Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group President and CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
51 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun workplace with lots of food

    Cons

    Stressfull environment that wouldn't reward hard work

    Western Financial Group2018-10-14
  2. "Great company to work for with very big future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    This company is growing fast and its a good time to work for them

    Cons

    Slow adoption of tech but this is industry wide

    Western Financial Group2018-08-29
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Would not recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    paid vacation, personal days and sick days

    Cons

    No support from management and above Not enough front line staff Not paid near enough money for the work Low office morale Different rules for different staff Throw new staff to the wolves and hope they survive Management implements plans that work for them and not for staff. They have no concept of how to deal with staff problems away from work, especially those who have family outside Canada Too high sales targets and staff are being constantly hit with new targets and threatened when they aren't reaching them. If a manager dislikes you, you might as well pack your bags and walk before you are pushed

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-09-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Team lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great work and life balance - Great benefits - Paid Holidays, along with Personal Days and Sick days - Supportive management - Lots of career opportunities - Community Supportive job atmosphere - Room for growth within company - Upbeat work atmosphere - Great upper management at Head Office in Victoria who know individuals by name and push you to succeed in company.

    Cons

    I don't feel like there is any down sides. I enjoy my job and everyone I work with. I enjoy coming to work and am happy here.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-07-13
  5. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Super supportive coworkers, lots of team work.

    Cons

    Training from the head office is really bad. Head office needs to talk to the people in the actual office more, they don’t know what we really need. In office training is ok.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-07-12
  6. "Poor management and scheudle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    3 weeks vacation a year

    Cons

    No work life balance Split weeks No paid overtime Expensive benefits

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-06-26

    Western Financial Group Response

    June 28, 2018Social Media Specialist

    We value your feedback. We are committed to ensuring our employees feel supported by their management. We appreciate open communication and if you feel comfortable you could speak with your regional manager to address these issues.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Company & Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    - Positive work environment encouraging growth and learning; - Competitive salaries; - Engaged leadership team who are not afraid to work hard;

    Cons

    - Commute is not easy if you do not have your own vehicle.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-05-15
  8. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    The variety of project types has kept me her for 5+ years.

    Cons

    The drive from the city- it is long

    Western Financial Group2018-05-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Had enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I'm sure there are some out there but my experience has been overwhelmingly negative

    Cons

    Where do I start. - Unreasonable expectations/workload - Huge amounts of inconsistency between departments and even within departments - you can get 5 different answers to the same question without looking very hard and no matter which way you do it you will get in trouble from the other 4 people for doing it wrong. - Managers appear to be able to get away with anything, and if an employee makes a complaint head office sides with the manager without question (and usually without even looking into the situation) - I could go on and on, but I'll just leave it with this advice: work elsewhere unless you're prepared to hold your tongue and never question anything while putting up with mistreatment that borders on abuse.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-05-15

    Western Financial Group Response

    May 29, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We’re glad to hear that there are some pros of the job, however, we were disappointed to hear that you’ve been having a tough time with your workload and managers. We want to maintain a transparent work experience for all employees and think you should speak with your regional manager to address these issues.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good for a small town

    Cons

    Worst micromanagement. Upper management has no idea how employees in branches really feel because they only hear from their managers. No training although head office wants to believe they have the best training. Fairness is one of the key items they note in everything they do but doesn't apply at all to employees.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2018-05-13

    Western Financial Group Response

    May 23, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to learn that your experience lately has not matched our intention of being a great place to work and, values that include truthfulness and fairness. I encourage you to talk to a manager or your regional director because we want to make sure your working culture is one that allows all of us to be our best.

    Continue reading
Found 130 reviews