XLN "members of staff" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

XLN Employee Reviews about "members of staff"

Updated May 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
53%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
XLN CEO Neil Conaghan
Neil Conaghan
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "People, location, free breakfast on Friday(in 23 reviews)

  • "As a department manager now myself, I know for a fact that through hard work and a good attitude you can get places in this company(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you want to keep your job then jump through hoops and avoid eye contact with senior members of staff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not focused on customer service(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "members of staff"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid, Avoid, Avoid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broadband Specialist in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy to get the job.. for the wrong reasons

    Cons

    As stated in many other reviews, the company is basically a talktalk re-seller, this means you are essentially employed as a middle man to go between end user and talktalks terrible customer service team. technical skills are rarely required as their is nothing in depth technical in XLN's control, As a technical support advisor you are basically logging a fault to pass to talk talk then fobbing the customers off until talktalk decide to fix the issue, you are also expected to sell.. yes SELL! you will be given targets for sales and disciplined when they are not met, so even tho you are more then likely speaking to a customer because the service isn't working correctly you are expected to get them to spend more money and be tied to a company that is failing them for a longer term.. absolute joke!. Management is poor at best, most of the team leaders are young and clueless, they boast about promoting within but it is rarely based on merit and is more a case that if your face fits your on the ladder which leaves most of the hard working and skilled staff demoralised and looking to leave within a few months this creates quite a high staff turnover for such a small company. As for senior management they seem interested in nothing other then figures and keeping up public image, i have witnessed them openly verbally abuse members of staff on site with both personal insults and foul language. i found the atmosphere intimidating where no one dares speak out for the fear of being dismissed, very much a case of keep your head down or be shown the door. i would ignore 90% of the generic reviews as you will spot they are all written in the same corporate spiel by either the company themselves or staff are prompted to place them. Honestly look elsewhere if you are looking to be appreciated and have a good sense of job satisfaction, i think almost anyone deserves better then what this company can offer.

    Continue reading
    XLN2018-05-27

    XLN Response

    June 4, 2018Copywriter

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re very sorry to hear your comments about your time at XLN. We take these kinds of issues extremely seriously, and are always looking for ways to improve. If possible, we would like to discuss these matters with you personally. Note also that our customer service teams – independently rated as some of the best in the UK - are entirely separate from those of TalkTalk. Please feel free to give me a call on 020 7963 9701 and we can chat, completely confidentially. Best wishes, Ameena

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid if possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They will hire anyone

    Cons

    Micro management kills everything. Directors think they own employees and you spend more time trying to avoid the directors than being able to do your job. If you want to keep your job then jump through hoops and avoid eye contact with senior members of staff

    Continue reading
    XLN2018-01-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN

    Pros

    I can't think of any

    Cons

    Directors making unwanted advances Completely unapproachable HR department Staff that put windows through Unprofessional atmosphere - management do whatever they want. Health and safety isn't up to standard. Out of date training. All about who you know CEO is on another planet Hounded by make staff members

    Continue reading
    XLN2017-04-05

    XLN Response

    April 6, 2017HR Manager

    Hi, I’m really sorry to hear your frustrations with the business. However, many of your accusations are very difficult for me to trace and deal with, as they have never before been brought to our attention. We take these kinds of accusations extremely seriously. So it would be really helpful if you could call me on 0743 607 7328 to discuss this matter privately. That conversation will be completely confidential, and I’d like to get to the bottom of this. Regards, Shamilla Zahid Head of Human Resource XLN

    Continue reading
  4. "Account Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some very good people ( certain line managers (2) ive had in the past Nice offices Fairly relaxed when things aren't so busy

    Cons

    Bad Management (accidental managers) During busy periods managers act like stressed agents dont know how to speak to staff members Need to value employees who have been there for a lengthy period ( degree qualified who are looking to progress) instead of just saying no there's the door. Management is poor.

