Wincon Security Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 29 reviews

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Wincon Security Founder and Director of Operations Winston Stewart
Winston Stewart
8 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    good exp

    Feb 8, 2021 - Security Guard 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good working environment in the company

    Cons

    very less room for growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Nice Company

    Apr 1, 2021 - Security Guard in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small company so everyone is familiar.

    Cons

    I had no real issues.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great experience

    Jan 15, 2020 - Site Supervisor in Markham, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stable site, great staff, good hours, accommodating with time off requests, supportive management. Great job for students or future police applicants.

    Cons

    Communication with head off can be slow at at times but always got back to you within a reasonable time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Loss prevention

    Mar 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The experience working as a Loss prevention officer allowed me to gain invaluable experience. I improved my conflict de- escalation skills, communication skills, written communication skills and conflict resolution skills. These skill sets allowed me to move unto becoming a correctional officer and now police constable. The pay was great, and management was always there to assist me with my goals and achieve them.

    Cons

    Time would go by slow some days, if you’re unable to catch any shoplifters

    1 person found this review helpful

    Wincon Security Response

    HR Coordinator

    This is awesome to hear and thank you for allowing Wincon and the fine people here to be part of your experience. Best of luck to you. Regards, Winston

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company

    Apr 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, people, ownership, potential for advancement

    Cons

    Communication lacks but getting better everyday

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wincon Security Response

    HR Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback, culture , ownership and internal growth and advancement is what we are about. It is great to see that it is resonating with our employees. Regards, Winston

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Overall Alright

    Nov 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    their shifts are 8hrs, so it gives you enough time to rest up for your next shift or have a social life.

    Cons

    stingy on pay. they make you pay for everything, including the badges, epaullettes, jackets, etc. and when you are close to passing your 40hrs of work, they will find others to fill in the shifts so you can't get overtime. Supervisors do not get overtime, so hence why people aren't motivated to stay there and work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wincon Security Response

    HR Coordinator

    Thanks for the advice, if you are at a site where the client is willing to pay overtime then it makes sense for the company to keep the guard there but in some cases that is not possible and we have to bring in someone who will not be in overtime status. Regards,, Winston

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Security Supervisor

    Dec 25, 2018 - Supervisor in Markham, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is higher then other companies

    Cons

    Your locations will change abruptly with a day notice

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wincon Security Response

    HR Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback, We try to refrain from moving staff but based on the needs of our clients and the many different situations that comes up on a site it is required. Regards, Winston

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awful Management

    May 11, 2019 - Security Guard in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I honestly cannot think of one

    Cons

    Poor management, rude schedulers. Everything you can expect from a low tier security company you get with Wincon.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wincon Security Response

    HR Coordinator

    Wow I am sorry to see that this has been your experience at Wincon. I can honestly say that this is one of the first time I have come across such a negative feedback. I would love to connect with you personally to find out your experience. Regards, Winston

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    From Loss Prevention Officer to Correctional Officer

    Sep 20, 2017 - Correctional Officer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I only worked for Wincon Security about 1.5 years, but this job really help me to get in the Correctional Service. This job not just benefit my experience but also improve my reputation. As a loss prevention officer, I turned lots of shopliters to the police. Every time i turned the shopliters to the police, my name will be recorded in the CPIC system. Therefore, when i did the Police background check for my Correctional Officer application, the numbers of my name in the CPIC are the great asset. The loss prevention manager is a great guy. He hired me when i just got my ssecurity license. I was a police foundation student and almost brand new in this field. He teached me a lot in this job and then he tried his best to helped me to get into the Correctional Service. Holiday is another pros thing in this company. As a loss prevention officer in this company, you would never need to work in those satutory holiday but still get pay.

    Cons

    It can be very tough ar the begining. You need to be patience every day, every hour, and every action. You need to deal with eveything by yourself. You have to make the decision quickly. However, All those things would bulit you interperonal skill so you can sucess in your future career.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Crooks

    Apr 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free subway during orientation

    Cons

    Unpaid L.P training (against labour laws) poor management organization full of lies

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wincon Security Response

    HR Coordinator

    I am not exactly sure what you are referring to but all of our training are paid. Both guards and LP's are paid for training.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Wincon Security Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wincon Security? Share Your Experiences

Wincon Security logo
or