Western Dental Services Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Western Dental Services Reviews

Updated Oct 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
60%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Western Dental Services CEO Dan Crowley (no image)
Dan Crowley
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to begin your dental career(in 9 reviews)

  • "Fast paced; lots to learn and a strong steady organization(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management changes frequently, turnover is high among employees, the employees are paid very low, but managers and above are above market(in 13 reviews)

  • "Low pay, they send you to different offices without even asking if you’re okay with going(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Supervisor/RDA, OA in Hanford, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to begin your dental career

    Cons

    Over worked and under paid

    Western Dental Services2019-10-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Dont do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The medical, dental and vision benefits are really good. Excellent plans.

    Cons

    Everything! This is the most disorganized company that I have ever worked for. The only concern is for the dollars coming in. Very poor customer service for both internal and external customers. No interest in making improvements. Company motto seems to be "Thats the way we've always done it". The offices are terrible and are bias against their patients who are low income, purposefully giving them last priority... appointments or referring them out because the fee is too low to warrant the dentists time and attention. I cant wait to get away from this company. I'm surprised they have not been sued for all of this terrible behavior. PTO plans suck! Some employees earning as little as .45 hours per pay period. Need to allow for holiday eves off, especially Christmas and the day before or after thanksgiving.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advocate for your employees!

    Western Dental Services2019-10-25
  3. "Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rda 

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always hiring. Can get a job easily.

    Cons

    All about money. No patient care.

    Western Dental Services2019-10-09
  4. "How I got hired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Loma Linda, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kristina helped me get a job after helping find an office to do my internship. Without her it couldnt have been possible . She believed in me and I am beyond grateful. This will be my first job fresh out of school , and I can tell my office is going to be amazing. There’s nothing but good vibes there.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons at the moment.

    Western Dental Services2019-08-27
  5. "Don’t work in AZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, descent pay, education and THAT IS IT!!!

    Cons

    The doctors constantly berate you with personal insults. PDM has a God complex. Corporate only cares about the bottom line. It has been said many times that your job is about numbers, not pt care

    Advice to Management

    Happy employees are productive employees, upset, insulted, and non clinical employees simply don’t matter. Change it

    Western Dental Services2019-09-27
  6. "Disappointing in the fact that they talk a lot to make the job sound good with room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Folsom, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its busy so the day goes fast

    Cons

    Working Saturdays and people you work with are not really willing to train. The Dr told me the first week I was there "I'm going to tell you one time and that's it" Also they say that they promote growth but when it comes down to it...they tell you that there are too many people in your area that are in classes for RDA exam and exam prep. This way they control who will get there RDA and who doesn't and they dont... have to pay more salary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more fair in treating people with respect equally. Follow protocol that is in handbook.

    Western Dental Services2019-09-05
  7. "Nice doctor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Lo Roy Acres, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Western Dental Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Doctors are really nice to everyone

    Cons

    Need more money in my paycheck

    Western Dental Services2019-08-27
  8. "No good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The salary was pretty decent.

    Cons

    Everything else. Don’t work here

    Western Dental Services2019-08-22
  9. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the people are nice

    Cons

    Worst place I've ever worked. The corporate office is a complete mess. Terrible leadership. Complete chaos on a daily basis. No dental office has more than 1 sta on yelp. Not one. I cant believe they can operate at all. Please please stay away. Save yourself the misery.

    Advice to Management

    Pack it in. Its a lost cause.

    Western Dental Services2019-08-20
  10. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dentist 

    I worked at Western Dental Services full-time

    Pros

    Good at finding patients daily

    Cons

    Bad at teaching and instructing

    Western Dental Services2019-08-21
Found 280 reviews