Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group President and CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
51 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good fit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Director in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a part of the executive you are able to see first hand what it means to be “top heavy”

    Cons

    Be prepared to compromise your morals in order to “fit in”.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-06-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers found within the service department.

    Cons

    You'll earn a crippling workload if you're a productive employee. Far too many managers/executives, not nearly enough invested in support positions or retaining good staff.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-05-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don 't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Dealing with some great clients and coworkers

    Cons

    Wages a joke, even after additional education no wage increase Upper management is only out to line their own pockets Front line workers expected to take on more and more duties without any wage increases Very unprofessional/harassing emails from management telling you that you are not working hard enough Expected to work extended hours without pay or time off in lieu Bonus' are rated on complete office performance rather than individual performance No opinions are wanted, shut up and work... Branch Managers change often....can't keep them...wonder why???

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people and supportive Manager.

    Cons

    Low wage and benefit premiums are not paid fully by Western

    Western Financial Group2019-04-29

    Western Financial Group Response

    April 29, 2019Marketing Coordinator

    Western embarked on a new three-year strategy. We recognized that your experience as a Western employee is a key component to our success, so we established People as a strategic pillar. A significant project under the People pillar is a review of our benefits current program.

    Continue reading
  5. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great holidays, decent benefits

    Cons

    Consistently under staffed Lower pay than other offices

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-04-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Watch out for the new digital era!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid company that is willing to grow and aware of the points to improve!

    Cons

    The company needs to get adapted to the new digital era as fast as possible!

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-04-05

    Western Financial Group Response

    April 5, 2019Marketing Coordinator

    Western has developed a digital plan and has been focused on enhancing the customer experience across digital paths. Please reach out to the digital leader, or have a discussion with your leader and arrange a meeting with the digital team. They will be open to sharing the plan. We appreciate your feedback and wanting to make Western the best it can be.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Work life balance is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not sure there is any at this point

    Cons

    Pay, as minimum wage has increased our wages have not, work load has increased. Goals have become unobtainable, bonuses will be cut. Insurance for the most part has increased across the board. So it really doesn’t make sense I make as much as a kid that works at McDonald’s

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-03-05
  8. "Don’t believe everything you read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They put on a great mask.

    Cons

    Don’t get older than 50. You will soon see them show you the door.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-02-28
  9. "Head Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great talented people

    Cons

    Low pay especially for female counterparts

    Western Financial Group2019-02-09
  10. "Just do the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    If you want a no frills, just show up and do a job then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    This company is filled with people from small towns who just want to show up and not really rock the boat. Zero big thinkers here.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-02-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 130 reviews