Wodify Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 30, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5 of over 71 reviews

2.7
43%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Wodify Founder and CEO Ameet Shah
Ameet Shah
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "relaxed dress code(in 5 reviews)

  • "Work with the most talented people in their field(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It's a fast-paced environment where you must achieve excellence goals in a short time(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is also a prevalent theme(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Seriously... Don't do it.

      Nov 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cherry Hill, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people are great and the pay is decent. Note: The company solicits reviews from employees so do not believe everything you read on here. The culture also dramatically varies across office locations, so pay close attention to the location that you are looking at.

      Cons

      - Work life balance is horrible, employees frequently work long hours and are expected to drop important plans last minute. - Management does not respect employees - Employees, especially women, are frequently spoken to in a way that is not appropriate in any environment, especially at work. Lewd, demeaning, and derogatory comments are frequent and unwelcome and unfortunately occur with no assistance from HR. - Management does not coach employees or help them develop their skills, several employees have been fired but received little to no coaching to even attempt to help them be more successful in their role. - It's been said before but employees are constantly walking on eggshells. Job security is not a reality at Wodify. - Growth opportunities are scarce or non-existent. - Mistakes are tracked and feedback is scarce - The company says they encourage learning from failures but employees that fail even once are heavily criticized and frequently leave the company shortly after.

      Continue reading
      31 people found this review helpful

      Wodify Response

      HR Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate the candid feedback. We want to continue progressing and growing as a company and we are grateful to hear about your experience. We’re really sorry to hear you didn’t have a great experience at Wodify. Our goal is to be very transparent from the hiring process, it seems like there were some misaligned expectations, and we’ll certainly take this into consideration for the benefit of our employees. We are really proud of the team that we have and we do tend to pay above market rates. We have two awesome offices, one in Portugal and one in the US, naturally, there can be some cultural differences between offices in two different countries. We make every effort possible to align our offices with a common mission and values. In regards to soliciting reviews, Glassdoor encourages employers to request reviews from their employees. It is common practice, see for yourself on Glassdoor's blog! As we transition from a small startup to a mid-sized company, there are times when hard work and putting in extra time comes with the job. Wodify values hard, smart work and great performance. We believe it’s really important for the success of the organization! I’m really sorry to hear you didn’t feel respected. We do not ever want you to feel unsafe or unwelcomed at Wodify. We take this type of complaint seriously and we would hope you do reach out to alert our team about any instances of inappropriate behavior. Earlier this year we implemented bi-weekly check-ins between managers and employees to encourage feedback and coaching. If you require an inordinate amount of coaching and feedback, this type of environment may not be for you. Employees who perform well have had and can have growth opportunities within the organization, as we have many examples of this in the company. We are a smaller sized company so there isn’t a big corporate ladder to climb, which again, we are transparent about in the hiring process. Our hope is to continue to improve our internal structure so that there is a clear career path for everyone, we hear you loud and clear and we realize employee growth is key to our continued success. Nevertheless, we are always happy to listen to any suggestions or feedback provided by employees. We use a tool for employees to provide anonymous feedback, so employees feel comfortable expressing any concerns they have. We want to welcome you to open a discussion with us in regards to your feedback, please feel free to reach out to us.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Just don't

      Dec 5, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am only writing something because there is a twenty word minimum. Unfortunately, the first sentence was not twenty words.

      Cons

      - The promises the hiring team/management/upper management make are almost certainly lies. - There is absolutely no work/life balance - just a "work now" mentality. If you calculate your hourly rate, you can make the same rate substitute teaching. - You're not part of a team. You're hired and upper management believes they own you. Like a dog. - SMEs have been fired for doing their job - asking questions and attempting to make things better. - People have been fired for not coming into work on their scheduled PTO - I'm willing to bet my salary the "good reviews" on this website were an inside job. - There's no possible way people at this company like what they're doing.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      Wodify Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Wodify, we are very sorry that your time here did not meet your expectations. We do take this feedback seriously and will use it as we continually work on improving our company culture and relationships between managers and employees. We cannot however, apologize for the fact that we are a fast paced, hard working organization. At times you will be asked to work extended hours, grow your skill set, adjust to change, and adapt on the fly, we realize this type of work environment is not for everyone. Our goal is to make our culture and expectations very clear during the recruiting and hiring process because we understand that it will not be a good fit for everyone. We believe anyone who works here would agree that although they may put in long hours there is never a time where they are working more than or harder than the management team. You can count on the fact that everyone will pull their weight including management to ensure the entire team's success. We have talented, dedicated people that we are grateful to for helping us get to where we are today.

