Yell "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Yell Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Targets are tough but can be achieved with long hours(in 19 reviews)

  • "There are no cons I can see with yell(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Poor, high pressure from management very little support. Also ask new starts to put positive review on here week1."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Manager in Field, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary good earning potential however the money is not worth the long hours and pressure better jobs with good work life balance....

    Cons

    High pressure all the time, long hours never able to switch off. Lots of customer complaints which are left to you to pick up even if not you who caused the complaint and still expected to bring in massive targets.

    Continue reading
    Yell2017-02-16
  2. "Almost 24 years at Yell and still have so much passion for the company and my input. #morethanajob #proudtobeyell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career, Progression, Earnings, Culture, People you work with. Autonomy within your role. If you want to do well and work hard ... then Yell is a place you can thrive at.

    Cons

    Can be long hours but what job isn't when you want to do it right and build a successful career. It's about having pride in what you do consistently.

    Yell2020-02-05

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    It is really great to understand how you still feel after this many years at Yell, thank you for sharing.

    Continue reading
  3. "It’s hard but ... Great training, support and personal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training Great colleagues Great manager. I will remain proud to have worked here.

    Cons

    Targets are tough but can be achieved with long hours. Hard for working mums to achieve. Male Manager heavy, With a female manager I often saw her bullied and or treated unfairly by her male colleagues.

    Continue reading
    Yell2019-09-10
  4. "Excellent company & outstanding training!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frome, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was only with Yell for 6 months, before I had to leave due to a change in personal circumstances. Yell were supportive throughout and offer by far the best training in the industry.

    Cons

    None really, long hours but the monetary rewards are worth it!

    Continue reading
    Yell2018-10-05
  5. "Value & Earning Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great earning potetnial / feel valued / freedom to manage territory in the way that works for me as long as I'm doing the job / good benefits / plenty of incentives

    Cons

    Long hours ... but if you want the big bucks :)

    Continue reading
    Yell2018-04-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digtal Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Induction training with Lots of support thereafter. Very strong product range with excellent proof of value tools.

    Cons

    Lots to juggle, Long hours and have to be committed to succeed

    Continue reading
    Yell2018-02-02

    Yell Response

    February 20, 2018Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thanks for your review and the positive feedback you have provided. It is clear that Yell is doing a lot of things right from your perspective, and that you are happy to be with us. I would completely agree that we have a strong product portfolio which is continually improving and growing, and this is an exciting time for us. In relation to your cons and advice to management thank you for providing this feedback, it is always useful to help us to continue to improve. You mentioned you have lots to juggle and the hours can be long. I appreciate that this is a fast-paced business with ambitious goals which can sometimes mean there is a lot to do. We are always appreciative of our employees that go the extra mile to achieve, but do make sure you give yourself time and permission to switch off and use the support of your manager and team. We wish you all the best with your continued career.

    Continue reading
  7. "South London Premise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premise in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am so happy in my role. The company is the best to work for, my team are truley wonderful, and my manager is an expert at what she does. Love it here!!

    Cons

    Long hours, but this is so that you are prepared for every call and understand each business fully. Making you the 'Top Gun' standard that Yell expect.

    Yell2017-11-15

    Yell Response

    December 10, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Thank you for the review, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your role with us and that you have a wonderful team and Manager. We understand that at times the working hours can be long but as you have stated, we work hard to ensure consistently good service for our customers and we are very appreciative of all employees that go the extra mile. We wish you the best of luck in your career with Yell!

    Continue reading
  8. "Needs to improve.....a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Good training and people, and staff

    Cons

    Products do not work, Double Glazing Salesman feel to the role, long hours

    Yell2017-11-17

    Yell Response

    December 10, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi Thank you for the review. It’s disappointing to see that things didn't work out for you at Yell, although we are grateful for the acknowledgement and compliments on our training and people. It isn’t clear from the review when you left the business, but during the past 12 months we have invested heavily in the development of our digital product portfolio and we are confident that we currently have great products for our customers. Thank you again for leaving your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "Hard work but worth the effort !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Digital Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Uncapped earnings potential, own sales territories, nice BMW company car, iPhone 7, latest laptop and the benefits of working from home - I've been with Yell for over 20 years. In essence this job is what you put into it - focus, determination and resilience.

    Cons

    I've read a number of negative comments left by ex field account managers and agree the hours are tough, work/life balance is affected at times with long hours doing admin work etc. Targets are never going to be easy but if you don't put the effort in you won't see the results. Earnings are what you make them. I treat this job like it's my own business - it's down to relationship building with my clients, keeping a close eye on their marketing campaigns and sourcing & winning new clients.

    Continue reading
    Yell2017-08-10
  10. "Digital Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Yell offers its employees excellent training & benefits, flexible working practice with the latest technology provided for my role.

    Cons

    You work long hours, the market constantly changes and you are expected to keep apace with market changes.

    Continue reading
    Yell2017-05-11
Found 19 reviews
</>Embed