Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group President and CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days(in 9 reviews)

  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Vegreville, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vacation, Career Advancement, Benefit Packages, Inclusion of everyone

    Cons

    Caring too much for Clients, take things personally when we cant help them

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-02-20

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 26, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Congratulations on being with Western for over 5 years! We're glad your caring nature is within Western and are happy you are here to provide value to your staff and customers.

    Continue reading
  2. "Lots of Changes led to a great deal of missed promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My peers were great and made it a nice place to work.

    Cons

    I worked there for several years and during that time there were a lot of changes that they kept saying would lead to better pay and better benefits, but that never happened. The better benefits only applied to a narrow demographic. Changes to the bonus structure were never implemented, then the bonus structure was changed again and again never implemented. In my opinion this led to low morale as long tenured and successful employees weren't being recognized.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-12-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Desjardins ruined this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Finance in High River, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Salary, Opportunity for bonus, Location

    Cons

    When purchased by Desjardins the culture changed....not for the better

    Western Financial Group2019-11-02
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Leadership Must Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Kelowna, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, lack of structure and management so poor performers can poorly perform.

    Cons

    Terrible Management. Discrimination and abuse towards women from Senior Executives. Favoritism is so apparent for a few specific employees which makes for a very disengaging and toxic office environment. The fat has to be cut from the top or they will continue to lose all their good, experienced staff. 95% of their sales staff have already left due to poor management decisions and inexperienced managers in their positions that chose to micro manage as they don’t know what else to do. Everyone is miserable there and it seems like Western is tied up in multiple lawsuits with the staff members that chose to leave for better opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-09-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Marketing and Communications department in Winnipeg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits were really good, office itself was nice.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment. Department was falling apart when I worked there.

    Western Financial Group2019-07-15
  6. "A decent work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    helpful colleagues , no job stress

    Cons

    less salaries for developers, little bonus

    Western Financial Group2019-07-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Personal lines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Lines Agent in Brooks, AB

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, time off, community involvement

    Cons

    Salary and workload. Working evenings and weekends

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-07-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Too much stress put on employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits and generous time off allowances

    Cons

    Expectations on employees are not realistic

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-07-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good fit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Director in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a part of the executive you are able to see first hand what it means to be “top heavy”

    Cons

    Be prepared to compromise your morals in order to “fit in”.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-06-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers found within the service department.

    Cons

    You'll earn a crippling workload if you're a productive employee. Far too many managers/executives, not nearly enough invested in support positions or retaining good staff.

    Continue reading
    Western Financial Group2019-05-16
Found 128 reviews