Wpromote "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wpromote Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Wpromote Founder and CEO Michael Mothner
Michael Mothner
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "They also offer startup perks like free massages, yoga classes, snacks/coffee, games, and happy hour(in 13 reviews)

  • "Awesome culture including fine wine fridays, discounted lunches, free breakfast, cereal bar, work from home flexible schedule(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Politically Divisive Culture, Lots of Busy Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The name will look good on your resume Talented people work here Nice benefits Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Divisive political culture Mundane work Low pay Conservatives won't feel welcome here

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2020-02-20
  2. "Amazing work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    amazing people, love the culture, unlimited pto, work from anywhere

    Cons

    work life balance can be hard during specific seasons

    Wpromote2020-01-10

    Wpromote Response

    February 5, 2020VP, People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience here!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Be very cautious with this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Writer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO is a plus Work/life balance is typically good

    Cons

    Disloyal: The majority of an entire team and 2/3 of another team were laid off during my 10 months of employment there. Higher-ups do not take the time to get to know their employees and they view employees as expendable. Even if you do excellent work, your job is not safe. Lack of identity: The direction of seemingly every department seemed to consistently waver. Departments rely heavily on only a few clients, making it nearly impossible to adjust if a client opts to change agencies. This negatively effects the bottom line and department stability. Disorganized: Executives and management in general always give the impression that everything is alright, but it's purely a front. Companies that are in good standing do not undergo downsizing multiple times within a year. Not to mention, there were changes at the director and executive levels, forcing employees to adjust to new visions and strategy overhauls. This company leaves employees in the dark. Little opportunity for growth: Title promotions are promised in certain departments; however, not granted. Budgeting is also askew and inconsistent to the point where position openings are taken down rather suddenly. If you are lucky enough to get a promotion, your salary increase will be underwhelming. Don't get hypnotized by the unlimited PTO and benefits. They make room for those perks by sacrificing competitive salaries. Also, certain departments are very strict with PTO despite it being unlimited.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2020-02-07

    Wpromote Response

    February 10, 2020VP, People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. At the risk of sounding defensive, I wanted to respond directly to your review since it's not accurate and it's not a fair representation of who we are or how we handled a change with one of our clients that affected a very talented team. One of our largest clients shifted the way they work with agencies and that meant some of the work that Wpromote handled for the client was going away and a number of employees were going to be affected by this shift. We did what we could to find new roles for the affected employees both internally and externally. Many of the affected employees shifted to other departments into roles that were created for them; we made an investment in other parts of our business to retain as many employees as possible and give them a new growth path. We also tapped a prior Wpromote employee who extended multiple offers that were accepted. For those we were not able to find a new home internally, we offered outplacement services to help them land on their feet. This was our #1 priority. We have 200+ clients and have been growing 25% YOY for multiple years in a row and we have never done a lay-off in our almost 19 year history until last month. We are saddened you did not have a good experience with Wpromote and we were sorry to see you go. We wish you the best of luck in your next role.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved working at this company. Everyone is supportive and it was a great experience overall. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to get into digital marketing, paid media and PPC.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours, but the work life balance and benefits help with this.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2019-10-09

    Wpromote Response

    October 15, 2019VP, People & Culture

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We agree our culture is supportive of our fellow Wpromoters and we are glad that was your experience with us. Wishing you much success in your next role!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Content Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great flexibility and work/life balance: There have been very few days in my 4.5 years at this company where I've felt extremely overly worked or rundown. - Unlimited PTO: Seriously amazing. This perk alone has kept me from turning down jobs that paid much higher. - Fun environment: The corporate culture is relaxed, young, fun and modern. From ping pong to fine wine Fridays, WP works hard to make the office an environment you want to be in. - Occasional work from home: available in most departments. - Great higher-ups: They listen to what you have to say and respond in a timely manner. - Maternity/paternity/baby bonding period: I haven't used this personally, but have seen our offerings compared to other company maternity policies and it's pretty great.

