York University Research Assistant Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
91%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
York University President Mamdouh Shoukri
Mamdouh Shoukri
12 Ratings
  1. "Working Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at York University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tremendous lab amenities, Great Supervision, Easy Interdepartmental Collaboration, Adequate Funding

    Cons

    Less Industry Collaboration, Less Carrier Oriented Workshops

    Continue reading
    York University2020-05-29
  2. "Lab"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at York University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    supportive, helpful and good environment

    Cons

    too much work in limited time

    York University2020-04-25
  3. "RAY (Research At York)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Research Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very good program to employ students in various fields that gives very valuable experience as well as helping to offset student debts.

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to find available positions in their online system.

    York University2020-01-27
  4. "Good Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Toronto, ON

    I worked at York University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It allows me to expose to a variety of research topics

    Cons

    Could offer more mentorship toward the project

    York University2019-12-03
  5. "Loved working here"

    5.0
    Current Freelancer - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at York University for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked as a freelance engineer to support professors - had a blast!

    Cons

    No cons in my opinion

    York University2019-11-13
  6. "Great People"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at York University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Professors are generally easy to approach - Flexible work environment - Lots of experiences if you look

    Cons

    - locale is improving with subway access but not integrated into the city like a few other campuses

    York University2019-11-12
  7. "Best Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at York University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clean working condition, Flexible, Respectful

    Cons

    Parking is difficult some time

    Continue reading
    York University2019-11-06
  8. "Great Faculty, mediocre bureaucracy"

    3.0
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at York University part-time

    Pros

    Awesome professor, gained a ton of valuable experience. Made a nice amount of money as a student in a pretty interesting position. Flexible working hours a huge plus.

    Cons

    The administrative assistants do their best to keep things running smoothly but as both an employee and a student I experienced some frustrations with the inefficiency of the bureaucratic system.

    York University2019-10-10
  9. "Graduate Student in Life Sciences"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at York University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of independence, flexible working hours, excellent health insurance

    Cons

    STRIKES, variable pay depending on TA ships, very slow HR department.

    York University2019-09-10
  10. "Unethical Research and Poor Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at York University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wide variety of research disciplines; research links to other institutions (UofT, UHN, etc); comprehensive health care benefits package.

    Cons

    Many high profile researchers are working their students too hard and profiting off of their inexperience and fear of speaking out. Research methods in some labs are done poorly, with statistical analysis being incredibly unethical and aimed to an outcome. Culture seems to be that management are aware of this, but willfully blind unless it actively becomes an issue. They would rather protect their research faculty than admit wrongdoing or risk “upsetting” the toxic culture of acceptance that is being upheld there. What an eye opening, disheartening experience for me as an idealistic grad student.

    Continue reading
    York University2019-09-10
Found 50 reviews