Western Financial Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jun 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 230 reviews

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group President and CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Regular hours, good benefits and nice office(in 14 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance was good as it was 9-5(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not specific to Western Financial Group, the insurance industry has been going through a lot of changes recently which can make it challenging(in 11 reviews)

  • "Lunch options are limited in High River(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Race Ethnicity

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Western Financial Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Company Ever!

      Jun 30, 2021 - Team Lead in Lac La Biche, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has supported me a great deal over the past 10 years with education, mentoring and growth. They compensate me well, give me the work life balance I need, great benefits that are all company paid, Employee shares, RSP matching and the list goes on! The Western family is a fantastic thing to be a part of!

      Cons

      I could not think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Financial Group Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Hello there, we thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are so happy we could support your growth! Here's to another great 10 years.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I loved working for my branch. The company in general not so much

      Jun 19, 2021 - Client Care Associate in Winnipeg, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I personally had the greatest coworkers and manager. The vacation was good for a newly grad compare to other companies. Work/life balance was good as it was 9-5

      Cons

      Very corporate and I could see that managers get pressured from the upstairs. Lots of sales expectation. Not much room to grow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company to work for!

      Apr 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in High River, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A strong company that looks out for it's people with room for growth and advancement. Work/life balance

      Cons

      I have no cons for this company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jun 15, 2020 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are great, good work-life balance, nice to be a part of a company that is growing

      Cons

      Lower pay scale than other companies

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Nov 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Head office is a great place to work. Everyone is extremely friendly and they definitely promote a work-life balance. They are a growing company and make you feel like you are a part of what they are building.

      Cons

      The pay isn't as high as it would be in Calgary. There are social events throughout the month but it is not overly social outside of your team. Most people eat lunch at their desk and there are not many options to get out of the office because of location.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Job In Town!

      Oct 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere Great work-life balance Management Cares and the branch is like family Engaged co-workers Lots of career opportunities Business goals and targets that challenge you to be your best Team excels together

      Cons

      Not a lot of contact with head office

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer and People Focused

      Aug 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in High River, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This organization is actively focused not only focused on the customer but on their people as well. Passion to invest in their people from the Executive level down is truly present. Consistent progress is being achieved through continual commitment to invest in their people and in their customers through various means. All organizations have the opportunity to improve however Western is an organization continually striving to make those improvements and build on their success through customer satisfaction, employee engagement and process improvement. They really are a great employer with competitive compensation and benefits who support work life balance and invest in their people through career progression, education, training and mentoring.

      Cons

      Not a con, more of a speculation. Change, improvement and evolution takes time and hard work. What is important is that the organization is committed to and actively working towards further creating a positive culture that resonates with their employees which in turn will spill over to their customers. Happy employees will promote customer satisfaction and greater success as a whole.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      Jan 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Western Financial Group is a great employer. We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days. If you contribute to RRSP's or ESOP's through them, they will match up to a certain %. They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance. Our branch is like an extended family. We all come together to help a colleague during a hard time. I truly believe you should love your job and I'm lucky to love mine.

      Cons

      You must have or pass your level 1 exam within the probationary period to keep your job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Financial Group Response

      Digital Media Specialist

      Thanks for the review. It's great to hear that you love your job with Western!

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Insurance Advisor

      Jan 25, 2018 - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The management team here is amazing, and our branch has that small community sense of values. You're not just a number when you work here. Three weeks vacation plus personal days, and sick days - very important for work/life balance.

      Cons

      The salary could be more competitive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Financial Group Response

      Digital Media Specialist

      Thanks for your feedback! Honesty is one of our guiding principles, and we appreciate your candor!

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A political nightmare......unless you like that sort of thing!

      Aug 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance and compensation

      Cons

      The corrupt and political nightmare that is Head Office in High River. Employees live in fear due to lack of job stability and inappropriate behaviour of other employees and management.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Western Financial Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Western Financial Group? Share Your Experiences

    or