Woodruff Sawyer "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Woodruff Sawyer Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jun 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Woodruff Sawyer Chief Executive Officer Andy Barrengos
Andy Barrengos
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits are competitive and the work/life balance aspect is achievable(in 13 reviews)

  • "The People, Flexible Work Schedules, Benefits, and My Team(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only con is that WS is not as large as some other brokers so some resources are limited, but that is more than offset by the work environment(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lots of Favoritism, no accountability from middle management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Modern organization on the outside, traditional organization on the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, remote work available, small yet powerful office.

    Cons

    Micromanagement, lack of professionalism, unrealistic amount of work and deadlines, upper management has favorites, toxic work environment from manager, and zero technical training. It was unfortunate to realize that this company still operated under a traditional style. “Moving up the ladder" meant, essentially, competing against a 10-15 year experienced Account Manager. The work given could vary from punching holes in paper work, to dealing with complex audits. Need help figuring out or basic training how to work a carrier portal? Good luck, there isn’t any. The only training given was theory based and the technical training (how to actually complete an assignment) didn’t exist. After asking for technical training, the manager would give an hours worth, maybe two, of technical training and then I would be on my own. Good luck asking for additional help or if you didn’t take adequate notes. The manager had a short fuse when asked multiple questions. That’s where the outer layer of a seemingly positive company culture started to head towards a negative direction. An entry level employee should come in versed and ready to learn but should never hesitate to ask questions and that’s how I felt near the end of my employment with this company. Whether it be 5 or 100 questions, management should be ready and willing to answer the questions. The majority of the training provided were 1-2 hour long videos, which didn’t end up helping much. Being forced to learn on my own, I eventually reached out to the other employees within the company (both Denver and the SF office) in hopes that they could provide further training, where the manager lacked in doing so. This is where an actual training system would benefit the company. If management, specifically the manager, finds it difficult and frustrating to find the time to train an employee, create a training program. The solution isn’t to find an employee with 10 plus years, on their way out to retire to fill in an entry level position. The company should invest in a fresh batch of people, ready and willing to learn. Finding the seemingly “easy way” by hiring an experienced employee for an entry level position will have immediate relief but will not benefit the company in the long run. The most frustrating, degrading, and embarrassing moment was when I was called out on my work performance, not in a private office or conference room, but out in the open where all of my cubicle neighbors witnessed. I’m not assuming my cubicle neighbors heard what my manager said to me, I know they heard. I know this because my neighbor IM’ed me through the company computer, saying, “Hang in there, it’ll get easier.” I would wake up miserable knowing I had to get ready to go to work. My last weeks of employment were disrupting my mental sanity. This is a great company to work for. My comments to improve the company: don’t play favorites, create a training system/program, invest in your entry level employees just as much as your senior employees and don’t go overboard on the workload.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2019-06-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and company. The company will be celebrating 100 years in 2018, something to be said about a company with that longevity. Awesome benefits and work environment

    Cons

    Nothing I can thing of!

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2017-08-30

    Woodruff Sawyer Response

    April 27, 2018AVP, Recruiting

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you being a part of the community

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Account Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Very positive and uplifting work environment. 2. Opportunity for continued growth and advancement in position. 3. Flexible work/life balance. 4. Informational benefit/health/educational seminars. 5. Woodruff-Sawyer is community driven w/ volunteering opportunities. 6. Hard work is rewarded. 7. Open to new and creative ideas, innovative.

    Cons

    1. Room for improvement in technology and account based systems.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2017-04-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Love Woodruff-Sawyer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -phenomenal work environment; positive and sharp coworkers and supportive management -dynamic brokerage -opportunities to develop professionally - education reimbursement -flexible work schedules -in heart of Financial District -incredible culture -CARE program - giving back to community -management supports promotions and development

    Cons

    -can't think of any; truly a wonderful company to be a part of.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2016-12-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture. Great place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer

    Pros

    Love the atmosphere, camaraderie and they way they treat their employees. They place a high value on treating their employees well and that results in happy people who provide great client service

    Cons

    Only con is that WS is not as large as some other brokers so some resources are limited, but that is more than offset by the work environment

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2016-01-29

    Woodruff Sawyer Response

    March 2, 2016HR Representative

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We truly believe the employees make the difference working at Woodruff-Sawyer and our company culture is one that supports collaboration, exploration and innovation.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (9)

    "More than meet the eye"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Woodruff Sawyer for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable company, great location (SF office), good benefits, co-workers are for the most part friendly.

    Cons

    Base salaries are not aligned with the market. I would have been happy to work every Friday if that meant a more competitive compensation. Rigid, old school work environment. Woodruff-Sawyer is also a very political organization and self-interests are disturbing. You are in a good shape If you are noticed by the right people at the top (maybe 2 of them), otherwise, you will stay in the same cube until you retire. Many employees are staying because they've fallen into complacency and they know they are no longer competitive. Every day in this company and you fall a little more behind the curve and settling back into the 20th century. You know there is a problem when your HR department and your CEO ask employees to post reviews on Glassdoor during a company meeting, but ONLY if they are positive. They suggested directing any negative comments to HR! Who doesn't run to HR to bring up concerns?

    Woodruff Sawyer2016-02-22

    Woodruff Sawyer Response

    March 2, 2016HR Representative

    Thank you for the feedback and review. We want to take the opportunity to respond to your review. We have always focused on improving all aspects of the organization and appreciate employees who provide feedback on our processes and culture. We are strong supporters of internal growth and believe we've created a sound career path for individuals who want to develop and grow. We are very sorry to hear you haven't found this to be the case. We also have a dedicated HR team who will look into any issues employees are facing and are committed to resolving them. We will share this feedback with our HR team as we are always exploring ways we can make improvements.

    Continue reading
  7. "SVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Vice President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer

    Pros

    culture, collaboration, communication, leadership, people, nimble, empowerment

    Cons

    fast paced work environment (pro and a con)

    Woodruff Sawyer2015-12-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing work culture and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful location, good benefits, work-life balance, flexible schedule, very supportive upper management, great career path if you want to move up, fun events with free food and drinks. Awesome company gatherings! Work hard play hard environment. This company also cares about the community with volunteer work. Upper management is very humble and values employees. How can you not respect that? Most employees are very positive and it's contagious. Amazing work culture and values..

    Cons

    There are too many initiatives going on at the same time. Some processes are very outdated but solutions are being made. There is a ton of work! Hopefully these new initiatives will alleviate all the time consuming projects. Every work environment has a handful of negative people..Wish they would move on. "SOME" middle management will make you feel guilty for taking a flex day or vacation.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2015-04-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Woodruff-Sawyer is a wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claim Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodruff Sawyer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The collaborative work environment, peer and management support, and company leadership makes Woodruff-Sawyer an all-around exemplary place to work. As an employee owned company, we all have a stake in the Company results for the mutual benefit of our clients and Woodruff-Sawyer. Everyone is treated like a professional adult here; we have work-schedule flexibility; great benefits; and we know how to have fun too.

    Cons

    If you require constant supervision, are not self-motivated, and do not have a desire to serve client needs, then you need not apply. Everyone is expected to pull their own weight here whether you're the CEO or the new person on the team. We recruit top talent, provide ongoing training, and it should not be a surprise we are expected to achieve great things.

    Continue reading
    Woodruff Sawyer2014-11-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews