York University Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

York University Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
York University President Mamdouh Shoukri
Mamdouh Shoukri
166 Ratings
Pros
  • "Co-workers and management are friendly, great work environment(in 53 reviews)

  • "Great benefits that cover extensive medical, dental, paramedical service however vision benefits aren't great(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Likely chance of strike during bargaining years(in 25 reviews)

  • "Labor relation concerns between the unionized employees and the employer arise every three to four years(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at York University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Satisfying benefits from TA (CUPE)

    Cons

    Rigid management policy and procedure

    York University2020-03-18
  2. "good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 

    I worked at York University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good working environment and work life balance

    Cons

    no challenging work and no learning opportunity

    York University2020-03-29
  3. "Great student position opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CCTV Operator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at York University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, competitive wage for part time work with a fun at atmosphere

    Cons

    Slow implementation of new systems, regular strikes making campus a potentially volatile place.

    York University2020-04-08
  4. "University in the process of transformation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pension, good benefits, job security, leadership team is striving to enhance the employee & education experience

    Cons

    Limited career development / mobility

    Continue reading
    York University2020-04-07
  5. "Wonderful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PASS Leader in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at York University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independent planning for sessions. Wonderful co-workers-Pleasant and rewording experience helping students. Pay on time, without any problems.

    Cons

    Time for sessions might not be that flexible. You can work and take classes at university without problem, but sometimes, sessions might be at times that are not your first preference. If you stay at uni or are there most of the time, then this should not be a probmen

    Continue reading
    York University2020-03-12
  6. "10/10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Toronto, ON

    I worked at York University full-time

    Pros

    People were great and friendly

    Cons

    Stability of income and job duties

    York University2020-03-09
  7. "Good experience overall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York University full-time

    Pros

    Quality education at few segments.

    Cons

    Poor infrastructure on some points.

    York University2020-03-05
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Annual Fund Ambassador 

    I worked at York University part-time

    Pros

    Hours were good and it was right on campus, so convenient. Lots of help from higher ups and coworkers were very nice.

    Cons

    Can be really tough at times. You're calling people who've already paid thousands to York to pay even more at times they don't want to talk. But it gets better.

    York University2020-03-06
  9. "Enjoyed working at the University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON

    I worked at York University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed the type of work

    Cons

    I always enjoyed my work

    York University2020-03-04
  10. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate 

    I have been working at York University full-time

    Pros

    York University is a good place to work with.

    Cons

    Academic jobs pay less salary than other jobs

    York University2020-03-04
Found 521 reviews