Yelp "cold calls" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Yelp Employee Reviews about "cold calls"

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1,393 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer a very good benefits program as well as free food and drink everyday(in 240 reviews)

  • "Fully stocked kitchen (though don't eat it everyday, or else you'll gain the Yelp 15)(in 174 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only downside in my opinion is that we are not able to interact with more business owners face to face(in 221 reviews)

  • "Sales are drive through cold calls, you'll need to have a growth mindset(in 76 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cold calls"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Professional Cold Caller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    8-5 Great for young college graduates

    Cons

    100 plus cold calls a day Managers on 2 way silently coaching pitches

    Yelp2020-03-13

    Yelp Response

    March 20, 2020

    We appreciate your feedback on your experience. We agree that the AE role can be very challenging, which is an expectation we go to great lengths to set during the interview process. We want to make sure that everyone who comes onboard has a solid understanding of the highs and lows a career in sales can bring. We understand that the role may not be for everyone, and we're happy to have had you on our team. Best of luck in the next step of your career!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "1st Full Time Job...I Hated It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, 11 kitchens with snacks and drinks, 100% paid benefits, team outings.

    Cons

    Where do I even begin? During my time here at Yelp, managers religilously shoved a corny sales script down our throats. They were so adamant that the script would be the key to our success. WRONG! The script did me no good when I would get cussed out by angry business owners because I am the 5th person from Yelp to call them. In training, managers will tell you that you cannot get fired for job performance. They told us that they know this job is hard but as long as we're trying and making an effort, you will be ok no matter what. Their exact words were " It's not a matter of IF you become a good salesperson but WHEN." That was a whole lie..I got fired for my performance but I'll get to that later. Managers are really big on metrics. Daily metrics were 75-80 COLD CALLS a day, send 15 emails, have 2.25 hours of talk time, pitch 2 times and close one deal. If you were falling short on any of your metrics, be prepared to have a micro-managing manager down your back. They'll really be on your case if you are not pitching or closing deals. Managers need to understand that sales is like a rollercoaster. You are going to have good and bad days but for some reason, they can't comprehend that logic. The office vibe can be fake at times. Fake success stories , fake smiles, fake energy, just FAKE! Everyone is miserable and burnt out. I've seen people cry in bathrooms because the job got tough. If you do not have thick skin going into this job, you better develop it because you are constantly being tested. As I mentioned earlier, managers said you can't fired for job performance. You are more likely to get fired for breaking one of Yelps CORE values rather than performance. Yelp must've had a bad Q3 because after they told us how company revenue declined, that's when upper management (Directors, Vice President , etc..) started putting employees on performance plans. If you were not hitting quota ($20K/month), then you were on the plan. They give you 2-3 months to course correct, otherwise, you're fired! They use scare tactics to motivate you to do better but it only diminishes your self esteem. You're being pulled into 3-4 one on one meetings throughout the day. How do you expect me to improve if I'm in meetings 24/7. Word of advice, if you like a cult like culture, micro management, and getting cussed out, then be my guest, Yelp is your oyster. I am so glad I got out of there.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-10-19

    Yelp Response

    October 22, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It’s never good to hear that an employee’s experience didn’t stack up to their expectations, and it is certainly never our intent for you to hate where you work. The Account Executive role is a challenging one, and we go to great lengths during our interviews to set expectations about the challenges in the role as well as the daily metrics that AE’s are accountable for. When an employee is struggling to meet these metrics, our managers will take a hands-on approach, and to some this may feel like micro-management. This sometimes includes things like barging calls to assist with closing deals or managers having team check-ins multiple times per day to ensure everyone is on-track to achieve their goals. Of course, this isn’t for everyone, but it is designed to help as many AE's succeed . In regard to the vibe in the office, our culture is the driving force behind the success of our employees and ultimately, the success of business owners that we support on a daily basis. We celebrate even the smallest wins, and sometimes that looks like cheering on your co-workers through the tough calls, or celebrating a closed deal by hitting the gong while your team and office cheers you on. While this environment is exciting and inspiring for most, we understand it's not for everyone. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us. We take your opinion very seriously and it's what helps us make improvements at Yelp to make this a better environment for all current and future employees. Thank you for your time with us and we wish you the best in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  3. "Cold calls on cold calls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Executive 

    I worked at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture, really clear growth potential, good feedback from managers, good offices.

    Cons

    Hard to move out of sales. Easy to move up, but you'll almost always still be in sales. The job involves 8 hours of cold calls per day. It's emotionally draining.

