Wpromote Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wpromote Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Wpromote CEO Michael Mothner
Michael Mothner
72 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Lack of diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time

    Pros

    Great perks Work from anywhere policy (once trusted) Recent introduction of unlimited PTO

    Cons

    Low salary. Sheer lack of diversity. Yes they are cool and trendy (bring your cute dog to work) and have all the latest things (foosball and ping-pong anyone) that attract the young and hip to work at a company (I should know I was one) - but take a look around the office... What are their ethnicity? How old are they? Anyone in a wheelchair or disabled? Take a look at the "Who We Are" page on their website -... A pretty homogeneous group overall. I'm not saying I witnessed any discrimination - but surely a company this size should have a mix of individuals represented.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actively encourage diversity when hiring.

    Wpromote2018-01-09
  2. "Fast Paced, High Growth, Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time

    Pros

    The most dynamic, fastest growing firm of its kind, great team, offices nationwide, ability to advance, great benefits, fair pay.

    Cons

    Definitely not a good fit if you aren't used to working your butt off, not for the meek or lazy.

    Advice to Management

    Involve the different smaller offices as much as possible so everyone feels included.

    Wpromote2017-10-21
  3. "Best Places to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote part-time

    Pros

    Friendly dogs, friendlier managers, abundant sunshine.

    Cons

    No cons come to mind!

    Wpromote2017-09-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I look forward to coming to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager SMB in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart & friendly co-workers, supportive management, fun environment with things like ping pong & bocce ball, excellent training, productive learning environment

    Cons

    The salary is a bit lower than industry standards.

    Wpromote2017-07-28
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great work, but bottom line focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time

    Pros

    Culture in the main office is very fun and focused on making sure you like coming into the office. Caliber of work provided to clients is amazing. Employees are constantly encouraged to learn more about the industry. Plenty of extracurriculars.

    Cons

    All non-LA offices are seen by management as secondary. Employees are often let go due to "redundancy" Workloads are poorly managed Employees are heavily pressured and expected to participate in activities and events outside of regular workload, regardless of whether they have time or not. Honestly, it depends greatly on which office you're in and what department you're in.

    Advice to Management

    Focus a little more on employee retention.

    Wpromote2017-07-26

    Wpromote Response

    August 1, 2017COO

    Thank you for providing your feedback. I think you raise some valid points. Wpromote is definitely focused on the financial health of the business, so we're always looking at the top line, the bottom line, and the details that go into running a healthy business. The main reason that ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review of the agency Wpromote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow within the company.

    Cons

    It is very competitive inside the company.

    Wpromote2017-05-13

    Wpromote Response

    August 1, 2017COO

    We appreciate your review and hope that we can improve while you continue to work with us. If you have specific feedback for how we can make adjustments to create a better working environment for our employees, I hope that you'll give us that feedback either through TinyPulse (our ...

    Show More
  7. "Great company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paid Search Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall, you can't beat the community and environment of this company. The people here are not just co-workers and not just friends, they are a group of like-minded people who share an extraordinary ability to be both interpersonally-enjoyable and also professionally-savvy.

    Cons

    The company is still expanding and growing quickly, so there can be some gaps in process(es) and their effectiveness.

    Advice to Management

    More clarity in training and management.

    Wpromote2017-04-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "90 Day Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time

    Pros

    I genuinely love the company and the people I work with! I always feel encouraged to share my ideas and feel like I am making a real difference.

    Cons

    I have no cons so far!

    Wpromote2017-04-06
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Good Company With Typical Agency Drawbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wpromote is a fun, savvy, and predominantly young company. You'll learn a ton and mostly have fun while working. The benefits are great, and there's a TON of talented smart people to learn from. That said - the Los Angeles office is the office to be if you have a choice. The other offices (Chicago and the newly acquired other offices) are all going through growing pains and will take time to reach the level L.A.... is currently at. Speaking from experience from the Chicago office, it's currently run like a start-up, but will hopefully be up to speed by the end of the year.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's questionable leadership depending on the service you go into. Furthermore, workloads are poorly managed and many employees fly under the radar so you could either work 2 hour days or 11 hour days depending on your service and location. Finally, like any agency, it's playing the game (so to speak) that will get you ahead. Know that you will be judged just as much, if not more, by how well you deal with... others and your general social status, but in my experience, this is typical in agencies - especially young ones, so don't let this stop you from considering Wpromote.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on skill and not time worked. Also, take cues from well-run departments and apply them across the services instead of completely segmenting and separating each channel. People from SMB should teach people in PPC, SEO, and so on. In my time there it felt more departments were competiting with one another more so. *To be fair, a lot of the team building activities they've developed do not stretch... well across to the other offices just yet* Finally (and most importantly), figure out what the Content Marketing department should be. There's a lot of great, talented people being left to rot under poor leadership and a mountain of excuses. If I were being completely honest, the leaders in CM need to be completely gutted in order for the department to succeed. (Note: I was not in Content Marketing, so take this for what you will)

    Show More
    Wpromote2017-03-17
  10. "Too Many Pros To List"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are so many pros it's difficult to list them. Wpromote has taught me so much in so many different areas of account management, client communication, and business development. My team is made up of the most talented, inspiring, supportive people who make coming to work every day a serious joy. As the company has grown, we've been given even more tools to really succeed in the ever-changing world of digital... marketing, and I actually believe in the results that our processes produce for our clients. I've always felt that my supervisors have been invested in my personal growth, and they have always been wiling to help shape my Wpro experience around my goals and expectations. I could not have been more lucky to find Wpromote, and can't imagine working anywhere else.

    Show More

    Cons

    Starting salary isn't as high as many competitors, which at the outset can be discouraging. However, the company has worked tirelessly to increase salaries across the board as we grow, and are very open to talk about compensation anytime throughout the year - you don't have to wait until annual reviews come around.

    Advice to Management

    Continue making employees feel empowered to make real change throughout the company. Because of the management's openness, I truly feel that I understand why decisions are made, and know that even when I disagree with them, they are made for good reasons. Always remember that transparency requires action, & isn't just a buzzword to throw around.

    Wpromote2017-03-15
Found 106 reviews