Windstream Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Windstream Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1283 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Windstream CEO Tony Thomas
Tony Thomas
492 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, innovative leadership, good work/life balance(in 58 reviews)

  • "good people, good work life balance(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Many of upper management comes from Earthlink a failing company that Windstream purchased(in 67 reviews)

  • "Sales job sometimes crosses over into customer service but most of the time focusing on Sales(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Mansfield-et-Pontefract, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream

    Pros

    good staff sometimes no lunch but great otherwise no clean but ok

    Cons

    bad pay bad managemnet employees can be mean they just want workkkkkkkkkkkkk

    Advice to Management

    inc pay

    Windstream2017-01-15
  2. "It was a good learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Technician I in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to learn how to troubleshoot for broadband issues, help customers with email, setup of modem and helping customers with inquiries.

    Cons

    You will need to learn how to deal with upset customers and handle difficult calls a lot of times. The schedule is somewhat not good.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be a policy to allow employees to trade schedule or shifts with their co workers.

    Windstream2017-02-23
  3. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and plans for the employees , great working environment

    Cons

    no good training for new employees or less chances to get promote

    Advice to Management

    bring some new on job training programs to train your new employees

    Windstream2016-05-15
  4. "Good company, bad processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Account Executive in Hudson, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great products, techs and vision

    Cons

    Poor order processing and flow. Consumes too much sales rep time. Quotas doubled but target payout stayed the same.

    Advice to Management

    Add a care person to assist with orders or streamline the rep’s processing time.

    Windstream2019-05-15
  5. "not sure what this is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Cedar Rapids, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Working from home is approved.

    Cons

    Supervisors and managers are not schooled properly to do their jobs.

    Windstream2019-05-10
  6. "Frustrating to a good employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, but no raises for three years and no hope for one in the future. It doesn't matter how hard you work. Only way to get a raise is to be promoted to another position. This used to be a really good place to work.

    Cons

    Management constantly forwarding on FYI emails, no guidance or support. Not enough contractors to get the work done in the timeframes desired...you are just a whipping post for all the project trackers. Management knows the issues and does nothing to add construction crews.

    Advice to Management

    Management is not doing there jobs, just forwarding all responsibilities to the end of the line. And please stop adding people in between to track what can't be done without adding more workers to build the infrastructure.

    Windstream2019-05-14
  7. "Hot mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time

    Pros

    Pay Check. Lap top. A way out!

    Cons

    Where can we begin. Managers are so high on themselves its awesome. Inflated value. Warning, morale is at a all time low. WE will suck the creative blood out of you.

    Advice to Management

    Don't micromanage. Learn your teams skill sets.

    Windstream2019-05-10
  8. "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer I in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Windstream has a strong culture with people that really care about the company. I haven't had a negative experience with a coworker. The flexibility to work from home is a nice plus as well.

    Cons

    Instability and disorganization are the two primary cons I've experienced. There have been frequent layoffs while I've been with the company.

    Advice to Management

    The CEO accepting a sizeable contract right around the time of the Ch. 11 filing isn't a very good look.

    Windstream2019-04-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company but.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Analyst in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Company has decent insurance coverage (vision, medical, dental, 401k). My coworkers are really great people, and makes the work life really enjoyable.

    Cons

    The amount of recent layoffs due to a huge financial court case loss recently leaves a lot to be desired when thinking about job security. Insurance deductible is really high. Annual pay raises are minuscule or nonexistent. Moving up in the company is virtually impossible. Dealing with other groups leaves a lot to be desired; a lot of the time end up doing their job for them since they have little or no training.

    Advice to Management

    Reinstate or add onto existing pay raises (excluding executives and sales). It'll boost morale and you'll get better work from your employees.

    Windstream2019-04-22

    Windstream Response

    April 23, 2019Windstream Talent

    Thank you for writing your review. As a People Powered organization we strive to invest in, develop and recognize excellence in our team as best we can. Our employees are very valuable to us, and we're always looking to make improvements as a company and as an employer.

  10. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Retention Agent in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Schedule, free lunch and coworkers

    Cons

    Micromanagement, Dept is an off shoot of Sales

    Windstream2019-04-22
Found 1283 reviews