Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 126 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
48 Ratings
  1. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great holidays, decent benefits

    Cons

    Consistently under staffed Lower pay than other offices

    Advice to Management

    Train, attract and hire a higher caliber of staff

    Western Financial Group2019-04-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Watch out for the new digital era!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid company that is willing to grow and aware of the points to improve!

    Cons

    The company needs to get adapted to the new digital era as fast as possible!

    Advice to Management

    A mix of old and new generations would help a lot!

    Western Financial Group2019-04-05

    Western Financial Group Response

    April 5, 2019Marketing Coordinator

    Western has developed a digital plan and has been focused on enhancing the customer experience across digital paths. Please reach out to the digital leader, or have a discussion with your leader and arrange a meeting with the digital team. They will be open to sharing the plan. ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Work life balance is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not sure there is any at this point

    Cons

    Pay, as minimum wage has increased our wages have not, work load has increased. Goals have become unobtainable, bonuses will be cut. Insurance for the most part has increased across the board. So it really doesn’t make sense I make as much as a kid that works at McDonald’s

    Advice to Management

    Push for a proper market evaluation. Insurance used to be a great career, seems now you are replaceable by the day

    Western Financial Group2019-03-05
  4. "Don’t believe everything you read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They put on a great mask.

    Cons

    Don’t get older than 50. You will soon see them show you the door.

    Advice to Management

    Walk the Talk

    Western Financial Group2019-02-28
  5. "Head Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great talented people

    Cons

    Low pay especially for female counterparts

    Western Financial Group2019-02-09
  6. "Just do the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    If you want a no frills, just show up and do a job then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    This company is filled with people from small towns who just want to show up and not really rock the boat. Zero big thinkers here.

    Advice to Management

    The upper management is about themselves and their status. They pretend to say the right things but only really care about maintaining their small market share.

    Western Financial Group2019-02-04
  7. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Management cares, amazing holidays, recognition!

    Cons

    Wages are not great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Western Financial Group2019-01-15
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Do as I say not as I do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group

    Pros

    Some good staff, some great clients. Good health benefits

    Cons

    Management...too many. They do nothing. Need to open their eyes

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the back stabbers, and brown nosers, and actually look at your staff. Overworked underpaid. We do all the work and you're the ones going on extravagant holidays.

    Western Financial Group2019-01-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of values and ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Employee in High River, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people throughout the company. There is an amazing commitment to community through the Western Communities Foundation.

    Cons

    Upper management does not have an open door policy. People disappear without announcements. There is a underlying culture of fear of job loss if people speak up. Just smile and do as you're told. Branch staff are severely unsupported by internal departments and decisions are made based on corporate politics and individual clout than what's best for the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Take come accountability and stop blaming branch staff for all issues, make a commitment to change for the better.

    Western Financial Group2019-01-07
  10. "Best company with Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I have been with Western Financial Group for over 25 years, have grown with the company and feel it is the best place to work

    Cons

    There are no concerns with Western

    Western Financial Group2018-12-17
Found 126 reviews