XtremeEDA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

XtremeEDA Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
XtremeEDA CEO Claude Cloutier (no image)
Claude Cloutier
14 Ratings
  1. "principle verification engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XtremeEDA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    diversified verification experience, flexible work environment, great leadership

    Cons

    i don't see any, it's a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work

    XtremeEDA2018-05-07
  2. "Verification engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XtremeEDA full-time

    Pros

    Best place to improve your skills

    Cons

    I personally feel nothing much

    XtremeEDA2019-02-28
  3. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XtremeEDA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team work Good location Interesting work Ability to travel Attending conferences Always learning new techniques Well respected in the industry

    Cons

    Sales team did not always understand what they were selling Selling services is not like selling products Disparate geography of colleagues Sometimes stuck on dismal projects

    Advice to Management

    Need to focus the sales team on the actual "product" being sold, which means an understanding of the skills of the person (which is the product) are key

    XtremeEDA2018-10-29
  4. "no surprise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XtremeEDA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexibility, variety, support, people, management

    Cons

    nothing really out of the ordinary

    Advice to Management

    create chances for people to get to know each other. tons of new hires the last while... still very little contact between sites.

    XtremeEDA2017-03-23
  5. "Lives up to its reputation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Verification Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XtremeEDA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work for various ASIC/FPGA companies including the largest of the industry; contribute to different verification environments using the latest methodologies; interface directly with the client and own your success; can always count on XEDA resources for help/suggestions/recommendations; focus on verification and not worry about looking for a future engagenet; ability to work from home

    Cons

    Some might find it intimidating to have to interview for each client, but it gets easier after a while. Working as a consultant doesn't mean projects cannot be demanding.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    XtremeEDA2016-12-11

    XtremeEDA Response

    January 24, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks for highlighting a common concern -- our engineers do often interview for each new engagement. In addition to having a great team to help accelerate an engineer's interview preparation efforts, our sales and management teams try to set client expectations when proposing an engineer for interview. We prefer to sell our engineers on their strengths and inform the client where we expect a mismatch relative to the client's requirements.

    Show Less
  6. "Princpal Verification Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Verification Consultant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at XtremeEDA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic management, a wide variety of clients, excellent work environment, very knowledgeable colleagues, great people to work with. When not actively on a contract you have the time and opportunity to learn about new technologies or to get better at something you'd like.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of. I suppose one might be that you can be on a contract that you don't like, but even that has a definite end and you move on.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing, it's working and you have a lot of happy and loyal staff.

    XtremeEDA2015-08-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Found My Home I became a verification person long before anyone else "wanted" to do the verification task."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XtremeEDA

    Pros

    Nice when the lunch time talk is about verification and related topics. Employees are among the industries brightest Work hours can be very flexible, depending on the client Always learning ...

    Cons

    Face to Face with clients. Depending on the person, this can be challenging. The pace of work. As a consultant, there are expectations of high quality and quantity of output.

    Advice to Management

    Best Management I have been under. Keep up the good work.

    XtremeEDA2015-03-09
  8. "This has been the best company i have worked for since I graduated university."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XtremeEDA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The management team is very professional and very flexible for any of the employees special needs.

    Cons

    There may be some travel involved but who doesn't like traveling if its for short amounts.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the past and present company culture for long term and we will continue to thrive.

    XtremeEDA2015-02-04
  9. "Quality of Work, Quality of Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XtremeEDA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, talented colleagues, good work-life balance, and a top-notch management team. It's hard to imagine somewhere I'd be happier.

    Cons

    In a consulting role, you're often no longer directly working with the project at tape-out, so there is sometimes a lack of sense of direct ownership.

    XtremeEDA2015-02-04
  10. "great while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant, Forensic Engineer and President in Bethlehem, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XtremeEDA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, great coworkers and managers.

    Cons

    They made a good effort to break into the line of consulting work I do but ultimately backed out of it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up your great work within your strength area.

    XtremeEDA2017-06-30
Found 15 reviews