Yodle Employee Reviews about "cold call"

Updated Sep 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 615 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Yodle Chairman, CEO and President  David L. Brown
David L. Brown
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, free lunch, great commission structure(in 112 reviews)

  • "Really relaxed work environment where everyone cares about the product and you're given a lot of creative freedom(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growth opportunities are less, Low base salary, long work hours, poor retention policy(in 33 reviews)

  • "Overcoming objections, company cold-call reputations, etc(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "cold call"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      My experience at Yodle

      Sep 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Yodle is a great company overall. They provide in depth training, along with a work culture that is always fun and engaging.

      Cons

      The learning curve can be difficult for some employees. Overcoming objections, company cold-call reputations, etc...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Hard work pays if you work hard

      May 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere Only for the people with a true work ethic Loved the opportunities to give back to the community Have seen several examples of promoting from within Happy to come to work everyday...really

      Cons

      Cold calls are tough - not for everyone Leads could be better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Just read the script

      Nov 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A very "millennial-type" atmosphere. Hang out spots that have ping pong and air hockey. A kitchen area with free food, drinks, and coffee. Food trucks everyday. They do more than other companies in terms of employee training. If you can read a script without sounding like reading a script, that's how you ace the interview.

      Cons

      You literally read a script for everything. Every potential customer response has a script, which must be memorized. The product they sell isn't a scam but they're not completely honest with customers regarding their product. And I did feel their was a moral conflict of interest that sometimes came up. Every call is a cold-call. The product is a tough sell and you can expect to make 300-400 calls, per day, in your first 30 days. As you get better, you'll probably be making 200 calls per day with 60 days. Some of the elite salespeople only make 50 calls per day or less, but those are a select few. Most are doing 200+ calls per day with many hang ups, dead numbers, and annoyed small business owners.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Inside Sales

      Nov 23, 2016 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can be a fun-environment, good people, free lunch

      Cons

      Super high turn-over rate, low base, hundreds of cold calls a day to mostly disgruntled prospects

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid

      Aug 20, 2016 - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you meet here will become your friends. Through training and the 9 months I worked there, I got to know many people very well and became very good friends with many of them. Happy hours on Friday, and plenty of (almost too many) contests going on every week to incentivize performance. I will say that my manager genuinely cared about seeing me succeed, however a lot of times his methods were not the best.

      Cons

      They will tell you during your interview that you can expect to make between $60-$80k. What I saw personally was that after 6 months of working there, I was tracking towards around $30k. Technically $60k was achievable, however that is not something that I witnessed on my team of 15 or so, even the ones who had been there over a year. It's simply a figure that is only achievable for 1% of people who go through this cold calling factory. Cold calling is BRUTAL. You will make between 80-120+ cold calls per day, and if you're on your game then you can set around 2 demos per day. By your third month in, you will hate it. By month 9, I was making more dials than ever before and yet was making less demo sets. It's all about the numbers here (according to management), and if you can't handle being micromanaged and having every tiny detail scrutinized, then this is not the place for you. The music, at least in my bay, was awful. Every single day was a mix of rap and house music, and I heard just about the same songs every day. It's usually very loud as well to get you "amped" up to make more dials. You will see an insanely high turnover rate. I had a training class of around 15, and by month 3 maybe 5 of us were still there. By the time I left at month 9, only 2 of us remained. It's that way and worse across the sales department, and that is no exaggeration. This isn't a sales job. You will learn sales techniques, but they generally only apply to phone sales. You will be reading from a script, and your entire cubicle will be covered in scripts, rebuttals and other various papers. You will get burned out, everybody feels it at some point. Finally, I got tired of hearing motivational speeches every day. There's only so many sports-themed videos I can watch about Michael Jordan not making his high school basketball team that I can handle.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Sales Rep

      Jun 16, 2016 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well structured training and excellent trainers. Team environment makes it competitive and supportive at the same time. Thorough sales scripts and coaching on delivery. A pretty cool product. They are upfront about how challenging the job is.

      Cons

      The soul-sucking knowledge that you are doing one of the most hated jobs in America- do you like getting cold-calls? I didn't think so. The fact that you are starting every conversation trying to mislead someone. The incredibly high turnover and extremely low average income that is glossed over by the company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales

      Mar 21, 2016 - Sales Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun place, met awesome people, fun environment, motivation and positive

      Cons

      Cold call sales, hard sells, poor management, bad communication, fake people, very very hard job, and tired all the time

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales Rep

      Feb 2, 2016 - Sales Representative in Georgetown, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company really does a lot to make the environment more enjoyable. They give out lots of perks & are always giving you the opportunity to make more money or at least win some free extras.

      Cons

      Cold-call sales is the worst! If you like to be lied to, yelled at, blown off or cussed out on a daily basis then this is the job for you or if you really like confrontation. I don't, so I was miserable. This isn't really a reflection on the company but on the job itself.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Chuck-E-Cheese Atmosphere, Script Micro Managed

      Jan 3, 2016 - Arizona in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High commission plan and cool people

      Cons

      $9.50 hr if you don't sell. 150-220 cold calls a day. Total grind atmosphere, Micro Management with their script..

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Environment, Hard Job

      Oct 22, 2015 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment, the managers and the staff will do anything to help you succeed. The job comes with a lot of perks, like free lunches and happy hours, and the energy is great. They lay out everything for you, so if you can follow directions, you can succeed there. The money is awesome (or it can be), and the benefits are better than any job I've ever had.

      Cons

      It's a cold call job. For creative minds it will get repetitive and boring, and the days just start to feel like they're all the same. They're also slaves to statistics, so if you don't put up numbers, they will get rid of you.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Work at Yodle? Share Your Experiences

    Yodle logo
    or