    Continue reading
    XLN2017-02-20
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Broadband "telesales" Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Let me start by stating that what i am stating here is an opinion of my own i wish to express without any malice towards any particular member of staff, also please take the time to fully read and digest it in the manner of which i am trying to portray it which is personal frustration and disbelief, im giving this as a true and accurate refection of my experience based on my own person views. Breaks, and the end of the shift.. not forgetting the decent members of staff that actually try to make a go of it while being demoralized in the way of effectively being forced to offer the sale of fibre optic upgrades on every single tech support call (where it was applicable est 70% of calls).. also having your breaks removed due to calls queuing and not being given the time back or any sign of being paid the overtime to which any complaint about is swiftly met by an email from your manager with containing your contract and the fact highlighted that you are to be flexible in terms of breaks, now my interpretation of this is that it is referring to when they are taken and nothing to do with the length as this would be in breach of health and safety to which by all intent XLN do not have to comply with in any way!

    Cons

    Should have known from the start it wasn't going to be a career.. poor training which was cut short, very little in terms of any constructive feedback other then being nipped off to a side room once a month by a team leader for 5 mins to quickly look over a performance sheet and told to sign it, but still i kept going, i scored well in terms of quality and gained alot of good feedback reviews from customers (which i should also note you are pushed to do) in the hope my efforts would not be in vein. after a few months slowly the penny started to drop that this really isn't the place to shine based on performance and your future/promotional prospects in the company is not in any way shaped by performance it is more based on managements personal opinion of you and the amount you wish to suck upto them, the few members of staff that were given "privileged" or more senior roles were possibly the worst choices to do the tasks given (as agreed by 99% of the team) which was for me and most of the other staff even further demoralizing. there were several times i had waded in with solutions to arising to ongoing issues with absolutely no thankyou or appreciation for it, while on the subject of this it should be noted that XLN's main supplier who i cannot name are the cause of alot of the issues with the service and are largely useless in fixing them which was very frustrating for both the staff and customers especially, plus also myself considering in my opinion XLN are selling a re-branded residential grade service as a business service! (my reason for this is that while it is uncapped, unlimited and also not subject to traffic management most other home broadband providers now supply their service in the exact same way) by now im sure you get a picture of why iv felt the need to say what i have. anyway.. so after all of this and with no real reason other then what i can only reason to being a personal opinion of one manager (over ruling the manager i had for the entire time from starting) deciding not to pass but extend my probationary period, i had as stated never failed a call quality score to my knowledge had got many reviews from customers and only had a single 3 day sick period in 6 months (which i actually went from from the office for) well that for me was sicking enough but it got worse!, during this extended probation period i had further time off due a very strong family matter which im not willing to disclose here but XLN are aware off and returned to work to be taken to one side by another manager who proceeded to effectively blame me for company failings on the department (making me feel like a one man cause) and told that i would be taken to disciplinary action. needless to say at the end of that day i took the decision to make myself jobless and resign due to the un-required stress that going through disciplinary action would have placed on me at a time i really didn't' need it whilst also still under pressure due to the whole fiasco with probation extension. Imy advice for any true techie out there wanting to join a tech support role is to stay well clear, your skills will be suppressed, you will end up depressed with no end of stress!

    Continue reading
    XLN2017-01-11

    XLN Response

    January 16, 2017HR Manager

    Hi, it would be great if you could get in touch with me personally so I can further understand and review this situation. Rest assured any discussions will be kept confidential. It's in our DNA to look after, reward, retain and promote based on talent, and also to be fair when it comes to offering our team the time and freedom to deal with personal issues when required. And that’s exactly why I’m concerned that you say favouritism and mistreatment eventually led to you leaving XLN. I am available on 0114 2525874. - Paul Maisey, Head of Customer Service

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "XLN-ent at making it up as they go along"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is in a nice location in regard to transport links. Free pool table, PS4 with 2 games (good if you love Fifa), 2 TVs in the break room, foosball table, free hot drinks, free fruit on Mondays if you're fortunate to get something you like once the vultures and gannets have taken all the choice items even though it's supposed to be "1 per person" so if you like apples you're sorted and free "breakfast" (mainly undercooked sausages in sweaty buns and processed egg powder in the same buns until they changed suppliers to one who used actual eggs) on a Friday the same "1 per person" rule applies so you need to be faster than Usain Bolt to get something that's edible and warm.

