Western Financial Group Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 of over 194 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days(in 9 reviews)

  • "People are great, good work-life balance, nice to be a part of a company that is growing(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not a lot of contact with head office(in 9 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not have an open door policy(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great Team

      Jan 2, 2021 - Insurance Agent in Victoria, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive staff at the branch

      Cons

      Overall it is a great opportunity for growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Financial Group Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to review Western Financial Group. We agree, very supportive folks at the branch. Have a great rest of your week.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Company Ever!

      Jun 30, 2021 - Team Lead in Lac La Biche, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has supported me a great deal over the past 10 years with education, mentoring and growth. They compensate me well, give me the work life balance I need, great benefits that are all company paid, Employee shares, RSP matching and the list goes on! The Western family is a fantastic thing to be a part of!

      Cons

      I could not think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Financial Group Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Hello there, we thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are so happy we could support your growth! Here's to another great 10 years.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Supportive environment, invest in employees

      Sep 1, 2021 - Licensed Insurance Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Our branch is very supportive of each other, truly a team. All willing to teach or help the other. Lots of room and opportunity for advancement within the company and they pay for your licensing and schooling to get licenced.

      Cons

      Heavy workload makes for higher stress and the habit of working past closing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      High output with little compensation

      Sep 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Regular hours, good benefits and nice office

      Cons

      Low wages, high stress and expectations

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Middle man for Home and Autopac

      Aug 9, 2021 - Insurance Advisor in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      9-5 shift no closing hours

      Cons

      more turnover, manager keep moving other offices,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Losing Staff, Need to Clean up your senior management

      Aug 19, 2021 - Senior Manager in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not many. So many staff have left to make 20k+ more at other companies. None really.

      Cons

      Senior managers telling staff to do positive glassdoor reviews is concerning, all the LinkedIn posts that say we are expanding - we aren’t. We are so desperate for staff that we will hire anyone who can get a license! We pay our people horribly, expect them to work more than other brokers, but we like to tell them that we don’t offer money but great things like RSP! Brutal. Wawanesa, wake up and make some changes to your company!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Bad Company

      Aug 17, 2021 - Branch Manager in Yorkton, SK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits - Good coverage and system Good Pension - decent value and company contributions

      Cons

      terrible managemnt bad goals poor wage for low level staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No loyalty to employees

      Aug 31, 2021 - Insurance Advisor in Lethbridge, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Health Care Package Wellness days

      Cons

      No investment in employees Low salaries in comparison to other brokerages Management not held accountable Micromanagement No interest in trying to retain staff. They’re just let walk out and not in a hurry to replace Staff are overworked with no reward

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great management and training, underpaid

      Jul 21, 2021 - Receptionist Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive team and well organized. Consistent review and feedback from management.

      Cons

      Very strict on punctuality and compliance. That being said they were very liberal with praise when you did things correctly.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic work setting

      Jul 7, 2021 - Licensed Insurance Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is great, benefits and vacation time is good.

      Cons

      Toxic work environment with a lot of pressure and not enough recognition

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 192 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Western Financial Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Western Financial Group? Share Your Experiences

    Western Financial Group logo
    or