Windstream Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Windstream President and CEO Tony Thomas
Tony Thomas
66 Ratings
  1. "Great environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Plenty of autonomy in executing tasks; No micro-management

    Cons

    Heavy focus on hitting schedule but little effort in going back to fix shortcuts that may had to have been taken to hit dates.

    Windstream Response

    October 3, 2019Windstream Talent

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!

  2. "Good Place to start"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PV Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good opportunity to start and see how SDLC is handled - Work life balance

    Cons

    - Upper management too resistance for a change - Limited growth - Compensation not comparable - Limited office activities

    Windstream Response

    July 9, 2020Windstream Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review


  3. "Teamwork and Innovation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Customer is the priority, good communication to employees, strong on telecommuting, support for continuing education, support for innovation. I work with a great team and each day is different, I am never bored.

    Cons

    Career path may be limited, training programs are limited, structural change is constant

    Continue reading

    Windstream Response

    June 22, 2020Windstream Talent

    We are sorry to hear about your experience with your training as a Windstream employee. We encourage all employees to discuss these situations with your manager and HR, as our employees' training and development are important to us. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review!

  4. "The organization is in a very unstable flux causing management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Matthews, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High layoff rate. If you are looking for stability then this might not be the best company to work for. Compensation/Pay rate could be better as well.

    Cons

    High layoff rate. If you are looking for stability then this might not be the best company to work for.

    Windstream Response

    July 2, 2020Windstream Talent

    We’re sorry to hear of your disappointment with the pay/benefits Windstream offers. We're always looking to improve our offerings to our employees as we consider them to be our greatest asset.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointed"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most of the people were great.

    Cons

    Upper management made some bad decisions that set the company back years.

    Continue reading

    Windstream Response

    June 8, 2020Windstream Talent

    Thank you for leaving an honest review of Windstream's management. We are sorry to hear about your experience.

  6. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team I miss them

    Cons

    Management seemed like a buddy system to me

    Continue reading

    Windstream Response

    June 8, 2020Windstream Talent

    We appreciate you leaving a review

  7. COVID-19

    "Good so far, excited to grow more into the company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge of technology, huge employer in Arkansas

    Cons

    non remote (other than COVID 19)

    Continue reading

    Windstream Response

    March 24, 2020Windstream Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! Our employees are very valuable to us, and we're always looking to make improvements as a company and as an employer.

  8. "Good."

    4.0
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of great people.

    Cons

    It can be very political.

    Continue reading

    Windstream Response

    March 2, 2020Windstream Talent

    Thank you for taking the time and for your honest review!

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Poor culture, but good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement lots of technology to get exposed to lots of personal growth potential

    Cons

    poor culture constant lay-offs and organizational changes disconnect between upper and lower management, where the wrong people are let go, and the cost savings are from the wrong places

    Continue reading

    Windstream Response

    February 27, 2020Windstream Talent

    Thank you for sharing your experience. One of the Windstream core values is Respect. We promote the sharing of new ideas & opinions while embracing an atmosphere of teamwork and trust. Talking to people not about them considering all opinions equal to your own. We apologize you did not have the same experience and would like to further research your situation.

  10. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great teams to work with

    Cons

    not lot of innovation and hard to shift teams

Found 125 reviews