    Cons

    Where to begin without sounding bitter about being let go from the "number 1 supplier" in B2B telecoms sadly it'll come across as that to people so I shall just start at the beginning Recruitment and training. The infinite monkey theorem states that a monkey hitting keys at random on a typewriter for an infinite amount of time will type a given text, such as the complete works of William Shakespeare this principle also applies to the slapdash recruitment system of the 1st line agents, the management feel if they recruit everyone in Sheffield they might actually get some good agents with common sense but what they fail to see is that the training is so below par Rory McIlroy would win titles everyday if it was a golf score. The training process if you are fortunate to be given training even though they have a team but what they truly seem to do apart from collect wages at the end of the month is a mystery. The ones who don't get training get lumbered with members of staff who have to train them and it's like a long winded game of pass the agent as training takes time but they still expect you to sweat blood and go above and beyond but sadly you can't do both. Fortunately enough the ones who do get training (which is rare unless it's a big group of new starters) get 2 weeks of learning about telecoms and the tariffs but not how to handle customers which you feel would be high on the priorities for a company that prides itself on service, however XLN go down a different road .... sell sell sell and do you know what sell some more. So with that ringing in your ear you're chucked on the phones to deal with every problem under the sun and told to sell and also get reviews on trust pilot to make it seem like they're a trustworthy company. This leads to another gripe some of the agents who got the most reviews could do no wrong in the companies eyes and got rewarded even though the reviews were based on lies that the agents couldn't deliver and usually ended up in complaints that had to be dealt with by senior members of the staff and usually cost a fair amount to resolve but who cared so long as that 5 star review was still up. The calling floor should've had the sign from the entrance to hell in Dante's inferno "Abandon all hope, ye who enter here" for at times it was hotter than hell due to the company not being able to control the temperature. The general atmosphere was subdued and tetchy due to not being allowed to talk to people in your own team let alone other departments, heaven forbid you go to the toilet as well, this strictness was dependant on who your manager was and whether they were a golden child in the hierarchies eyes. Phones were not allowed for Data protection reasons yet management were allowed there's and so were other departments even though they had access to the same systems. Work attire got changed from office wear to smart casual due to one of the inequalities being challenged successfully much to the despair of the HR team. HR as a rule should be easily accessible and visible so people can go talk to them to raise issues, XLN's however are locked away in their separate room almost hidden from everyone in the company. However raising an issue with something was a sure fire way to be in the firing line for disciplinary proceedings. The disciplinary process is almost laughable as the outcome is 99.9% determined before being raised the recordings and documentation are merely a formality even if you have raised sufficient evidence and pointed out inconsistencies across the business. Staff retention is almost non existent as most people leave after a few months due to targets which are usually unobtainable for commission or over zealous team leaders who just know bullying tactics and have no real skills to interact with people in any other way. This leads the customer getting passed from pillar to post until they eventually end at a senior members desk who has the knowledge to deal with the issue.

    Continue reading
    XLN2016-09-01
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Shambolic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN

    Pros

    Free breakfast on Friday mornings - e.g. bacon/sausage/egg roll - most weeks these are edible Break room with ps4, two large televisions, fussball and pool tables They also SOMETIMES pay you - which is always a bonus when you are employed You will develop a keen interest in employment law It makes any other job look appealing These 'Pros' will seem awfully trivial in comparison with the infinite negatives but I would like to stress that this is all factual and purely for informative purposes.

