Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated 15 January, 2019
110 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance" (in 6 reviews)

  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a lot of contact with head office" (in 8 reviews)

  • "The micro management and cancerous environment brought about at the mid management level made the environment extremely toxic" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good for a small town

    Cons

    Worst micromanagement. Upper management has no idea how employees in branches really feel because they only hear from their managers. No training although head office wants to believe they have the best training. Fairness is one of the key items they note in everything they do but doesn't apply at all to employees.

    Advice to Management

    Management doesn't want to hear from employees.

    Western Financial Group Response

    23 May, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to learn that your experience lately has not matched our intention of being a great place to work and, values that include... More


  2. "Very quite quite company - no hustle bussle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting in High River, AB
    Former Employee - Accounting in High River, AB

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fair workload, no unnecessary dump of work. A very calm and quite atmosphere to work. Eases good amount of pressure off you with it. And 37.5 hrs a week is also appreciable.

    Cons

    Very closed like culture. No major discussions around. Improvement ideas are not valued.

    Advice to Management

    Please have transparency in the management.

  3. "can make either great money or pretty much minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Good pay if u sell alot. All phone sales. good benefits. (must enjoy cold calling companies all day everyday)

    Cons

    If you don't sell every month (most don't) you dont work there anymore. Very high turnover (reps and mgmnt). Senior management is out to lunch


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, excellent benefits, 3 weeks vacation to start. Really enjoy the culture.

    Cons

    Some technology is slow. Working the occasional Saturday.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate the input!


  5. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment. Supported 100% by management. Lots of room to grow in your career. Great guiding principles.

    Cons

    Every job has its mundane tasks - nothing really to note

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to review us!


  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Stable company, lots of opportunity for advancement, company allows for good balance between family and work.

    Cons

    Training can be slow, tons to learn to understand the industry

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Feb, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review Western.


  7. "insurance advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great benefits and great co-workers

    Cons

    we are open on Saturdays

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate it!

  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Western Financial Group is a great employer. We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days. If you contribute to RRSP's or ESOP's through them, they will match up to a certain %. They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance. Our branch is like an extended family. We all come together to help a colleague during a hard time. I truly believe you should love your job and I'm lucky to love mine.

    Cons

    You must have or pass your level 1 exam within the probationary period to keep your job.

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. It's great to hear that you love your job with Western!


  9. "Working for WFG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Representative in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Service Representative in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They support the individual employee

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Western Financial Group Response

    8 Mar, 2018 – Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate it!


  10. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company takes an interest in your personal well being. I find that I do not have a lot of stress working at the Medicine Hat downtown office.

    Cons

    Open on Saturday's, but not that bad. You get a day off during the week which is nice as you can do your personal business.

    Advice to Management

    I am very happy working at Western Financial Group (MHD)