Wegmans Food Markets Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Wegmans Food Markets Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2153 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Wegmans Food Markets CEO Colleen Wegman
Colleen Wegman
355 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I only left to secure a full time position in my current field(in 150 reviews)

  • "Low pay cap for part-time employees(in 140 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets

    Pros

    Salary is great for everybody

    Cons

    Management is great for everybody

    Wegmans Food Markets2017-02-10
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time

    Pros

    Awesome people to work with

    Cons

    Low wages hard to move up

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-03-02
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Customer Service in Midlothian, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunity for growth, family oriented, flexible schedule requests, time and a half Sunday pay

    Cons

    must work weekends and nights

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-14
  4. "Good place great employees/manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catering Assistant in Ashburn, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay for minimum wage. Great coworkers, friendly staff overall. Management depends on the department, but overall great management as well.

    Cons

    Short-staffed, everyone is complaining about this.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to HR: HIRE MORE PEOPLE, MANAGERS ARE BEGGING, EMPLOYEES ARE BEGGING.

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-12
  5. "Hard Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Caña Brava, Táchira
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    sushi. its the best delicious food in Canada

    Cons

    hard working and corporately working

    Advice to Management

    Simple... Respect Costumers with Honor

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-10
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super understanding and helpful. The management cares a lot about the employees.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any. I enjoyed working there.

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-11
  7. "Great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Wanamassa, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are always supportive. The work is kind of fun and easy if you can keep up. Customers are almost always a pleasure to interact with.

    Cons

    However, some customers can occasionally be rude, condescending, insulting and sometimes abusive, but that's not a Wegmans problem as much as an industry problem. When I was there, management would make us jump through hoops and do work beyond your pay grade if we were looking to be promoted. They would take advantage of us like this for several months at a time before finally dishing out the extra $3/hr for your promotion.

    Advice to Management

    I haven't been there in years, but if you've always been good at understanding the needs of your staff and protecting them from the few abusive customers. Thanks for that. Don't string your people on though. That was really not cool.

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-16
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworks and organized work environment

    Cons

    Very structured SOP - including how you use your keyboard and phrases to say to customers

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-02
  9. "Wegmans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Raise every 6 months Friendly Environment Time and a Half on Sundays Benefits You can move around flexible

    Cons

    Only con sometimes some do more

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-08-16
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Offered scholarship opportunities Great with time off requests depending on department

    Cons

    Middle management can be difficult to deal worh

    Advice to Management

    Hire qualified managers

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-07-31
Found 2153 reviews