Willamette Dental Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Willamette Dental Group Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Willamette Dental Group President & CEO Eugene Skourtes (no image)
Eugene Skourtes
164 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and wonderful people to work with(in 27 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, Vacation time, Opportunity to grow(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, limited professional autonomy, micromanagement(in 15 reviews)

  • "Overworked dentists and hygentists - noncompetes make it hard to leave(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Practice Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group

    Pros

    I love this company. They really value their employees and provide quality dentistry. Benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Long days with 10 hour days and schedules are busy

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2019-12-12
  2. "WDG IS the Employer Of Choice!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expanded Functions Dental Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team environment- everyone helps each other and has your back. They appreciate their employees and show it! Management listens to their staff and are there for support. Three days off each week. Offices are fully stocked with plenty of supplies. Excellent competitive salary. Other local offices available to work at when doctors are on vacation.

    Cons

    Late-running nights make super long days. Sometimes patients are double & triple booked & it's hard to stay on track.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2019-11-30
  3. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Advocate in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and huge potential

    Cons

    I don’t know of any

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2019-10-19

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We couldn't agree more! We have great employees that will continue to make us a leader in this industry.

    Continue reading
  4. "Impossible to do ethical dentistry in this environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent salary

    Cons

    Impossible to meet goals, salaried at 40 hrs/week but they expect you to work more than that (they overbook your patient schedule, which causes you to work late in the evening to complete chart notes and other admin. duties. They tell you you have freedom as a provider to to make treatment choices and options choices that you feel are the best for patient, but this is not at all true. They want you to do inexpensive, less costly treatment. They only allow patients to come in once/year for routine cleanings, even if patient prefers a 6 month cleaning. It was difficult for me to justify this and other treatment options to patient.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "WDG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay. Good employer

    Cons

    Horrible scrubs long hours

    Willamette Dental Group2019-08-29

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are glad to hear you are happy working here and appreciate the benefits and pay. We are pleased to provide a robust benefit and compensation package for our employees and their families. Your continued support and hard work is greatly appreciated in making Willamette Dental Group a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group

    Pros

    Great support, great teams, benfits are outstanding

    Cons

    Long days but its only 4 days a week

    Willamette Dental Group2019-08-09

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    Willamette Dental definitely has great employees! We appreciate you taking the time to share this comment and for your commitment in making Willamette Dental the leader in this industry.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Haven for lazy, incompetent, con-artist office managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lead PSR 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good insurance benefits, fun yearly company party

    Cons

    I second this review: Very poor management. Ignore office bullying and harassment. Micro manage the hard working employees and reward the lazy, incompetent employees. Employees are afraid to speak up as they will be reprimanded, given warnings or let go. I have never seen anything like this. In summary, it was like working with Mr. Hart in the movie 9 to 5.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-09-10

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    While concerned to hear that your experience wasn't positive, we appreciate your feedback. We'd welcome the opportunity to hear further about your concerns if you are willing to share them. Please contact our Employee Relations department. We 're glad to provide great benefits to our employees along with a festive holiday party. Our employees definitely enjoy the celebration!

    Continue reading
  8. "Good insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and good benefits, get to help people

    Cons

    burnout, depends on office but some offices with micromanagement

    Willamette Dental Group2019-08-20

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    Thank you for the feedback. We take pride in being able to provide a robust benefit package to our employees and their families! Additional feedback on how we can further support the office, and even your manager, to continue making Willamette a great place to work would be helpful. If you haven't already, please feel free to reach out to our Employee Relations department.

    Continue reading
  9. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and wonderful people to work with!

    Cons

    Starting wage may be low.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-06-20

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    Willamette Dental truly has great employees! Our benefit package is robust and we are glad that you appreciate it. Thank you for your time in providing us with your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Insurance company first, dental company 2nd."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, 4 day work weeks, employee engagement

    Cons

    Long hours, micromanagement, dishonesty, outdated equipment and practices, and lack of clinical autonomy. Being clinically conservative is masked as being good for the patient but in reality it is because it is a self HMO plan provider. It is really about keeping as much of the money from the insurance side as possible and not have to provide treatment. Ultra conservative to the point where they try to stop you from doing procedures until too late to fix or you have to do compromised patchwork. They have a dollar amount goal of how little you are supposed to do per patient.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-07-25

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience. Discussing your concerns is a priority for us. If you haven't already, please feel free to reach out to our Employee Relations department. We take feedback seriously and care about what our employees have to say.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 217 reviews