Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated 4 March, 2019
117 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance" (in 6 reviews)

  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a lot of contact with head office" (in 8 reviews)

  • "The micro management and cancerous environment brought about at the mid management level made the environment extremely toxic" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Stable company, lots of opportunity for advancement, company allows for good balance between family and work.

    Cons

    Training can be slow, tons to learn to understand the industry

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review Western.


  2. "My branch has been a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I have read many of the reviews, some very negative. I can only speak from my experience. I am still fairly new to Western and to the insurance field but my experience has been nothing but positive and supportive. The branch management team has supported my growth, they see my success as success for the company.

    Training has been very structured and well paced. The office environment has been good, this branch really does feel like a family (and yes, every family has some dysfunction, but compared to other places I have worked this is minor).

    The pay and benefits are competitive, I have heard that the starting salary is a little lower than other brokerages but the increased vacation and benefits offsets this.

    One of the things about Western that was most appealing to me is the focus on local community and the push to be involved, whether with fundraising efforts, volunteering, or supporting in other ways. Insurance is very much a corporate endeavor, so if being involved in your community and giving back is also important to you, Western is a great place to do that.

    Cons

    I am still new to Western, I have not come across much in the way of negatives yet.

    Advice to Management

    Read through the reviews. Clearly there are some issues in some (perhaps many) of the branches, but not all. Find what is working well, try to replicate it in places where things are not going well. You don't need to reinvent the wheel.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it!

  3. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment. Supported 100% by management. Lots of room to grow in your career. Great guiding principles.

    Cons

    Every job has its mundane tasks - nothing really to note

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to review us!


  4. "insurance advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great benefits and great co-workers

    Cons

    we are open on Saturdays

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate it!


  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Western Financial Group is a great employer. We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days. If you contribute to RRSP's or ESOP's through them, they will match up to a certain %. They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance. Our branch is like an extended family. We all come together to help a colleague during a hard time. I truly believe you should love your job and I'm lucky to love mine.

    Cons

    You must have or pass your level 1 exam within the probationary period to keep your job.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. It's great to hear that you love your job with Western!


  6. "Working for WFG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Representative in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Representative in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They support the individual employee

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate it!


  7. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company takes an interest in your personal well being. I find that I do not have a lot of stress working at the Medicine Hat downtown office.

    Cons

    Open on Saturday's, but not that bad. You get a day off during the week which is nice as you can do your personal business.

    Advice to Management

    I am very happy working at Western Financial Group (MHD)

  8. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good Benefit Plan, Bonus Structure Based on Individual and Office Performance, Opportunities for Advancement through our over 120+ offices.

    Cons

    No complaints, good work environment and stable career.

    Advice to Management

    Good Leadership team in place

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it!


  9. "Loved Working Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advior in Medicine Hat, AB
    Former Employee - Insurance Advior in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    My branch had a great group of people. I thought the salary was competitive and enjoyed getting 4 weeks of holidays after 5 years.

    Cons

    It was a hard transition in 2013/2014 to the new computer system. And executive management wasn't great at that time, but has really improved.

    Advice to Management

    The executive team needs to spend more time in the branches - they can be out of touch with the real world operation of the branch.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for reviewing us. We appreciate your input.


  10. "broker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    great company to work for, I have recommended WFG to many of my friends and family.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for your loyalty! We love reviews and recommendations from our long-term employees. You've helped shape Western into what it is today.