    Yelp2019-09-28

    Yelp Response

    October 11, 2019

    Love to hear that you enjoyed the awesome culture and clear growth potential at Yelp! We have many other amazing opportunities at Yelp outside of our sales department, and encourage our future candidates to take a look at our wide variety of roles in many core areas of our business. Thanks for your service at Yelp, we wish you the best of luck in the next step of your career!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No Regrets, Just Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Elite Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -meet some of your best friends here -build a back bone (lots of rejections from both business owners and managers/directors) -fun environment -good managers sometimes, luckily i had the best managers while there for the most part but some managers aren't that great so luck of the draw -barista, fully stocked kitchen, stocks (i don't know if they still offer), 401k, health, gym reimbursement,

    Cons

    -80+ cold calls a day -territories do matter so pray you get a good one -if you don't drink the kool aid you will be negative and not make it, so drink it in the beginning -you don't need to stay here longer than a year, get your 6-12 month experience and go somewhere else before you lose sight of the real world and think this is it -college vibes if you are not into happy hours, the gem saloon, and office drama then this is not the place for you -retention (if your accounts don't keep paying then it is deducted from your commission) -figure out your path early on or else you will be endlessly dialing until indeed, yext, or some other sales place taps your shoulder and offers you the same job for 5-10k more -strict with time - you can't really just leave whenever to get a coffee outside.. 8:30-5:30 lunch from 12-1

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-07-22
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Everything was great except the job itself..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people. I met some of my closest friends at yelp and grew a lot as a person. It also teaches you to have thick skin which is good because once you leave, you won’t take the amount of crap that you do at yelp. You become immune to it.

    Cons

    -the job itself is the worst out there. Minimum 80 cold calls everyday combined with the constant nagging of managers getting you to hit metrics and why you didn’t get a deal in that day. -by the time I left, I felt as if I was in middle school. Having to be at your desk at 8:30am, make dials at 9am, take lunch at 12pm, back at your desk at 1pm, leave at 5:30pm with NO EXCEPTIONS AT ALL. It’s like being locked in a prison, no one wants to call business owners at 5pm on a Friday nor do they want to talk to us!! Yelp is shooting themselves in the foot by having everyone on a tight leash. -pay is awful for the work that you put in. Commission structure is geared towards people that close 30-40k on a monthly basis, which is very very difficult. -Yelp kool-aid is real. Once you leave, you see how caught up in it people are and don’t realize they’re in a black hole especially with Yelp’s business outlook. -Yelp works to please their investors so they don’t care about us on the forefront of things. The stock sucks which means even investors are losing hope. It’s a company that will probably be bought out in 5 years.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-07-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great culture but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you luck out with a great team, it'll make the job more enjoyable. Good base salary, great culture, free lunch/drinks, happy hour after work. Merchandise Mart is amazing

    Cons

    40 cold calls before lunch, 40 cold calls after lunch. very repetitive lifestyle, face a lot of rejection throughout the day. having to sell to previous advertisers who weren't happy with results/business owners who have already been called many times. my manager really micro managed our team. Most people are looking for new jobs after 6 months

    Yelp2019-07-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company, terrible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    One of the most beautiful buildings in NYC Free breakfast, lunch, and snacks On-staff baristas Kegs in the office Young fun people

    Cons

    80 cold calls a day and literally nothing else

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-07-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Medical benefits, 3 month training was helpful.

    Cons

    The amount of cold calls you make and time you are on the phone is closely monitored, be prepared to have this picked apart every single day. Hounding business owners, calling them every other day to sell them an expensive product from a platform they usually hate. Negative aspects of the job art not explained by management/directors (clawbacks, retention etc.) Nothing is ever good enough, if you close a deal you better close 2 tomorrow. Otherwise you will be receiving a passive aggressive talk from your manager. This is weakly disguises as “wanting the best for you,” when in actuality, it is hoping you close more deals because managers make commission off of your commission. Days are grueling, cold calling business owners, usually being hung up on or yelled at.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-07-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Ability to build a career -Care about their employees -Great team of humans

    Cons

    -Sales are drive through cold calls, you'll need to have a growth mindset -Could be more transparent with their employees

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-05-28
  10. Helpful (24)

    "The Account Executive Perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hello. I am an Account Executive for Yelp. Yelp did a fantastic job explaining the job description. They were very transparent regarding the day to day tasks and objectives of the position. Everyone was very nice and supportive! Management cares about their employees and they make you feel important. You also never have to worry about breakfast or lunch with a fully stocked kitchen.

    Cons

    Working as an Account Executive for Yelp was the worst job I ever had. Here is why this job is so terrible: 1. 80 - 100 Cold calls per day, it sounds easy but its not. 2. The local businesses are tired of Yelp sales calls and they just don't want to talk. 3. You know the business owner that yelled at you two days ago and told you ever to call back? You'll be calling them in another two days. 4. Be prepared to be micromanaged on almost every call, these managers will make you sell their product to anyone that can breath. 5. The work is extremely unfulfilling and at the end of the day those success stories are a small fraction of the business owners using Yelp. 6. Yelps sales tactics are aggressive and pushy so be prepared to burn really good leads with these sales tactics. 7. Everyone is drinking the Yelp Kool-aid and if you speak out you will be seen as negative.

    Continue reading
    Yelp2019-05-07
Found 76 reviews
</>Embed