Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
45 Ratings
  1. "can make either great money or pretty much minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Good pay if u sell alot. All phone sales. good benefits. (must enjoy cold calling companies all day everyday)

    Cons

    If you don't sell every month (most don't) you dont work there anymore. Very high turnover (reps and mgmnt). Senior management is out to lunch

    Western Financial Group2018-04-12
  2. "My branch has been a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I have read many of the reviews, some very negative. I can only speak from my experience. I am still fairly new to Western and to the insurance field but my experience has been nothing but positive and supportive. The branch management team has supported my growth, they see my success as success for the company. Training has been very structured and well paced. The office environment has been good, this branch really...

    Show More

    Cons

    I am still new to Western, I have not come across much in the way of negatives yet.

    Advice to Management

    Read through the reviews. Clearly there are some issues in some (perhaps many) of the branches, but not all. Find what is working well, try to replicate it in places where things are not going well. You don't need to reinvent the wheel.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-27

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great people, excellent benefits, 3 weeks vacation to start. Really enjoy the culture.

    Cons

    Some technology is slow. Working the occasional Saturday.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-24

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate the input!

  4. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Supported 100% by management. Lots of room to grow in your career. Great guiding principles.

    Cons

    Every job has its mundane tasks - nothing really to note

    Western Financial Group2018-01-26

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to review us!

  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Stable company, lots of opportunity for advancement, company allows for good balance between family and work.

    Cons

    Training can be slow, tons to learn to understand the industry

    Western Financial Group2018-01-27

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review Western.

  6. "insurance advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits and great co-workers

    Cons

    we are open on Saturdays

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate it!

  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
      Recommends

      I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Western Financial Group is a great employer. We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days. If you contribute to RRSP's or ESOP's through them, they will match up to a certain %. They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance. Our branch is like an extended family. We all come together to help a colleague during a hard time. I truly believe you should...

      Show More

      Cons

      You must have or pass your level 1 exam within the probationary period to keep your job.

      Western Financial Group2018-01-25

      Western Financial Group Response

      March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

      Thanks for the review. It's great to hear that you love your job with Western!

    • "Working for WFG"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Insurance Service Representative in Medicine Hat, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      They support the individual employee

      Cons

      I can't think of any

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work!

      Western Financial Group2018-01-25

      Western Financial Group Response

      March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

      Thanks for the review. We appreciate it!

    • "Insurance Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Western Financial Group part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The company takes an interest in your personal well being. I find that I do not have a lot of stress working at the Medicine Hat downtown office.

      Cons

      Open on Saturday's, but not that bad. You get a day off during the week which is nice as you can do your personal business.

      Advice to Management

      I am very happy working at Western Financial Group (MHD)

      Western Financial Group2018-01-25
    • "Account Executive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Good Benefit Plan, Bonus Structure Based on Individual and Office Performance, Opportunities for Advancement through our over 120+ offices.

      Cons

      No complaints, good work environment and stable career.

      Advice to Management

      Good Leadership team in place

      Western Financial Group2018-01-25

      Western Financial Group Response

      March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

      Thanks for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it!

    Found 119 reviews