Western Financial Group "head office" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Employee Reviews about "head office"

Updated Nov 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group President and CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days(in 9 reviews)

  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "head office"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best Job In Town!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Great work-life balance Management Cares and the branch is like family Engaged co-workers Lots of career opportunities Business goals and targets that challenge you to be your best Team excels together

    Cons

    Not a lot of contact with head office

    Western Financial Group2018-10-19
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Head office is a great place to work. Everyone is extremely friendly and they definitely promote a work-life balance. They are a growing company and make you feel like you are a part of what they are building.

    Cons

    The pay isn't as high as it would be in Calgary. There are social events throughout the month but it is not overly social outside of your team. Most people eat lunch at their desk and there are not many options to get out of the office because of location.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-11-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Had enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I'm sure there are some out there but my experience has been overwhelmingly negative

    Cons

    Where do I start. - Unreasonable expectations/workload - Huge amounts of inconsistency between departments and even within departments - you can get 5 different answers to the same question without looking very hard and no matter which way you do it you will get in trouble from the other 4 people for doing it wrong. - Managers appear to be able to get away with anything, and if an employee makes a complaint head office sides with the manager without question (and usually without even looking into the situation) - I could go on and on, but I'll just leave it with this advice: work elsewhere unless you're prepared to hold your tongue and never question anything while putting up with mistreatment that borders on abuse.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-05-15

    Western Financial Group Response

    May 29, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We’re glad to hear that there are some pros of the job, however, we were disappointed to hear that you’ve been having a tough time with your workload and managers. We want to maintain a transparent work experience for all employees and think you should speak with your regional manager to address these issues.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good for a small town

    Cons

    Worst micromanagement. Upper management has no idea how employees in branches really feel because they only hear from their managers. No training although head office wants to believe they have the best training. Fairness is one of the key items they note in everything they do but doesn't apply at all to employees.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-05-13

    Western Financial Group Response

    May 23, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to learn that your experience lately has not matched our intention of being a great place to work and, values that include truthfulness and fairness. I encourage you to talk to a manager or your regional director because we want to make sure your working culture is one that allows all of us to be our best.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "A political nightmare......unless you like that sort of thing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and compensation

    Cons

    The corrupt and political nightmare that is Head Office in High River. Employees live in fear due to lack of job stability and inappropriate behaviour of other employees and management.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2017-08-10
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Disorganize"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Laval, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group

    Pros

    really good benefits plan and ok pay

    Cons

    The office its in Laval, Québec and head office at Winnipeg it can be frustrating and complicated. Also the management is disorganize.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2017-05-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "It's a sinking ship, watch out IT pros!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in High River, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - IT Management is trying to make things better, we have never had a clearer picture of what we need to do and how to get there - Head Office is trying to bring fun back into the work place

    Cons

    The management in IT is trying to make things better but it's easy to see that the business is disorganized, driven by pure sales and profit margin to try to even understand or bring IT to the table to better align. IT has clear strategic goals but we have no idea what the businesses goals are; or even what Desjardins wants from us. Out CEO is leaving after 1 year, Desjardins just announced the sale of our pet company.. What / who is next? Seems like the ship is sinking and we are cutting our loses.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2016-05-31
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Clean out the dead weight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Turner Valley, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All good people for the most part. Acting CEO, the founder is a wonderful person. So were many of the VP's that have since departed. Head Office is rural, so they understand the needs of the rural customer.

    Cons

    Too many IT Managers with insufficient skills but making decisions. Western is weeding out nice to have positions to cut expenses, seeing many people depart and more to come. Hopefully they will look at Winnipeg and cut a few of silo thinking managers. Also, why does the PMO have a Manager for 3 PM's, I'd say that is micro management. You have Managers will no people skills in many of the divisions (WFIC and WLA). Employee engagement is way down, clean up HR, they are beyond a clicky crowd, poor people skills, and escalate without the right skills. It's a disaster right now, stir clear until Desjardins cleans up the mess the former CEO made of Western.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2015-05-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cold unfeeling upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people, good transfer opportunities.

    Cons

    Very little head office support, they do not understand the value of having employees at the front line level. They prefer to pay minimum wages, give bad service, and leave the branch managers to struggle through these challenges on their own. And should you choose to actually voice your opinion, say goodbye to your employment. They have zero respect for their employees.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2014-07-31
  10. "Great people, friendly work atmosphere, a fun place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shared Corporate Services in High River, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Located in a province driven the oil and gas projects, there can be a great deal of stress and anxiety in the workplace with a focus on the almighty dollar. Western is based in rural Alberta, with rural branches all over Western Canada and has somehow avoided being sucked in to the culture of the energy industry which can sometimes come with questionable morals and ethics. There is a focus on profitability and value, but never at the expense of doing what is right. Rural locations - great to be away from the hustle and bustle, traffic on commute is virtually non-existent.

    Cons

    Compensation is not the highest amongst competing employers, but Western recognizes this and never claimed to be the top pay employer. Would still be nice to see pay bumped up a bit! Rural locations - head office located 45-50 minutes from downtown Calgary means 60km+ commutes in each direction. Expensive fuel costs!

    Western Financial Group2013-04-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews