Western Financial Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 126 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days(in 8 reviews)

  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Head office is a great place to work. Everyone is extremely friendly and they definitely promote a work-life balance. They are a growing company and make you feel like you are a part of what they are building.

    Cons

    The pay isn't as high as it would be in Calgary. There are social events throughout the month but it is not overly social outside of your team. Most people eat lunch at their desk and there are not many options to get out of the office because of location.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support employees. Maybe look at a better compensation structure that would entice people from the city to High River.

    Western Financial Group2018-11-13
  2. "Best Job In Town!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Great work-life balance Management Cares and the branch is like family Engaged co-workers Lots of career opportunities Business goals and targets that challenge you to be your best Team excels together

    Cons

    Not a lot of contact with head office

    Western Financial Group2018-10-19
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Western Financial Group is a great employer. We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days. If you contribute to RRSP's or ESOP's through them, they will match up to a certain %. They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance. Our branch is like an extended family. We all come together to help a colleague during a hard time. I truly believe you... should love your job and I'm lucky to love mine.

    Show More

    Cons

    You must have or pass your level 1 exam within the probationary period to keep your job.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. It's great to hear that you love your job with Western!

  4. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The management team here is amazing, and our branch has that small community sense of values. You're not just a number when you work here. Three weeks vacation plus personal days, and sick days - very important for work/life balance.

    Cons

    The salary could be more competitive.

    Advice to Management

    They try to promote within and there is lots of room for advancement if you're willing to put in the work. Very encouraging to increase your knowledge with courses that are important to your career advancement.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback! Honesty is one of our guiding principles, and we appreciate your candor!

  5. Helpful (4)

    "A political nightmare......unless you like that sort of thing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and compensation

    Cons

    The corrupt and political nightmare that is Head Office in High River. Employees live in fear due to lack of job stability and inappropriate behaviour of other employees and management.

    Advice to Management

    Culture is set from the top down and since it's toxic, I suppose part of the solution is removing problem people from management. I would also relocate Head Office to a larger city where a larger pool of talent is available.

    Western Financial Group2017-08-10
  6. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group

    Pros

    Work life balance Plenty of things to learn freedom to express your thoughts

    Cons

    Sometimes management get lazy. Work is very montonous

    Advice to Management

    Be Proactive

    Western Financial Group2016-06-30
Found 126 reviews