Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group President and CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
51 Ratings
  1. "Very quite quite company - no hustle bussle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting in High River, AB

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair workload, no unnecessary dump of work. A very calm and quite atmosphere to work. Eases good amount of pressure off you with it. And 37.5 hrs a week is also appreciable.

    Cons

    Very closed like culture. No major discussions around. Improvement ideas are not valued.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-04-23
  2. "can make either great money or pretty much minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Good pay if u sell alot. All phone sales. good benefits. (must enjoy cold calling companies all day everyday)

    Cons

    If you don't sell every month (most don't) you dont work there anymore. Very high turnover (reps and mgmnt). Senior management is out to lunch

    Western Financial Group2018-04-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, excellent benefits, 3 weeks vacation to start. Really enjoy the culture.

    Cons

    Some technology is slow. Working the occasional Saturday.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-24

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate the input!

    Continue reading
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable company, lots of opportunity for advancement, company allows for good balance between family and work.

    Cons

    Training can be slow, tons to learn to understand the industry

    Western Financial Group2018-01-27

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review Western.

    Continue reading
  5. "My branch has been a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I have read many of the reviews, some very negative. I can only speak from my experience. I am still fairly new to Western and to the insurance field but my experience has been nothing but positive and supportive. The branch management team has supported my growth, they see my success as success for the company. Training has been very structured and well paced. The office environment has been good, this branch really does feel like a family (and yes, every family has some dysfunction, but compared to other places I have worked this is minor). The pay and benefits are competitive, I have heard that the starting salary is a little lower than other brokerages but the increased vacation and benefits offsets this. One of the things about Western that was most appealing to me is the focus on local community and the push to be involved, whether with fundraising efforts, volunteering, or supporting in other ways. Insurance is very much a corporate endeavor, so if being involved in your community and giving back is also important to you, Western is a great place to do that.

    Cons

    I am still new to Western, I have not come across much in the way of negatives yet.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-01-27

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  6. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company takes an interest in your personal well being. I find that I do not have a lot of stress working at the Medicine Hat downtown office.

    Cons

    Open on Saturday's, but not that bad. You get a day off during the week which is nice as you can do your personal business.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-01-25
  7. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefit Plan, Bonus Structure Based on Individual and Office Performance, Opportunities for Advancement through our over 120+ offices.

    Cons

    No complaints, good work environment and stable career.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  8. "Loved Working Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advior in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My branch had a great group of people. I thought the salary was competitive and enjoyed getting 4 weeks of holidays after 5 years.

    Cons

    It was a hard transition in 2013/2014 to the new computer system. And executive management wasn't great at that time, but has really improved.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for reviewing us. We appreciate your input.

    Continue reading
  9. "broker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great company to work for, I have recommended WFG to many of my friends and family.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for your loyalty! We love reviews and recommendations from our long-term employees. You've helped shape Western into what it is today.

    Continue reading
  10. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The biggest pro of Western for me is job security. We are one of the few companies with offices scattered throughout Western Canada and, because of this, if there is a requirement for an employee to move to another city there is a good chance they can work for the local Western branch. Western offers many advancement opportunities. A career can be advanced in Personal, Commercial or Life Insurance, Living Benefits or even Management. Western offers one of the best compensation packages in the industry including quarterly performance bonuses, RRSP matching, an Employee Share Ownership Program and a great benefit package.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    We appreciate you sticking with us! Folks like you help shape our culture.

    Continue reading
Found 130 reviews