Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated 4 March, 2019
117 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance" (in 6 reviews)

  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a lot of contact with head office" (in 8 reviews)

  • "The micro management and cancerous environment brought about at the mid management level made the environment extremely toxic" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The biggest pro of Western for me is job security. We are one of the few companies with offices scattered throughout Western Canada and, because of this, if there is a requirement for an employee to move to another city there is a good chance they can work for the local Western branch.

    Western offers many advancement opportunities. A career can be advanced in Personal, Commercial or Life Insurance, Living Benefits or even Management.

    Western offers one of the best compensation packages in the industry including quarterly performance bonuses, RRSP matching, an Employee Share Ownership Program and a great benefit package.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    We appreciate you sticking with us! Folks like you help shape our culture.


  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Associate in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Administrative Associate in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, Teamwork, Advancement, Recognition, Values

    Cons

    Very Busy place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Front desk would like to have input on any changes that affect the front desk operations.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your input!

  3. "Insurance Advisor - Southern Alberta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very competitive benefits package and the ability to earn bonuses.

    A lot of possibility to move up the branch or network depending on your goals and perseverance.

    Cons

    Pay scale is slightly below average, but can be increased from bonuses achieved throughout the year.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review Western. We appreciate it!


  4. "Good Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    - 2.5% RRSP match
    - 5% ESOP match (earning share program, works out to a 22.7% guaranteed return after the 3 year period)
    - paid courses
    - opportunity for decent quarterly bonuses
    - fairly flat organizational structure
    - extremely high income potential in commercial sales
    - directors seem to be taking the company in the right direction
    - 3 weeks of vacation, flex days, and sick time from the start

    Cons

    - salaries are lower than other places, due to the "total compensation package". If you take full advantage of the company matched incentives, then it does work out OK, but the biggest issue is for smaller branches that cannot achieve the required numbers to hit quarterly bonuses.
    - within the past year or so, lowered the company paid portion of benefits to 50%
    - absolutely atrocious servers/technology. For a company this large, it's laughable at the speed that the computers operate at. The fact that no one at the top had addressed this MAJOR issue for over 3 years is a huge strategic blunder in my opinion.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate your honesty.


  5. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The management team here is amazing, and our branch has that small community sense of values. You're not just a number when you work here. Three weeks vacation plus personal days, and sick days - very important for work/life balance.

    Cons

    The salary could be more competitive.

    Advice to Management

    They try to promote within and there is lots of room for advancement if you're willing to put in the work. Very encouraging to increase your knowledge with courses that are important to your career advancement.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback! Honesty is one of our guiding principles, and we appreciate your candor!


  6. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Paid Benefits, Good people, Positive environment

    Cons

    Working the odd weekend can be inconvenient

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review!


  7. "Commercial sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Manager over me was a nice guy. They pay for training.

    Cons

    Essentially a glorified call centre with a huge turnover rate. Approximately 15 people quit my position in the 9 months I was there which is a bit demoralizing.

    Advice to Management

    Fluctuating expectations and President doesn't even introduce himself which is not very personal.

  8. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    the benefits plans, flex hours and sick days

    Cons

    Due to Saturdays being open and open late night open, we have minimum staff

    Advice to Management

    Make sure we have full staff at all times, keep management doors open at all times


  9. "Another anniversary gone (with Western over 8 years)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in High River, AB
    Current Employee - Specialist in High River, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    There is good and bad in every company. If you are committed to quality and a hard worker (and I don't mean a workaholic) then you are acknowledged. It can be tough sometimes because you are held accountable, but all that does is make you a better team player because everyone is held to same standard. Every department is different, but from what I see everyday each department has its own culture and dynamic and on the whole it looks like most people enjoy coming to work every day.

    Cons

    As I said it can be tough. Western is always going to be a work in progress because they have so many plans. It would be nice to know what is happening a bit earlier sometimes so that I can wrap my mind around things and ask questions before things are set in stone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, but remember that not all employees are clones. Reward those that follow the company values and work hard, not just because you like them.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the thoughtful review. We appreciate your thoughts, and will work to keep those lines of communication as open as possible.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away, low pay & degrading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Sales Representative in Winnipeg, MB
    Former Employee - Commercial Sales Representative in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There were no pros available

    Cons

    Low base salary for role, micromanagement, and degrading to sales staff

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of middle managers, offer better training, offer a higher base salary and you won’t have 80% turnover each year.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. Honesty is key to Western, and we appreciate your candor.