Western Financial Group Insurance Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Financial Group Insurance Advisor Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
6 Ratings
  1. "My branch has been a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    I have read many of the reviews, some very negative. I can only speak from my experience. I am still fairly new to Western and to the insurance field but my experience has been nothing but positive and supportive. The branch management team has supported my growth, they see my success as success for the company. Training has been very structured and well paced. The office environment has been good, this branch... really does feel like a family (and yes, every family has some dysfunction, but compared to other places I have worked this is minor). The pay and benefits are competitive, I have heard that the starting salary is a little lower than other brokerages but the increased vacation and benefits offsets this. One of the things about Western that was most appealing to me is the focus on local community and the push to be involved, whether with fundraising efforts, volunteering, or supporting in other ways. Insurance is very much a corporate endeavor, so if being involved in your community and giving back is also important to you, Western is a great place to do that.

    Show More

    Cons

    I am still new to Western, I have not come across much in the way of negatives yet.

    Advice to Management

    Read through the reviews. Clearly there are some issues in some (perhaps many) of the branches, but not all. Find what is working well, try to replicate it in places where things are not going well. You don't need to reinvent the wheel.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-27

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers found within the service department.

    Cons

    You'll earn a crippling workload if you're a productive employee. Far too many managers/executives, not nearly enough invested in support positions or retaining good staff.

    Advice to Management

    "Restructuring" is required far beyond where desks and cubicles are situated.

    Western Financial Group2019-05-16
  3. "I Truly Enjoy my Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Advisor in Strathmore, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with this company for three and a half years, and have had some of my best experiences with it. I have worked in two of our branches both in Southern Alberta as well as Central Alberta. Each office has helped coach myself in very different ways to be the broker I am today. I truly believe in Western Financial Groups focus on supporting our communities. I have been largely involved in our charity... Support The Cause and I love seeing the impact the money we raise as an office has impacted my community. Western Financial Group is a fair company to work for, that truly enjoys seeing their employees succeed. When I began three and a half years ago, I started at our front desk as a receptionist. I have since then moved my way through our Personal Lines team. I could not have grown as much I have without the support of my coworkers and management team. I have recommended two long time friends of my own to the company, who have now become two long term employees to Western Financial Group.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay is a little on the lower side, however they make up for it in their benefits, vacation time as well as their Incentive Program.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Western Financial Group2018-11-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Better opportunities in Calgary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Advisor in Strathmore, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group for more than 5 years

    Pros

    decent pay and good benefits

    Cons

    revolving door...ownership, management & front line. Very low morale.

    Advice to Management

    have proper number of employees to reach targets. Perpetually short staffed.

    Western Financial Group2018-10-29
  5. "Poor management and scheudle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    3 weeks vacation a year

    Cons

    No work life balance Split weeks No paid overtime Expensive benefits

    Advice to Management

    Poor management with no work life balance...

    Western Financial Group2018-06-26

    Western Financial Group Response

    June 28, 2018Social Media Specialist

    We value your feedback. We are committed to ensuring our employees feel supported by their management. We appreciate open communication and if you feel comfortable you could speak with your regional manager to address these issues.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, excellent benefits, 3 weeks vacation to start. Really enjoy the culture.

    Cons

    Some technology is slow. Working the occasional Saturday.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-24

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We appreciate the input!

  7. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company takes an interest in your personal well being. I find that I do not have a lot of stress working at the Medicine Hat downtown office.

    Cons

    Open on Saturday's, but not that bad. You get a day off during the week which is nice as you can do your personal business.

    Advice to Management

    I am very happy working at Western Financial Group (MHD)

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25
  8. "Insurance Advisor - Southern Alberta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very competitive benefits package and the ability to earn bonuses. A lot of possibility to move up the branch or network depending on your goals and perseverance.

    Cons

    Pay scale is slightly below average, but can be increased from bonuses achieved throughout the year.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    March 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review Western. We appreciate it!

  9. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The management team here is amazing, and our branch has that small community sense of values. You're not just a number when you work here. Three weeks vacation plus personal days, and sick days - very important for work/life balance.

    Cons

    The salary could be more competitive.

    Advice to Management

    They try to promote within and there is lots of room for advancement if you're willing to put in the work. Very encouraging to increase your knowledge with courses that are important to your career advancement.

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 8, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback! Honesty is one of our guiding principles, and we appreciate your candor!

  10. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the benefits plans, flex hours and sick days

    Cons

    Due to Saturdays being open and open late night open, we have minimum staff

    Advice to Management

    Make sure we have full staff at all times, keep management doors open at all times

    Western Financial Group2018-01-25
Found 15 reviews