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      With a grain of salt...

      Apr 20, 2017 -  in Cherry Hill, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      While the pros may be few and far between, there are certainly some here that can be seen at face value. -Casual work attire -Good pay and insurance benefits -Snacks, beer, and wine in the office -Some of the best and brighest peers to ever have been assembled -Comfortable office setting -Good exposure to different skill sets and tools. You probably won't be taught them, but good to keep in your back pocket to develop later in your free time.

      Cons

      -As other reviews have stated in the past, you can't help but feel the pressure of "walking on eggshell". It's not just from the management, but the product itself. Aside from not knowing 'who' will shut you down this week, you'll worry just as much about what will go wrong with a deployment to create a whole new set of issues to resonate through and interrupt your routine. -While they say they do, management never seems to learn from their past mistakes. Often repeating the same tropes and mishaps while constantly reassuring that, "we'll never make that mistake again." -Work/life balance is also a prevalent theme. Good luck trying to find a daily regiment; you''ll be married to this job and the office. Even when you get home, you'll still bring your work home with you. Completely understand overtime on occasion, but your time simply isn't valued as an employee. -Plans hardly stay steady - expect to usually completely change direction with any project or task you're working on. Key phrases Wodify will use like "staying agile" really seems implied to mean something else... In addition: -No training with a "trial by fire"/"thrown to the wolves" mentality. -No room for growth or advancement. -No HR department. -Management isn't open to criticism. -Lack of transparency between among departments and management.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful

      Wodify Response

      HR Manager

      We really appreciate you taking the time to review our company! Our apologies for the delayed response. Thanks for the list of pros! We are very proud of the talented people that make up our team, glad to hear you’ve enjoyed working with your colleagues, among some of the other perks that come along with being an employee at Wodify. Thanks for pointing out some of your pain points. We’ll certainly take your feedback into consideration. In regards to feeling pressure, our team definitely works at a fast pace in an effort to keep our customers running great businesses. With that in mind, we’ve grown our team tremendously over the past few years (specifically this year) to stay in stride. We’ve made several changes in management over the past few months, including hiring an HR Manager. We’re always looking for ways to improve work/life balance and we’ve definitely made some changes over time, such as implementing a flexible vacation policy. Our team is full of hardworking and competitive employees who tend to go the extra mile for the sake of success (which we love). As far as growth goes, we prefer promoting from within, there is plenty of evidence of that at Wodify. As we grow I foresee us implementing new approaches in the future, like a more tiered structure within departments that can provide more of a direct career path for those who wish to have one. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit this review, we appreciate the feedback you’ve given and will definitely use it in an effort to continue improving!

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Avoid at all Costs

      Aug 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You don't have to dress up. Many of the employees that work there are cool and fun to hang out with. Pay is decent.

      Cons

      The moral is low and spread throughout many of the employees. Zero work/life balance. No room for growth. The owner is a giant narcissist who has made poor business decisions over the past 12 months that has put the product in a bad position to grow. Some unethical business practices from employees, including the owner, to hurt competitors business. Many of the employees that made the company successful have left over the past 6 months.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      Wodify Response

      HR Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your suggestions and have implemented initiatives to make Wodify a great place to work.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Be careful

      Dec 5, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is above average. The people are nice.

      Cons

      You work a lot and are expected to be available any minute any day. Work/Life balance non existent. Do not have an opinion that might disagree with CEO or you might be next. Management are CEO's hand puppets, enforcing his dictatorship for their own benefit instead of being the voice of their teams. Most people are not happy but are stuck because the pay is above average.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful

      Wodify Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Wodify, we are glad to hear that you enjoy the people at Wodify but sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with management. We do take this feedback seriously and will use it as we continually work on improving work-life balance for our employees as well as relationships between managers and employees. We cannot however, apologize for the fact that we are a fast paced, hard working organization. At times you will be asked to work extended hours, grow your skill set, adjust to change, and adapt on the fly, we realize this type of work environment is not for everyone and we try to make that very clear during the recruiting and hiring process. As a small startup company hard work and putting in extra time simply comes with the role. We have recently implemented an anonymous feedback tool to allow for management to receive constant feedback from their team, based on this feedback we are happy to say we have very happy employees who enjoy their jobs.

    Viewing 1 - 5 of 5 English Reviews

    Work at Wodify? Share Your Experiences

    Wodify logo
    or