    Cons

    The Company, Despite their affirmations to the contrary, XLN do not care whatsoever about their customer base and loosely adhere to the conditions set out by the regulator. Contracts and invoices are ambiguous and often illegitimate, with their intention to acquire as much money as possible from the customer without their prior knowledge. Whilst, I will not use this platform to outline instances in which XLN have broken protocol set out by OfCOM (primarily as there are too many to count), you will be expected to defend these to the customer, despite how ethically ambiguous they may be. Imagine making a sale for a new 2 year contract and then later that month phoning back the customer to advise the price has gone up 50% and there is nothing they can do about it...this genuinely happens. Environment Staff are packed in like battery chickens, with two people per desk. This was seen as a temporary measure but has been the case for over a year despite numerous complaints. This is compounded by the fact that for some reason the company has never been able to control the temperature on their floor, which sees daily highs of 30 degrees plus. Systems are unreliable and outdated. Training and Development, Training is minimal if done at all. My department recently had new starters who were provided with zero training and this is not uncommon. If you are joining during a large recruitment drive then you may be given a general induction but if not, expect to thrust into the job with little prior knowledge of what it will entail or how should work within it. XLN do not assess the quality of work in a fair or accurate way, as this would make it more difficult to dismiss you at a later stage, making any comment on personal development rather difficult. As there is high staff turnover, positions elsewhere do arise regularly but do not expect your suitability to be assessed based on your work output. This can be particularly damaging to your personal growth as XLN will persistently enforce the idea upon you that no matter how bad it may seem, you cannot do better. XLN did promise to introduce accredited courses you could take to increase your skillset, however this was no more than the offer of entry level BTECH qualification in Customer Service. This naturally came with the condition that if you left the business during this course, you would then be responsible for paying the entire fee and this was not open to those who had already held a higher education qualification. Management Most managers are hilariously out of their depth as recruitment for these positions is not based on merit. As the Directors are far removed from how the business actually works, how the services are received by customers, and are more interested in reducing the pay-out of commissions; the policies they administer are unrealistic, short-sighted and at times nonsensical. This assertion has legitimised managers giving irrelevant and/or monotonous tasks, delivered in an extremely pedantic and inefficient way to 'fill the time.' Should these be challenged, you will be dismissed. Should you provide an alternative solution, you will be dismissed. Should you query these for clarity, then you will be lied to and then disciplined should you query it further. As you can imagine, for a business as unrepentantly haphazard as XLN, service issues arise regularly. Managers are rightly held accountable for department failings but this will be against the initial unreasonable objectives. As such, instead of examining the areas of concern and providing suitable improvements, managers will look to deflect blame on their staff members and will consistently misrepresent the truth to cover their own back. As the company is not concerned with facts, managers will genuinely fabricate anything they wish to in order to ensure you are disciplined for their errors to ensure their credibility is not compromised, even when provided with tangible evidence to prove otherwise. Members of staff have been and continue to be dismissed for falsifications. Micro management is used as a means to detract away from company and managerial deficiencies and place these on an isolated member of staff despite how tenuous this may be. HR Whether it be with customers or staff, XLN like to make their policies up as they go along. There is a common view that this is done with the assumption that you do not know your rights and they will try to exploit this. Whilst this is true to an extent, the reality is that they are so incompetent and careless that they simply do not understand procedure particularly with regards to employee rights. The policies are not worth the paper they are written on and in some instances you may even be reprimanded for following them. Word of advice - DO NOT raise a grievance. HR are purely there to execute the agenda of management regardless of justification. As naturally a grievance reflects poorly on management, instead of addressing the issue, they will attempt to remove you from the business to shut you up.

    Continue reading
    XLN2016-08-24
  8. Helpful (12)

    "HMP Millbank......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retention in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Better that being on job seekers just about!! Like any place there are some genuinely nice people who deserve better than they get. You get breakfast on a Friday which is just about edible. They got a ps4 and pool table in the break room. If your into drugs then got a dealer onsite.

    Cons

    Where to begin..... HR aren't neutral like they should be and to be honest some have no idea how to do the job their paid for. Company policy's are so out of date that if you were to adhere to them you'd get into trouble for doing so. Absence is a joke!!! Dare you take a day off you'd be penalised by the 'Bradford Factor' then more than likely dismissed for being ill and id put money to say it was the company that made you ill in the first place. The company has no idea which direction to take, that goes from service to sales.... Sales want numbers will take absolutely anything, from new acquisitions to ceasing a customers line to put it back through as a new sale. only A tenured agent that does 50% of your sales can get away with that but it's seen as acceptable, (if that's not manipulation of numbers I don't know what is.) if you can't close the deal however don't worry you can run to retentions and the manager will ensure that its agreed at a price to get you on board but then will be forgotten shortly after until the customer raises a complaint..... Which leads me to service.... Service..... What service!!! They pride themselves on time to answer and boast that you'll get through to someone quick (that they do), yet the person on the end of the phone doesn't have a clue probably due to the high turnover of staff and will pass the call back to the sales team, who will do the same or pass you to the broadband team, who will do they're best (this is only due to the fact again that they're new and don't want the inevitable axe to fall just yet.) there is constant pressure to sell their broadband product wether it's standard or fibre yet both are as good as a chocolate teapot. Most customer would choose to leave Xln due to poor broadband or the fact that midway through your contract they will hike the price up, which is fine as they supposedly send a letter or they'll change to a tariff to one that has increased by at least 50%. Which is then where retentions comes in and they will offer them the world and its dog to stay. to which most customers are leaving due to cost then giving them the something that would keep the company in red is ok.... The manager and hierarchy will turn a blind eye to this until it hits the fan then all of a sudden 'we didn't know this was happening, then get their buddies from HR down'. Should anything happen in a department Xln have the most amazing investigation procedure of asking agents who was in and wasn't what happened, now most would just say nothing since actually answering would put you into trouble so things that wouldn't be acceptable in society goes unnoticed as theres not enough evidence to support the claim. Xln will use sales tactics to get agents to perform with lucrative bonuses yet when the time comes for payment they will find a way of not paying the agent exactly what they have earned, and deduct anything they can. Don't believe you're getting anything until payroll is done as even the highest members of staff will lie to you. Like on other review sites I'm sure some of the positive reviews are bogus since every negative one gets a positive straight after looks very similar to their trust pilot and well we know that they only get relatively new customers to sing their praises there so they know no better and don't know that the staff are getting incentivised.

    Continue reading
    XLN2016-08-23

    XLN Response

    August 24, 2016HR Manager

    Thankyou for your review. We invest heavily in the wellbeing of our team and are naturally disappointed to read that in this instance you feel we have fallen short of our heady goals. XLN strive to lead the pack amongst the most forward-thinking progressive employers who go that extra mile to look after their team and create a fun, challenging and rewarding environment to work in. We would welcome the opportunity to better understand your situation and discuss any issues raised directly and confidentially. Pls do get in touch with me on S.Zahid@telecom-service.co.uk Shamilla Zahid Head of Human Resources XLN Telecom

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Lack of compassion, forced to miss breaks and lunches, fired when in hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadband Specialist in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is generous considering the duties given (I was a broadband specialist on 18000 salary), great location and the company has a good image compared to other broadband suppliers. The opportunity to help independent busineses, even in a small way is great. 9-5.30 working hours in a call centre which is almost unheard of. Fabulous, talented and diverse staff. Good pension and healthcare schemes, free coffee and food occassionally as a special treat. Also, incentives for sales if you work in a sales role. 'Some' management staff were extremely approachable (Stefan) compared to a normal call centre environment, and management would intervene with customers where appropriate, again, an uncommon trait with call centres. Relatively liveraly views (were happy for me to dress in a monkey hoodie coming into work. Diverse and engaging events ( Haloween etc)

