Western Financial Group "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 120 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days(in 8 reviews)

  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a lot of contact with head office(in 8 reviews)

  • "The micro management and cancerous environment brought about at the mid management level made the environment extremely toxic(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people and supportive Manager.

    Cons

    Low wage and benefit premiums are not paid fully by Western

    Western Financial Group2019-04-29

    Western Financial Group Response

    April 29, 2019Marketing Coordinator

    Western embarked on a new three-year strategy. We recognized that your experience as a Western employee is a key component to our success, so we established People as a strategic pillar. A significant project under the People pillar is a review of our benefits current program.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, excellent benefits, 3 weeks vacation to start. Really enjoy the culture.

    Cons

    Some technology is slow. Working the occasional Saturday.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-24

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate the input!

  3. "Coast Capital Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people work at this company! Compensation is fair.

    Cons

    They could upgrade their system to epic ect. No cons really.

    Western Financial Group2017-09-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Cold unfeeling upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people, good transfer opportunities.

    Cons

    Very little head office support, they do not understand the value of having employees at the front line level. They prefer to pay minimum wages, give bad service, and leave the branch managers to struggle through these challenges on their own. And should you choose to actually voice your opinion, say goodbye to your employment. They have zero respect for their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Look in the mirror in the morning, and ask yourself "How would I live to be treated? With dignity & respect, or spit on like dirt?"

    Western Financial Group2014-07-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Under paid, under appreciated & over worked. Managers do not stand behind employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRS in Fort St. John, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Met and got to work with some great people, who I still call friends.

    Cons

    Management doesn't stand behind employees, those who work hard & put in 100% are expected to work harder with little to no appreciation. Advancement is achievable to those who are the management's "pet". Management speaks unprofessionally to employees and there is no apologies for being out of line. All employees are not given the same chances for advancement & advancement is not determined on your knowledge, willing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take some courses on managemrnt , professionalism & dealing with challenging situations. Management should help build and empower employees, not stifle, micromanage & be so uncompromisable, especially when dealing with employees last minute family issues. Managers need to be willing to help out when needed & therefore, need to be able to still be able to do the same job they did before they became a manager. Remember...

    Show More
    Western Financial Group2014-03-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Overworked & Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in High River, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and the benefits are above average. I was impressed with the extensive training.

    Cons

    Pay is not sufficient at all. They expect more than they pay!

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledgement of your employee's contributions. I would rather get paid more than attend fancy company BBQs and parties.

    Western Financial Group2013-11-21
Found 120 reviews