Yodle National Account Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6 of over 615 reviews

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
Yodle Chairman, CEO and President  David L. Brown
David L. Brown
0 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

1y

a 

Consultant

What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

3,003

251 Comments

Advertising

97.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/advertising/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Yodle~232202
Join the conversation on
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    national account manager

    Aug 12, 2016 - National Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    to gain experience in internet marketing mainly SEO and PPC

    Cons

    Temporary position awaiting re location back to San Antonio

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Churn and burn

    Dec 30, 2015 - National Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great oppty for a young college grad to get their feet wet

    Cons

    Not for the senior rep that has extensive sales experience. Their small core of enterprise/national reps have been there forever and they have all of the good accounts and prospects locked down. Unless of course you're married to the founders sister (which is true in one reps case) then you're in

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Mission impossible

    May 9, 2011 - National Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong value prop for manufacturers and multi location businesses. Selling for an industry leader makes opening doors a little easier than if you're selling for ABC agency.

    Cons

    They have no stomach for a long strategic sales cycle. National accounts is national in name only. Don't expect a national training program or a strategic selling process. Quarterly quota for national but measured daily like their local reps. For quick hit revenue they expect their national reps to make 50 + local calls per day and they count your minutes. You can be on the phone for 500 minutes a day but if you're not calling the right prospect how affective will you be? I like to work smarter not harder. They measure the wrong metrics. Why pay a senior sales person a $75k base to call local plumbers? Outsource it to India for $1.00 a day. Anyone can smile and dial, that's not what I was sold when I signed on. Don't expect a formal sales process with strategic account reviews. They throw as much against the wall as they can to see what sticks. They also think you can hard close billion dollar national companies to speed up the sales cycle by calling them every day of the week or offering them a price discount. Some of their managers have a yellow pages sales background. One day close, slam em! This just in, national enterprise sales doesn't work like that bub. We held a web demo for a national billion dollar insurance company in Dec 2010. Their legal team approved the 3 month test and RFP just last week (4 months later). How do you speed that up? You can't but they don't understand that. Reps had national accounts in their names for more than a year calling on the same contact over and over again month after month making no progress yet this was not managed. I had zero Top 10 or Top 20 account reviews with management. They just don't manage at that level. They manage by talk time:) Most national reps call gatekeepers and take no from them. They don't know how to hunt. The reps that succeed go to trade shows for leads and get lay ups from senior management. Hard work does NOT pay off at Yodle. If you're a good self promoter Yodle is the place for you. The market is saturated and the bad online reviews scare prospects away. I landed a multi-billion dollar manufacturer that sent over the signed agreement in March of 2011. One of their dealers read some bad reviews and shared the info with the manufacturer. What was an excited manufacturer suddenly became a cautious one. This slowed down implementation, their desire to back the project with funds and a full rollout turned into a test to prove Yodle's value. Some Yodle reps use Salesforce and some don't. Management doesn't use it? It's the wild wild west. Reps can poach your prospects from under your nose so you need to print your list and check it weekly. I never understood why they give reps user authority to change account ownership? I had to print my list weekly then double check it for poached prospects.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great opportunity for upward mobility

    Jan 26, 2010 - National Account Director in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is unlimited potential at Yodle for career advancement. Work hard and prove yourself and you will be rewarded. As Yodle continues to grow and implement new products and services for our clients, the opportunities for advancement become endless.

    Cons

    No cons for me. You must work hard and put the time in. If you are not willing to do that, then Yodle isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great job, great pay for great work...Slackers need not apply!

    Jan 26, 2010 - National Sales in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is great to be a part of a company that is leading the way for this type of advertising. There are hundreds of options for businesses out there and bottom line is that Yodle delivers. Yes we have improvements and room to grow, just like any other company. But when you have the tracking, the customer support, and the growth trajectory that Yodle has, it's unbeatable. Another advantage is that you can write your own check...You get paid for the revenue you bring, and you don't get paid if you don't. simple... It is hard work, a lot of rejection, and a lot to know. But at the end of the day it is sales. hardcore sales. Go big or go home!

    Cons

    As with any sales job, there are ups and downs, that Yodle cannot be held responsible for that. Would like to see more accountability for reps not performing. No real cons with the role though. I enjoy coming to work every day, I enjoy the team, I respect management immensely, and love the leadership! If you do not like to cold call at all, look elsewhere. You need to live and love cold calling!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work and grow professionally!

    Jan 26, 2010 - National Account Director in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    On a day to day basis you are surrounded by people that encourage professional development and not only is your professional growth encouraged, it is also facilitated by management. Aside from a career in an increasingly relevant industry , you are also putting yourself in a position to make a lot money. The culture, growth, and real opportunity to make a huge paycheck each month make Yodle a great place for motivated people looking to take the next step professionally.

    Cons

    I would not say that there are significant downsides. However, if you are someone that is dependent upon others in order to hit goals and perform at a high level, I would not recommended Yodle to you. A strong work ethic is absolutely essential in order to achieve success.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 6 of 6 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Yodle Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yodle? Share Your Experiences

or