    Cons

    Staff retention (key members and low level staff left in my short period of employment due to various grievances). Some senior members of staff play games on tablets all day and laugh about it infront of struggling colleauges. Several excellent team members not recognised for consistand outstanding ability (quite typical for a call centre). Not neccessarily the best place to progress your career, however it is possible and I did see one outstanding member of staff progress, but many had been 'outstanding members of staff' for years and got nowhere. Didn't get on well with quality monitoring staff who then openly admitted to other colleauges that I was as 'good as gone' - I wasn't around long enough to find out if this was said in jest, however, I believe it wasn't. Many a true word is spoken in jest, and in todays job market it is a wholly innapropriate thing to joke about when employees are struggling to make ends meet and furthermore, the colleagues that reported this comment to me insisted he was deadly serious. Not sure if he has done this again or before, but something to be aware of before going in. Training crammed with way too much information, excellent trainers but just too much to go through in too short of a time. Expect to spend a lot of time studying up at home for the first few weeks or so. More experienced staff members are also happy to help, but the environment is very fast paced and this is usually not possible. Company appeared to be failing to sell next generation products which puts future of the role in doubt. Also as a result, sales pushed onto support teams where not appropriate, I would argue that trying to sell a small business with a tiny profit margin a more reliable product when their current one is failing is immoral (Customers should never pay for a fix on a broken or unreliable service). An objection that you may or may not agree to - if you are comfortable doing this then no probs, but I wasn't and my objections were ignored. Sales targets were not mentioned in interviews so most were unprepared with no experience, and personally I found it difficult to find appropriate situations to sell the product. Illness / bathroom breaks / using wrap time was treated with extreme suspicion - feeling of constantly being watched over and consequently no real forum to vent frustrations over fear of being sacked. Scripts and 'dummy guides' were used far too often, and employees are treating in a condesending manner. THE REST OF WHAT IS WRITTEN PERTAINS PURELY TO XLN'S ATTITUDE REGARDING SICKNESS / DISABILITIES, IS MY OWN PERSONAL HORROR STORY AND MAY NOT BE RELEVANT TO YOU - BEAR THAT IN MIND Bathroom breaks not allowed - threatened with sack for going to the toilet on mulitple occassions (which was due to a medical condition XLN were aware of, and I also made them aware during the incidents but didn't seem to care / believe me). Managers forced us to skip breaks and lunches (we had to ask permission and most times would be told no), would promise the time back at the end of the day and not deliver. Team leader when asked by employees for their break / lunch , or where not possible an early finish or even just be paid the hours worked would become defensive and insist was the employees fault for not being 'proactive' enough in asking if they could go for these breaks. Sometimes you would ask 5+ times for a lunch, and still not get it. I went a week without leaving my seat and no one noticed, or intervined. 'Favored' staff' however would go at 12:30 every day. Frequenty being forced to skip breaks and lunches which combined with my disability left me severely ill (again XLN were aware of the structure and allowances I needed - I made this clear to the floor manager, my team leader + filled out the paperwork when joining). My health deteriorated and XLN fired me a few days later while I was in hospital on an insulin drip, (obviously they thought I was AWOL but still not acceptable, I could be dead due to their neglect). health issues were largly caused by XLN's lack of structure and willing to make allowances for employees with disabillities, or even provided legally required breaks, so obviously I am was a very happy bunny and this probably comes through in my writing, but this is only one piece of the puzzle and I won't focus to much on this as not relevant to most people. Could potentially have got the job back if I explained the situation, but quite frankly I don't fancy working for them again due to this experience, and I am happier struggling to control my condition due to no money to refridgerate my medication and eat than I am struggling to control it due to lack of compassion or common sense by employers. I also would not like reveal how vulnerable I am as a person with a long term condition to my friends who still work there, but I would not expect XLN to understand this, as they are clearly out of touch with people living with disabilities.

    Continue reading
    XLN2016-02-26

    XLN Response

    March 9, 2016Recruitment Manager

    As an investor in people, we take the welfare of our employees incredibly seriously. So naturally we hate to read anything that conflicts with our strong principles. In this instance your summary of events does not reflect our understanding of the situation and we would like to discuss this in confidence at your convenience. We hate to lose good talent and hope we can get together to find a positive resolve. Please do get in contact with us on - employeefeedback@xlntelecom.co.uk Many Thanks Head of Customer Service - Sheffield

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews
</>Embed