WorkWave Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated Sep 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 of over 108 reviews

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
WorkWave CEO David Giannetto
David Giannetto
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free Lunch (4 out of the 5 days)(in 37 reviews)

  • "They have added a week of PTO time to ensure employees have work/life balance(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains I guess; we're growing quickly and need more mid level managerial support, which I'm told is coming(in 13 reviews)

  • "Company is growing and evolving very rapidly, which can create its own challenges(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "free lunch"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I worked at WorkWave full-time under a year.

      Sep 30, 2020 - Systems Engineer in Holmdel, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Bell Works building is nice and lots of small shops during my time there. - Free lunch - Game room - Growing company with a lot of great products. - Flexible working hours

      Cons

      A lot of company changes during my time there can often bring anxiety about your employment there. I can also add the work hostility as well. New hire transitions from your direct reports could've been done better. Making sure they feel comfortable and address any concerns from the beginning. Finally, some colleagues (and I mean some) are easy to work while most are not as friendly (even your own team).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your experience didn't match our norm! From our structured onboarding program for all new hires (where they can meet with the head of each department to learn about every part of the organization), to role specific onboarding plans, and recurring 1x1 meetings with direct managers we strive to create a variety of opportunities for you to connect, learn, grow and share any concerns in a proactive way. While we regret that you didn't raise these concerns proactively during your short time with us, we appreciate the outreach and certainly wish you the best going forward.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Starts well, but 100% doesn't end that way...

      Aug 7, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Free Lunch (4 out of the 5 days) -Most lower-level coworkers are willing to help you out -Some of the events that the company hosts are fun to participate in

      Cons

      -The onboarding process is ROUGH to say the least. You get a good start, but it reverts to startup-quality onboarding where you're almost on your own in some departments. -Benefits could be better (insurance-wise) -There is NO true internal movement unless it's out of necessity here. Job requirements are so high that internal applicants DON'T apply as they're told they don't meet the minimum. -There are no resources for you to learn how to move up or out of your position. They were in the process of creating a new structure for this, but it's just a structural change, not assistance with how to actually be better. -Once you find out your worth, you'll find that pay is not the greatest here. It could be worse, but don't be surprised if you're making less than others as a higher tiered employee. -The lack of product knowledge across the board makes it REALLY hard to get help when trying to address something (from how to market to how to support, it's a shame when nobody seems to know exactly how the newest features work besides one person) Lastly, upper management seems to be it complete disarray when it comes to the VPs. There's no communication between lower level and the C-level so nobody's ever on the same page, and it generally is very hard to get the right message about the company, its future, and your future when different people tell you polar opposites about what's going on.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      I'm sorry to hear of your viewpoint. We have had over 40 internal promotions and transfers so far this year, including transitions between teams and departments, so there is certainly opportunity for continued growth. I see you're no longer with the company, so you missed out on the exciting news we shared this week that we were able to secure a 0% rate increase on medical benefits for our employees, and simplified our plans for easier use. We'll continue to share our progress with everyone in the organization through our monthly town halls and other channels as we completely agree that successful and consistent communication is the cornerstone of our continued growth. We wish you all the best in your career!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales

      Apr 17, 2018 - Sales Representative in Holmdel, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've only been here for about 3 months, but so far everything is going very well and as explained to me in the interview. A ton of growth here so I'm hoping for advancement opportunities in the future. Goals and company vision are very transparent, and the new head of sales is making some really great changes here. Closed a couple deals already, so looking forward to the commission following! Free lunch helps with both the wallet and getting to know everyone here.

      Cons

      Growing pains I guess; we're growing quickly and need more mid level managerial support, which I'm told is coming.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent

      We're so glad to hear that you're enjoying being a part of WorkWave! Our Sales team is certainly growing quickly, and we're excited to be actively adding additional talent to the team. Thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to your continued success!

