Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 120 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
46 Ratings
  1. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Vegreville, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vacation, Career Advancement, Benefit Packages, Inclusion of everyone

    Cons

    Caring too much for Clients, take things personally when we cant help them

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work with your people on a daily basis, it helps keep them engaged

    Western Financial Group2019-02-20

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 26, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Congratulations on being with Western for over 5 years! We're glad your caring nature is within Western and are happy you are here to provide value to your staff and customers.

  2. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Management cares, amazing holidays, recognition!

    Cons

    Wages are not great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Western Financial Group2019-01-15
  3. "Best company with Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I have been with Western Financial Group for over 25 years, have grown with the company and feel it is the best place to work

    Cons

    There are no concerns with Western

    Western Financial Group2018-12-17
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Outside city limits (no traffic), employees are nice, management is good, company goals are clearly discussed to all employees

    Cons

    As this office is situated in High River, it is advisable to have your own car to drive to and from work.

    Western Financial Group2018-11-13
  5. "Best Job In Town!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Great work-life balance Management Cares and the branch is like family Engaged co-workers Lots of career opportunities Business goals and targets that challenge you to be your best Team excels together

    Cons

    Not a lot of contact with head office

    Western Financial Group2018-10-19
  6. "Great company to work for with very big future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    This company is growing fast and its a good time to work for them

    Cons

    Slow adoption of tech but this is industry wide

    Western Financial Group2018-08-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Team lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great work and life balance - Great benefits - Paid Holidays, along with Personal Days and Sick days - Supportive management - Lots of career opportunities - Community Supportive job atmosphere - Room for growth within company - Upbeat work atmosphere - Great upper management at Head Office in Victoria who know individuals by name and push you to succeed in company.

    Cons

    I don't feel like there is any down sides. I enjoy my job and everyone I work with. I enjoy coming to work and am happy here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Great job and great company to work with. It would be nice to see bigger company events wit all staff and to bring us together as one and get to know people from all over company.

    Western Financial Group2018-07-13
  8. "Great Company & Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    - Positive work environment encouraging growth and learning; - Competitive salaries; - Engaged leadership team who are not afraid to work hard;

    Cons

    - Commute is not easy if you do not have your own vehicle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Western Financial Group2018-05-15
  9. "My branch has been a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I have read many of the reviews, some very negative. I can only speak from my experience. I am still fairly new to Western and to the insurance field but my experience has been nothing but positive and supportive. The branch management team has supported my growth, they see my success as success for the company. Training has been very structured and well paced. The office environment has been good, this branch really...

    Show More

    Cons

    I am still new to Western, I have not come across much in the way of negatives yet.

    Advice to Management

    Read through the reviews. Clearly there are some issues in some (perhaps many) of the branches, but not all. Find what is working well, try to replicate it in places where things are not going well. You don't need to reinvent the wheel.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-27

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it!

  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable company, lots of opportunity for advancement, company allows for good balance between family and work.

    Cons

    Training can be slow, tons to learn to understand the industry

    Western Financial Group2018-01-27

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review Western.

Found 120 reviews