Windstream Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Engineer

Windstream Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Windstream CEO Tony Thomas
Tony Thomas
50 Ratings
  1. "Good work/life balance but benefits need work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer III in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with schedules. Ability to work remotely.

    Cons

    Very rare to get raises. Insurance is poor

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-08-15
  2. "Not what you would expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Broken Arrow, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company located in many markets. Lots of potential.

    Cons

    Small clique in Little Rock determine who rises and who falls. Corporate culture is built on a pyramid of yes men. I was shocked at how some long-time, dedicated employees were summarily dumped in some unannounced, totally unexpected layoff. Cost cutting schemes and layoffs ruled the day.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "No Raise and Poor Benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSP ENGINEER in Macon, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Left alone if you get your work done. Good Dental and Vision insurance. Good PTO.

    Cons

    Heavy work load but manageable. Health insurance is terrible. No Pension Plan. 401k terrible. No merit raise for salaried employees therefore, will make less next year if insurance premiums go up. If a person takes a different role like a managers job they will get only a small raise compared to a person that is given that same role but new to the company. Manager jobs are filled many times through the buddy system.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-07-24

    Windstream Response

    August 5, 2019Windstream Talent

    We’re sorry to hear of your disappointment with the pay/benefits Windstream offers. We're always looking to improve our offerings to our employees. Appreciate you taking the time to leave a review as your opinion matters!

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Company with flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Allow remote work - Great Paid - Great Team collabration

    Cons

    - At times there could be a large volume of work - There will be fire drill for orders from time to time - There are to many systems / tools needed in order to do some jobs.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-07-25

    Windstream Response

    August 5, 2019Windstream Talent

    We are sorry to hear about your experience with your training as a Windstream employee. We encourage all employees to discuss these situations with your manager and HR, as our employees' training and development are important to us.

    Continue reading
  5. "Lack of training and changing procedures mid campaign and not letting everyone know."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSP/Network Engineer in Meadville, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the employees are good hard working people and willing to help each other to be successful

    Cons

    There is little to no training, I had to teach myself or get help from coworkers and take away from there work. Support from upper management is terrible. I went 4 months without most of my computer systems that are required to do my job not working and no one would get it resolved.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-08-01

    Windstream Response

    August 5, 2019Windstream Talent

    We are sorry to hear about your experience with your training as a Windstream employee. We encourage all employees to discuss these situations with your manager and HR, as our employees' training and development are important to us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review to let us know what we can work on!

    Continue reading
  6. "good place to work and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Network Engineer in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good place to work and develop

    Cons

    No cons found for this company

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-06-21

    Windstream Response

    July 2, 2019Windstream Talent

    We appreciate your honest review and are glad to hear you are happy with the Windstream culture and environment. We work hard to offer an inclusive and happy work environment for all.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have great people to work with. We are constantly improving for our customers. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Only offer high deductible health care plans. Pay could be better or at least some .

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-05-31

    Windstream Response

    June 20, 2019Windstream Talent

    We’re sorry to hear of your disappointment with the pay/benefits Windstream offers. We're always looking to improve our offerings to our employees as we consider them to be our greatest asset. We will take this to heart and thank you for leaving your review.

    Continue reading
  8. "True North Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineering in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Top 10 service providers in the US. Delivers quality services to our Customers. Invests aggressively in strategic network assets and partnerships.

    Cons

    Higher percentage of jobs being outsourced. Institutional knowledge being replaced with off-shore resources. High churn in top level leadership and shifting of priorities. Very limited employee incentive programs

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-05-30
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Disheartening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours for some employees. There exists knowledgeable and committed management in product development and operations areas. There are high levels of camaraderie at the worker bee level.

    Cons

    Many areas have extremely low morale due to the state of the company and ongoing lack of results from highest levels of management. Employees have not had a raise (merit or cost of living) in 3 years. CEO is grossly overpaid (relative to his industry peer group) and gets $20M "re-sign" on bonus and other unearned benefits after driving company into the ground since day one on the job.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-05-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros in this company.

    Cons

    Everything about this company is a con.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-06-20

    Windstream Response

    July 2, 2019Windstream Talent

    We are sorry to hear you were not pleased with your time at Windstream- thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
Found 96 reviews