    Cons

    If you're in the LA office, you're golden. You'll get the full experience. But some of the other remote offices that are smaller lack some of the cool perks i.e. in-person training, the pet-friendly environment, etc. Sometimes you don't feel like you're as involved at the remote offices and like you're missing out.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2018-10-26

    Wpromote Response

    October 15, 2019VP, People & Culture

    This is really useful feedback. We recently established a cross office culture committee and one of our biggest topics is creating parity across all Wpromote offices, so that employees have very similar experiences regardless of location. We'll keep working on this. We'll keep listening, so please do not hesitate to share more feedback directly with me or any member of the POPS team. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smb Specialist in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great coworkers and company culture - Supportive and positive environment - Easy interview/hiring process (Lizzie is an amazing recruiter!) - Encourage a healthy work/life balance

    Cons

    Haven't found any so far!

    Wpromote2018-05-03
  7. "Who ever said work can't be fun?!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time

    Pros

    - Great Culture: the perks, the work/life balance, the fun integrated into your work - Positive energy full of growth, challenges, and excitement - There is constantly free food and drinks! - Beautiful office but also a great WFA policy - Very friendly and approachable upper management and chiefs

    Cons

    Can't think of one yet!

    Wpromote2018-05-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Couldn't Ask For A Better Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wpromote is an amazing place to work. After 5+ years of working here, I am still challenged everyday and am constantly learning. The benefits and perks are great, but beyond that I am surrounded by colleagues who work hard and love what they do, and feel comfortable to be myself with both my peers and management. With a focus on discovering and utilizing employee's individual strengths, management makes every effort to ensure that you are happy and engaged at work and have the opportunity to make an impact on the company as a whole. There is very little day-to-day micromanagement; employees are trusted to work autonomously. I feel supported by my direct manager and have personally experienced the clear career development and growth that one hopes for from their employer. If you work hard and prove your value to the company, you will be rewarded accordingly. Employee feedback is taken seriously and always met with warm reception. Wpromote also offers great work/life balance, which is something I value greatly.

    Cons

    Title and compensation don't always align with industry standards.

    Wpromote2016-12-20
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Good company for entry-level, not good if you want to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wpromote has an awesome company culture - hands down. For the most part, everyone is very friendly and social. It doesn't have the stuffy corporate culture that a lot of other agencies have. If you're ok with the laid-back California life, this is the perfect place for you. If you need more rigid, structural processes, you're not going to enjoy working here. There is a lot of room to grow horizontally. If you're passionate about something, Wpro will work with you to make it happen by opening up a brand new position for example. There are a lot of super talented people at the company. This is a great place if you're new to the industry because you can learn a lot from your colleagues and Directors (sometimes). Some departments have really great Seniors/Directors that are open-minded and welcoming. 1 weekly 15 minute massage (if you're lucky enough to get a spot) Free Yoga 3 times a week (if you're into Yoga) Subsidized lunches daily (you pay about $5 instead of $10) Free Fruit/Veggies/Snacks Fine Wine Fridays 401K Company matching (but you can only get 20% after being at the company for 2 years, I believe it's about 6-7 years to get the full match) Summer Fridays (half day every other week during the summer) Half-days before holidays Nice office Fancy coffee/soda machine 12 PTO 5 Sick Days Good work life balance depending on the department Laid back vibes based on the department

    Cons

    Wpro grew way too fast for it's own good. When I got hired, there were less than 100 employees, now we're at 200. Training is a joke in most departments. I know of Specialists, with zero experience who got accounts weeks after getting hired just because we didn't have enough qualified employees to take over. Despite not having enough experienced Managers to take on accounts, the sales team keeps churning out new accounts forcing the current employees to take on more accounts than they should...leading to stress. This is why a lot of people have been leaving for other less stressful jobs. I will be clear that this is not the case company-wide, there are some departments where the work/life balance is much better than other departments. Management is willing to bend over backwards to retain accounts that aren't growing rather than focusing on accounts with growth potential. This can create a lot of bitterness amongst Account Managers that are stuck working with brands that don't care. We are expected to do a lot for our clients even if they are low budget contracts. Pay is horrible! We've lost a lot of talented people to much bigger agencies that pay fair market value. The #1 reason people leave Wpro is because of pay and yet they haven't done much about it. If you leave Wpro, you can easily make $20-$30K more working at another agency. They don't know how to manage their money - I'd much rather have a higher salary than get free fruit/beer thank you very much. If you ask for more money, they get really sensitive about this and it's very unprofessional. There is no set process for salary raises, they have no clue what to tell employees. Lots of shuffling back and forth between the Directors/Executives. With the new structure of the company, I'm starting to see more politics come into play. There are some people that moved into Senior or Director roles that don't have the sufficient knowledge in their field or the experience to lead or manage a team. They only got promoted because they know the right people and have been at the Wpro the longest which really isn't fair to people that have a lot to give back. They say they promote people based on a combination of time at the company and experience, but they are sticklers for the time thing. Some Seniors/Directors are not approachable (personality wise) or don't have the time to help you because they are also managing accounts. Not a good place if you're older/ newly married/trying to start a family. This place reminds me of my dorm in college and can feel like a frat house at times. Most employees are in their 20s (reason being that Wpro recruits young grads because 1) they need a job 2) they are willing to take a lower salary just to get experience). No fully paid maternity/paternity leave - they do the basic California disability leave No childcare benefits No work from home option for most employees (some lucky employees get this benefit) If you want to grow, you have to go out of your way to make it happen. We don't work with a lot of well-known brands, although we do have some in our portfolio. If you want to be challenged and grow your career, you gotta go somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2015-08-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Wpromote full-time

