Western Financial Group "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days(in 8 reviews)

  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a lot of contact with head office(in 8 reviews)

  • "The micro management and cancerous environment brought about at the mid management level made the environment extremely toxic(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Better opportunities in Calgary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor in Strathmore, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group for more than 6 years

    Pros

    decent pay and good benefits

    Cons

    revolving door...ownership, management & front line. Very low morale.

    Advice to Management

    have proper number of employees to reach targets. Perpetually short staffed.

    Western Financial Group2018-10-29
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good for a small town

    Cons

    Worst micromanagement. Upper management has no idea how employees in branches really feel because they only hear from their managers. No training although head office wants to believe they have the best training. Fairness is one of the key items they note in everything they do but doesn't apply at all to employees.

    Advice to Management

    Management doesn't want to hear from employees.

    Western Financial Group2018-05-13

    Western Financial Group Response

    May 23, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to learn that your experience lately has not matched our intention of being a great place to work and, values that include truthfulness and fairness. I encourage you to talk to a manager or your regional director because ...

    Show More
  3. "can make either great money or pretty much minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Good pay if u sell alot. All phone sales. good benefits. (must enjoy cold calling companies all day everyday)

    Cons

    If you don't sell every month (most don't) you dont work there anymore. Very high turnover (reps and mgmnt). Senior management is out to lunch

    Western Financial Group2018-04-12
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
      Recommends

      I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Western Financial Group is a great employer. We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days. If you contribute to RRSP's or ESOP's through them, they will match up to a certain %. They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance. Our branch is like an extended family. We all come together to help a colleague during a hard time. I truly believe you should...

      Show More

      Cons

      You must have or pass your level 1 exam within the probationary period to keep your job.

      Western Financial Group2018-01-25

      Western Financial Group Response

      March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

      Thanks for the review. It's great to hear that you love your job with Western!

    • Helpful (3)

      "Not a great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

        Pros

        Great wages and good benefits.

        Cons

        Too many corporate policies and procedures.

        Western Financial Group2017-07-04
      • Helpful (3)

        "Disorganize"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Laval, QC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Western Financial Group

        Pros

        really good benefits plan and ok pay

        Cons

        The office its in Laval, Québec and head office at Winnipeg it can be frustrating and complicated. Also the management is disorganize.

        Advice to Management

        Be more patient with new employee and give them training

        Western Financial Group2017-05-17
      • Helpful (2)

        "Meh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

        Pros

        Good benefits, talented and knowledgeable people (but those are dwindling in numbers), good location.

        Cons

        Used to be a great company to work for. Too much emphasis put on acquisitions. Seems like the company grew too fast and now they don't know how to integrate all the business units. Everyone is working with a different system. Hard working and talented people leaving the company because they are overworked and not treated fairly.

        Advice to Management

        "Shoot first and ask questions later" is not a good business practice. Please listen to your employees instead of ignoring our opinions.

        Western Financial Group2015-10-31
      • Helpful (3)

        "HR is extremely controlling"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in High River, AB
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Western Financial Group

        Pros

        Some benefits are good, but some are actually really poor. The people are nice but of late everyone is keeping their head down

        Cons

        Company stifles any creativity. They do not like anything new and new ideas can only come from certain leaders. HR and CEO always get to decide pretty much on everything. Very micromanaging culture and not one you can trust. I thought that Desjardins will have more control as owners but they seem to allow poor management to prevail. A very poor culture. Sales keeps adding new directors and ales managers but nobody...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Change your team, change HR and let the owners, Desjardin, run the place.

        Western Financial Group2015-01-11
      Found 119 reviews