Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
45 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Do as I say not as I do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group

    Pros

    Some good staff, some great clients. Good health benefits

    Cons

    Management...too many. They do nothing. Need to open their eyes

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the back stabbers, and brown nosers, and actually look at your staff. Overworked underpaid. We do all the work and you're the ones going on extravagant holidays.

    Western Financial Group2019-01-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of values and ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Employee in High River, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people throughout the company. There is an amazing commitment to community through the Western Communities Foundation.

    Cons

    Upper management does not have an open door policy. People disappear without announcements. There is a underlying culture of fear of job loss if people speak up. Just smile and do as you're told. Branch staff are severely unsupported by internal departments and decisions are made based on corporate politics and individual clout than what's best for the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Take come accountability and stop blaming branch staff for all issues, make a commitment to change for the better.

    Western Financial Group2019-01-07
  3. "Best company with Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I have been with Western Financial Group for over 25 years, have grown with the company and feel it is the best place to work

    Cons

    There are no concerns with Western

    Western Financial Group2018-12-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Not a bad place aside from toxic management

    Cons

    Toxic managers were never held accountable for behaviour

    Western Financial Group2018-12-01
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Outside city limits (no traffic), employees are nice, management is good, company goals are clearly discussed to all employees

    Cons

    As this office is situated in High River, it is advisable to have your own car to drive to and from work.

    Western Financial Group2018-11-13
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Head office is a great place to work. Everyone is extremely friendly and they definitely promote a work-life balance. They are a growing company and make you feel like you are a part of what they are building.

    Cons

    The pay isn't as high as it would be in Calgary. There are social events throughout the month but it is not overly social outside of your team. Most people eat lunch at their desk and there are not many options to get out of the office because of location.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support employees. Maybe look at a better compensation structure that would entice people from the city to High River.

    Western Financial Group2018-11-13
  7. "I Truly Enjoy my Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Advisor in Strathmore, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I have been with this company for three and a half years, and have had some of my best experiences with it. I have worked in two of our branches both in Southern Alberta as well as Central Alberta. Each office has helped coach myself in very different ways to be the broker I am today. I truly believe in Western Financial Groups focus on supporting our communities. I have been largely involved in our charity Support...

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay is a little on the lower side, however they make up for it in their benefits, vacation time as well as their Incentive Program.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Western Financial Group2018-11-09
  8. "Best Job In Town!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Great work-life balance Management Cares and the branch is like family Engaged co-workers Lots of career opportunities Business goals and targets that challenge you to be your best Team excels together

    Cons

    Not a lot of contact with head office

    Western Financial Group2018-10-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Better opportunities in Calgary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor in Strathmore, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group for more than 6 years

    Pros

    decent pay and good benefits

    Cons

    revolving door...ownership, management & front line. Very low morale.

    Advice to Management

    have proper number of employees to reach targets. Perpetually short staffed.

    Western Financial Group2018-10-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fun workplace with lots of food

    Cons

    Stressfull environment that wouldn't reward hard work

    Western Financial Group2018-10-14
Found 119 reviews