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Support

      Aug 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool new office Free lunch Great people

      Cons

      bureaucracy Constant follow up required with other teams

      2 people found this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      Glad to hear you are enjoying our new office at BellWorks and your co-workers! Communication is indeed something companies need to continually work at, and we are committed to doing just that. If you have suggestions to offer, please let your manager or our HR team know!

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working at WorkWave!

      Jun 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice atmosphere, free lunch, and positive work environment. New building is much more spacious and the free gym is a really great perk.

      Cons

      None at this time, really enjoy working for this company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      Thanks! So glad to hear that you're enjoying the new office and the perks that BellWorks has to offer. Yes, proactive communication is really important to us. We encourage our employees to leverage our internal portal to proactively share information as much as possible, and have targeted email groups set up as well to allow for easy communication to teams. If you find any news isn't shared in a timely manner, please definitely let your manager or our VP of Talent know so that we can improve our processes going forward!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A Great Place to Work!

      Jun 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      WorkWave was named one of the best places to work in NJ, and with good reason. They truly invest in their employees, and give plenty of opportunities for you to grow within the company. Management not your thing? No problem, you can be an individual contributor and still successful here. Work/Life balance is great, generous PTO, 401k match, health insurance & health insurance reimbursement program, as well as free lunch. We literally have a basketball hoop, ping/pong, chess, and video game rooms at our new office. A few times a year we are surprised by fun employee events, such as food trucks for lunch, ice cream sundae bars, happy hours, fitbit challenges, etc. I can't say enough great things about this company, they truly go above and beyond to ensure their employees are raving fans!

      Cons

      No real cons! This place is great.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      Excellent to hear! These perks are all our way of saying thank you for all the hard work that you, and all our employees, do every day. Thanks for sharing your experience!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      WorkWave- The place to be!

      Jun 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Holmdel, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with WorkWave for a year now and the experience of being employed here has been a great one. Now that we have moved to the new office it has moved in an even more positive direction. Pros: Free lunch, growing company with plenty of room to advance, great office culture, good work/life balance including most major holidays off and a real focus on employee appreciation, good benefits. Most of all you aren't just a number. You can make a difference no matter what you do and you are encouraged to help make an impact, no matter your title. None of this will go unrecognized. When I describe a given week at the office to friends and family they are jealous that their employers do not run their business the same way and they wish they could come work for us!

      Cons

      My success and experience here in a short time leave me with no real cons to mention.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! It's wonderful to have so many that care deeply about creating great products and making sure our clients are raving fans. Thanks for all you do!

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      One Foot in the Future, With "Growing Pains" of the Past

      Mar 20, 2017 - Software Engineer in Neptune, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      WorkWave is a company that believes itself to be one marching toward the future and innovating on the way, like a lean, modern start up company with great funding. In many ways, it is an ideal place to work, because it has the financial backing of flagship software, has had the ability to make aggressive business decisions with rapid acquisitions and deals, and it has a vision for the future in a unified suite of software products. These are the kinds of moves that turn a successful software company into an industry leader. WorkWave wants and is making moves toward that goal, and if you ask anyone in the company about this vision, I’m sure that it will align to that for the most part. The benefits are great, the company has regular events for its employees, offers free lunch, and generally offers kind perks to the people who work there. They’re also moving into BellWorks, a massive new office space with innovation and inventiveness at its core.