    Pros

    - Full basic benefits - Free team events - Free breakfast - Laid-back, down-to-earth culture - Fun culture - Agency experience looks phenomenal on a resume - Great location - Lots of social events - Decent work/life balance outside of the peak seasons - My boss was great - Upper management at the very least willing to listen to suggestions (even if in the end not implemented) - Very approachable executive leaders

    Cons

    Compensation - I think it's quite interesting in many of these negative reviews it is said that if one feels that his/her pay doesn't commensurate with value, to speak up. I did actually, and it wasn't my direct management that seemed insulted, but rather their superior. That pretty much let me know how much I was (or wasn't) valued and then I started to look elsewhere. The goal of business is to maximize profit, so I get it, but at what expense? Granted, a lot of people have left since then so maybe now they are more open to having these kinds of talks that will actually result in a bump, if deemed appropriate. - Seemed like the glass ceiling was low - Seems like most just want you to know the bare minimum to "get the job done." Might vary from department to department though. - Most of senior management have never worked at aby company so tunnel vision often sets in. I will say to be fair, they do have TinyPulse where one can voice opinions. - I didn't like the fact that knowing the "right people" meant that certain leaders could do things that weren't right with little to no consequence (but hey, the world isn't always fair). Most of upper management have known each other for years so the lines can get blurred and appropriate discipline was not seen even if certain individuals had the highest turnover rates within their department(s) and lots of complaints.

    Wpromote2015-07-18

    Wpromote Response

    July 20, 2015COO

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and I'm regretful that we weren't able to clear up the compensation/value issue that you encountered. Whenever we get a post that mentions compensation, I'm always curious to get more information about your experience. Specifically, it's important to know which department you were in and about how long you were here at Wpromote. Wpromote is a private company with absolutely zero outside investors. That's very important to us because it allows us to create exactly the type of company that we want to without any interference from the outside, however, it can mean that we have to be more diligent with giving raises only to people who deserve them rather than those that want them but haven't necessarily provided the value commensurate with a compensation increase. That said, yes, you can get paid more elsewhere by publicly held companies, agencies owned by large holding companies, and venture-backed firms, although I don't believe that this remains true for our high performing employees. Wpromote is not about profit maximization; Wpromote is about doing what's best for our clients and employees. Yes, that is also a business strategy that we've found to be successful but the notion that we were undercompensating our employees in order to squeeze out extra profits runs contrary to all of the "Pros" that you wrote about. If we wanted to maximize profits, we'd ask people to work weekends, we'd cut spending for employee benefits, we wouldn't organize team events. I'm very sorry that you felt undercompensated here at Wpromote but it sounds possible that we disagreed over the value that you were providing to your clients. It's difficult to know more because you've opted to stay anonymous--which is fair--but I can promise you that our high performing employees haven't hit the sort of "ceiling" that you've alluded to. I'm glad that you had a mostly good experience working here at Wpromote and I wish you the best in your future endeavors. I would have hoped, though, that we could have cleared up the miscommunication about your compensation before you left.

    Continue reading
Found 13 reviews