They whisper but it's a small office so you can hear everything. Another thing to note is that rules don't apply to upper management. They can do whatever they please, but if you do the same, you will be ridiculed in front of the entire office. This review probably makes it sound like everyone at YuJa is bad, but that's not true. There are people who put in their time to work with you and help you succeed. I won't name the specific person, but toxicity really only stems from one person. The worst part is that they are clueless to why people are leaving. It simply comes down to these 3 factors. 1. Toxic Management 2. Low Pay (Way below the Average, just look on Glassdoor) 3. No real office perks. They have a great location, but other than that, nothing special about the office. Lastly, I wanted to point out that the other reviews on Glassdoor, at least the ones from the San jose office, look to be fake. The reviews all sound the same and are written on a similar matter. Not sure if it's fake, but this was something that I observed. My hope in writing this review is that this serves as a wake up call for management. Hopefully they can learn from this review and implement change. The tech is promising, but the management isn't.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice people but sales was not for me

    Apr 25, 2021 - Business Development Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I liked the people. I think they really tried to help me but I wasn't into selling. There is a lot going on with video and education so I think if I really wanted to do sales, it would have been great for me to stay with YuJa.

    Cons

    I think if there was more structure to the development of staff it would be better. My role was fairly new so things like training, career progression could have been better defined. If these things were more defined it would probably inspire more people to join and stay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Company Overall

    Apr 25, 2021 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really liked my co-workers. We had a lot of fun and it was nice to be around people I enjoyed. The environment was flexible and I felt like they gave me room to grow.

    Cons

    Too many projects. Focusing more on my sales would have been better. No contests or things like that to motivate the Staff.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Decent Product, Poor Management

    Apr 24, 2021 - Business Development Representative in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The overall product has growth potential, and the startup environment lets you wear multiple hats (which can be a con depending on who you ask). YuJa's focus on its clients and customers is to be commended but is ultimately held short by YuJa's lack of focus for its employees. My favorite part of working at YuJa was the people (with the exception of dealing with upper management). Coworkers were very supportive, friendly, and easy to get along with. Despite the office having only a handful of snacks, there are decent food options around the area.

    Cons

    Unsupporting, uninspiring upper management that micromanages employees. YuJa's toxic work environment leads to a revolving door of employees. As soon as you step into the office, you can almost feel the tension. It doesn't feel welcoming and the atmosphere is so bland. Given the small and quiet office space, you'll even often hear employees being criticized out in the open. And with the exception of some snacks, there are little-to-no office perks. Pay/benefits are not close to competitive. FYI: If you want to park close to the office building, you were required to pay monthly, so some people even had to find free parking a mile from the building. Culture is bland. Aside from a few company events, why not celebrate a product launch or have more team lunches? The way management dealt with COVID was unacceptable. Employees were forced to go back into the office in the middle of downtown San Jose and the procedures, or lack thereof, made me feel unsafe. This is a company that has all of the growing pains of a startup, but few of the actual perks.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great base bad commission structure

    Apr 14, 2021 - Account Executive in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good mentorship and career development.

    Cons

    Training, commission, and communication is bad. Growing pains of a start-up

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Significant Growth Opportunities in a Fun Working Environment

    Mar 27, 2021 - Director of Sales in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growth, Pay, Fun and Diverse Culture

    Cons

    Growing so fast that you have to be able to innovate to keep up

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with YuJa Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at YuJa? Share Your Experiences

or