      Cons

      There are problems in the company’s culture, however, often attributed to “growing pains” in the recent rapid growth of the company. Whether or not that is true, there are elements of toxicity within the environment at WorkWave and sometimes, one can see cracks in the perception of a happy “Best Place to Work” that is so well-maintained. If you peruse the reviews, you’ll find plenty of nondescript short-answer praises of the company that shadow out other reviews from people with complaints of a culture that felt exclusionary and limiting for one reason or another. Engineers leaving this company have pointed out problems with management and supportability of software among other things, but when good things are said, rarely ever is the internal communication or development process particularly praised. There is reason for that. The vision that is shared from the top is having a lot of trouble in its actual implementation, and instead of getting the opinions of the people who actually do the work on these features, developers get hit with “accelerated” deadlines and “aggressive” roadmaps by proxy through middle management. Integrating products sounds really cool from the top, but when that integration isn’t well-supported by smart software development decisions, it builds a house of cards. Not only that, but there is also a culture within engineering that smells toxic, and I’ve experienced that element more and more as I remained at the company. I can’t speak to other departments, because I didn’t really work in them. As a concrete example of this, one day I was staying late to finish up some work on a feature that was lagging somewhat (something I don’t mind doing, but building a culture of this is obviously detrimental and another problem entirely of developer superiority complexes.) Most of the other engineers had left, and I saw a group of the “old timer” engineers displaying pictures of one of the newer engineers on a projector and deriding this person, making fun them and laughing at their expense. I didn’t report this, because I’m not the kind of person who wants to cause trouble and people were already talking crap about me for being on social media in the open office environment. I was so repulsed by this that I grabbed my stuff and left to keep working at home. That, combined with a culture that thinks it’s a good idea to report new hires to management for “taking too many breaks” or “being on social media” without knowing anything about how much an employee _actually does_ should be a major red flag to any prospective or existing employee here.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're super excited about our upcoming relocation to BellWorks, and eager to share our continued growth and success with our talented employees. We're glad to hear that you found value in our benefits, perks, and start up spirit - as we work very hard to provide the best for our teams. We are disheartened to hear of your team level experiences and will certainly be follow up on your claims accordingly. It's unfortunate that we weren't given the opportunity to address these items while you were with us, but do appreciate you bringing them to our attention now. We wish you all the best in your continued career and thank you for your contributions during your time with us.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good an bad

      Dec 26, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Neptune, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work / life balance, laid back environment, casual dress, most major holidays off, you have the ability to work from home

      Cons

      The place is full of cliques. They rather higher people from outside than use the talented individuals they already have working there. They make you feel like it is a place you can build a career but there appears to be no upwards mobility. Not really sure that upper management really knows how the people are treated by middle management. If you care and speak up you may get a target placed on you. The free lunch isn't really free since you have to work while you eat it. We do these anonymous surveys where they use your feedback to make the place better but lately instead of going over the results they go over them in a one on one setting where it feels like they are trying to see who said what. The few do 80 percent of the work while the others skate by and get all the praise. The ones thy do the work don't get the promotions though. The raises if you get one are small and for all the hard work you do you don't even get year end bonuses. We used to feel like a family but now it's more like we are replaceable numbers.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      Advancement opportunities are indeed available to those that work hard and embrace our core values. In fact, we had over 12 employees do just that in the last quarter alone! We are beyond proud and grateful for the efforts of all of our WorkWavers all over the world, and are sorry to hear you haven't had the same positive experience as so many others. To avoid feeling like a number, I encourage you to not act like a number - but instead talk to our VP of Talent directly so that we can understand your unique situation and offer support and guidance.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A place to call home!

      Oct 28, 2016 -  in Neptune, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      WorkWave is a truly inspiring and motivating place to work. They have created a culture and environment full of positive, friendly, ambitious, and open-minded people from entry level all the way to executive leadership. WorkWave is a very fulfilling place to work because you can genuinely make a difference. There is great office morale, positive energy, and upward mobility. WorkWave promotes healthy work/life balance and truly cares about their employees. Additionally, the many perks (such as a soon-to-be brand new office space and free lunch every day) are unbeatable. I am a raving fan, for sure!

      Cons

      I really don't have anything to list as a con!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      WorkWave Response

      VP, Talent Management

      That's wonderful to hear! It's our goal to make all employees (and clients) raving fans. Thanks for everything you do to make our culture the best it can be!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

    Work at WorkWave? Share Your Experiences

    WorkWave logo
    or