Wpromote Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wpromote Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Wpromote Founder and CEO Michael Mothner
Michael Mothner
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "They also offer startup perks like free massages, yoga classes, snacks/coffee, games, and happy hour(in 13 reviews)

  • "Awesome culture including fine wine fridays, discounted lunches, free breakfast, cereal bar, work from home flexible schedule(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Politically Divisive Culture, Lots of Busy Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The name will look good on your resume Talented people work here Nice benefits Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Divisive political culture Mundane work Low pay Conservatives won't feel welcome here

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2020-02-20
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Lots of Good, Lots of Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketer in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits: Unlimited PTO, flexible WFA, Summer Half-Day Fridays, great health insurance, etc. are all things that make it difficult to want to go anywhere else. The Coworkers: Everyone, specifically at the entry- to mid-levels are really great. It legitimately feels like you're getting to hang out with your best friends every day.

    Cons

    The company has kind of adopted this attitude of "we pay you less because your benefits are so great." Which is true to some extent, but a quick job search will likely return several other companies with many of the same benefits and much more competitive pay. Remote offices are kind of more like step-siblings. They were all acquisitions, so many of them have mostly continued running how they were before, just with the Wpromote name. Because of this, any of the fun Wpromote culture events and benefits the company loves to promote seem to be begrudgingly forced upon the higher ups. In many cases, it can even feel like they're actively trying to dissuade you from taking part in them. Additionally, the communication between offices is virtually non-existent. If you need to work closely with someone in another office, it can be a struggle. It's almost virtually impossible to move up in the company unless you're in the LA office. Each department is treated differently seemingly based on how much the company values them. It can feel a bit like the episode of The Office when Sabre starts buying the salesmen nice gifts and allowing them to act however they want. Luckily, my team was one they seemed to view positively, but it was strange seeing/hearing how other teams were treated. As an example (and definitely the most extreme I saw), the company lost a very large client, which directly affected multiple teams. My team received about 2.5 months advance notice, and opportunities to move into other departments. Another team, which dealt with the same client, was promised they were fine for 2 months until one day they came into the office and were all let go. No notice, no goodbyes, no packing their desks. When pressed about why there was such a difference between how the two teams were treated, the C-levels kind of talked their way around it (as they're very good at doing). And at one point, one of them seemed to pat himself on the back for how well they had "executed the plan." It was a very uncomfortable meeting. The company was started by the CEO immediately after graduating college, and he hired all of his best friends to be his execs. And they're still there to this day. I think this can be a positive because it can lead to the atmosphere of everyone feeling like friends, but sometimes there are very simple business decisions that definitely seem like they were made by a guy and his friends who are working their first job.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2020-02-03
  3. "Amazing work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    amazing people, love the culture, unlimited pto, work from anywhere

    Cons

    work life balance can be hard during specific seasons

    Wpromote2020-01-10

    Wpromote Response

    February 5, 2020VP, People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience here!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Be very cautious with this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Writer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO is a plus Work/life balance is typically good

    Cons

    Disloyal: The majority of an entire team and 2/3 of another team were laid off during my 10 months of employment there. Higher-ups do not take the time to get to know their employees and they view employees as expendable. Even if you do excellent work, your job is not safe. Lack of identity: The direction of seemingly every department seemed to consistently waver. Departments rely heavily on only a few clients, making it nearly impossible to adjust if a client opts to change agencies. This negatively effects the bottom line and department stability. Disorganized: Executives and management in general always give the impression that everything is alright, but it's purely a front. Companies that are in good standing do not undergo downsizing multiple times within a year. Not to mention, there were changes at the director and executive levels, forcing employees to adjust to new visions and strategy overhauls. This company leaves employees in the dark. Little opportunity for growth: Title promotions are promised in certain departments; however, not granted. Budgeting is also askew and inconsistent to the point where position openings are taken down rather suddenly. If you are lucky enough to get a promotion, your salary increase will be underwhelming. Don't get hypnotized by the unlimited PTO and benefits. They make room for those perks by sacrificing competitive salaries. Also, certain departments are very strict with PTO despite it being unlimited.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2020-02-07

    Wpromote Response

    February 10, 2020VP, People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. At the risk of sounding defensive, I wanted to respond directly to your review since it's not accurate and it's not a fair representation of who we are or how we handled a change with one of our clients that affected a very talented team. One of our largest clients shifted the way they work with agencies and that meant some of the work that Wpromote handled for the client was going away and a number of employees were going to be affected by this shift. We did what we could to find new roles for the affected employees both internally and externally. Many of the affected employees shifted to other departments into roles that were created for them; we made an investment in other parts of our business to retain as many employees as possible and give them a new growth path. We also tapped a prior Wpromote employee who extended multiple offers that were accepted. For those we were not able to find a new home internally, we offered outplacement services to help them land on their feet. This was our #1 priority. We have 200+ clients and have been growing 25% YOY for multiple years in a row and we have never done a lay-off in our almost 19 year history until last month. We are saddened you did not have a good experience with Wpromote and we were sorry to see you go. We wish you the best of luck in your next role.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Developer in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic Atmosphere, very high room for growth, and an all-around great place to work.

    Cons

    No real downsides. It is a pet-friendly office, so having a dog allergy may or may not cause a bit of discomfort.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2019-11-28

    Wpromote Response

    February 5, 2020VP, People & Culture

    Love hearing this type of feedback! Thank you for sharing.

    Continue reading
  6. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They had cold brew coffee and the training I received was incredible.

    Cons

    My boss didn't know how to communicate well.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2019-11-05

    Wpromote Response

    February 5, 2020VP, People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that there were communication issues between you and your supervisor. We encourage all employees to speak up and connect with POPS directly if/when there are issues so that we can help mediate and help get to a positive outcome for all.

    Continue reading
  7. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved working at this company. Everyone is supportive and it was a great experience overall. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to get into digital marketing, paid media and PPC.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours, but the work life balance and benefits help with this.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2019-10-09

    Wpromote Response

    October 15, 2019VP, People & Culture

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We agree our culture is supportive of our fellow Wpromoters and we are glad that was your experience with us. Wishing you much success in your next role!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wpromote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wpromote is an established agency within the digital marketing field but still has that small company feel. There are several offices located across the country yet they do a great job of keeping us all connected. The office environment is a huge perk in my opinion, even though we can work remotely if we choose, I really enjoy coming into the office every day. The office is open concept but stays quiet due to us having many private meeting rooms. We have an awesome breakroom stocked with a cereal bar, kombucha and cold brew on tap, as well as many events throughout the week. The work we do is mainly centered around SEO, PPC, and Paid Social although the industry is constantly changing and therefore so are our deliverables. If you want to work for a fun and innovative company, this is the place to be!

    Cons

    Having the luxury of working remotely and also working with people in other states can bring communication complications depending on the technology used.

    Continue reading
    Wpromote2019-08-23

    Wpromote Response

    September 5, 2019VP, People & Culture

    Thank you so much for your feedback! If you have any suggestions regarding cross-office communication enhancements, please let me or Mike Block know. We are all ears and always open to feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "It was a great team to coach for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Head Coach in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of good kids and great leadership

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    Wpromote2019-06-19

    Wpromote Response

    September 6, 2019VP, People & Culture

    Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad to hear you have a positive experience at Wpromote.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (15)

    "This Company is not what it used to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wpromote full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home, unlimited paid time off, great coworkers

    Cons

    They have zero loyalty since they took on private equity. This company used to be great, care about their clients and employees. Now they are firing all of their most loyal employees left and right just because they aren't hitting their numbers. It's really sad to see what used to be a great company turn so savage and money hungry.

    Wpromote2019-04-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 113 reviews